The Next Big Thing Blog Hop

Thank you Blake Stevens for inviting me to participate in the Next Big Thing blog hop! This blog hopping business is completely new to me, without his kind help I wouldn’t have known the how and what of it.

Anyway, I now know it is a perfect opportunity to tell you a bit more about the upcoming release of my small collection of twisted fairy tales and gives me the chance to share a bit more on what drives me to write what I did and still do. Besides that, his posting has directed more traffic to my blog than I’ve ever had before, and it’s nice to see people interested in my writings–whether it’s telling about me or interest in what I write.

Now I’m glad to be able to do the same for a few of my fellow authors. A few of the many I’ve come to know during my short stay on the Book of Faces, but let’s not get off topic here, I would like to introduce to you the following authors whose stories you might enjoy. So when you’re done reading here, hop over to their blogs and start reading what they have to offer.

Lorraine Sears, author of Big Red, a great short story about the devil gone soft and deliciously evil.

Hunter S. Jones, author of Fables of the Reconstruction, a debut erotic novella starring zombies which sheds a whole new light on the topic.

Alex Canton, author of Sweat, Glamour and light Sins, a book “that gives a glimpse into the gym life of a retired therapist” (from the four star review on Amazon.)

James Wymore, author of Theocracide, a literary sci-fi debut novel published by Curiosity Quills Press.

George Beddingfied, author of Conditional, a medical thriller.

Sandy Didner, author of the conspiracies of Dreams.

Keep your eyes on their blog and read what they will publish next week!

Enough of the intro’s, let’s get on with what this post is really about, an interview on my soon to be released, first ever Indie ebook, Red Gone Bad!   

Red Gone Bad
Photo provided by Nineteen68

What is the title of your book?

It is called Red Gone Bad, Fairy Tales or Not. As you might guess it’s a collection or fairy tales, or maybe not so fairy. Hahaha, these are actually twisted fairy tales without happy endings. Forget about sweet girly princesses and dapper princes, and be prepared to find out my truth about those old time heroines.

Where did the idea come from for the book?

I love fairy tales, but hated the way Disney turned each and every one of those in enamel cracking, sweet, unrealistic cartoons in which the characters at odd moments burst our in singing. That way it’s almost like they’re Bollywood films. Hahaha.

What genre does your book fall under?

Genre, schmengre. I really, really do not like to put a genre on any book. What if I say it’s adult? You would think it’s erotica, which it’s not. What if I say it’s Horror? You might expect to be scared out of your pants on every page. To be honest, I really have no idea what genre I should put on this. These are fairy tales, but not so fairy. A little on the dark side and not far off reality, but with a little magic. If you figure out the genre, let me know.

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

Karl urban can play any male part. Why? Because he’s a hunk. Erm, I mean because he’s the best actor I’ve ever seen.

But then there’s Hugh Jackman, he’s perfect for the other male parts. Also because he’s such a good actor.

Helena Bonham-Carter is the perfect Snow White. She really is a great artist and has the posture and freakiness required for the part.

Olivia Dudley for Red Riding Hood. Have you seen that girl’s piercing look?

Anne Hathaway would be a great Cinderella, innocent yet capable of evil deeds delivered with a smile.

Elisabeth Moss for the last remaining female part or the miller’s daughter. Not a stunning beauty. But she has depth and should be able to play a character capable of who knows what?

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

Once upon a time heroines turned things around and nothing remained as you would expected it.

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

I’m self-publishing this one. When I was done writing, editing, polishing and editing and polishing and tweaking and more editing and polishing. A good friend of mine and author Kimberley Grenfell/Devon Winterston suggested I could self-publish instead of submitting. Her well informed opinion on self-publishing and the offer by a professional artist to create a cover for me, did the trick. I decided to do it myself and be able to decide everything instead of be dependant on the opinion of strangers about how this collection should look like and above all should be edited. I’ve heard stories about edits being forced upon authors by publishers and I loved this stories too much to have them changed.

A line-editor I know–David Gilmore, very good and easy to work with–did the final editing, making sure all punctuation was in its proper place, no SPaG remained and whatnot. I’m pretty convinced it is a near perfect thing. Sure enough if it’s not your style you might find things to complain about, but that would be style rather than errors. At least I do hope so. Nah, I know so. Hahaha, always have to be convinced of ones self.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

Just the first draft? A week. But then the real work began. First draft is easy that’s just sit down and start hammering those keys until the entire story is on screen. Of course that’s filled with rubbish and crap. Tidy, tighten, rearrange, rewrite, add, remove and then leave it for a while.

Come back and edit, tighten, rewrite, add a scene or remove one, or two and that times multiple, until you finally have something you dare to show to others. And if those others find things they do not like, you start the whole process over until you get it right. Right for you, because it’s your story and you have to be happy with it. At least that’s how it works for me. It’s my writing and I write for me, it’s thrilling and exciting if others love what you write, but at the end of the day I have to be satisfied with it.

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

You know, that is a difficult question. I really have no idea. I suppose there are other twisted fairy tales out there, but I couldn’t tell you which ones compare to mine.

Who or What inspired you to write this book?

My son. He always hated the fact that in the fairy tales I read him everything was so sappy. Until he discovered Grimm and that book of gruesome tales stole his little heart. That made me think about how right he was. There should be a twist to classics and that was the idea.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

Well, I’d say, if you like to read a twisted take on traditional fairy tales, get it after December 1st.
2 thoughts on “The Next Big Thing Blog Hop

    • Thanks William! What is it with Karl Urban and villains? Hahaha, Karl Urban and women. Erm, I mean … Great actor. And you are so right, I do think Helena Bonham Carter is a great actress capable of playing a wide variety of roles.

If you like what you just read, please leave a reply.

