The Next Big Thing Blog Hop

My dear friend Gerry McCullough asked me to join her in the Next Big Thing Blog Hop. She has a great book out, Angel in Flight which you could check out and perhaps even buy.

Cover Angel in Flight

Thank you Gerry for this opportunity to shed a little light on my first ever self-published collection of short stories. A collection of twisted fairy tales without a happy ending in sight. Red Gone Bad available on Amazon and Smashwords only one more week on sale for $0.99. Get it while it’s still available cheap.

cover_image_600x800

I also must thank you for giving me the opportunity to talk about my next to be published project.

What is the (working title) of your book?

I’m always struggling to find the right title. This time was no different. It’s been Angels From Heaven, Angels or Demons and now it is Heaven’s Closed.

Cover Heavens Closed

Where did the idea come from for the book?

I had two shorts with a theme, Angelic characters who could have easily been demons, or not. I have a thing with characters not being what they are supposed to be, or maybe they are. layer upon layer. Ogres are like unions, my characters are like ogres, Erm, I mean unions. Hahaha, unless you are perceptive and know how to read between the lines. Or maybe I’m just really all over the place. Or maybe I like characters who do not always behave the way they should or change when they need to.

What genre does your book fall under?

Fiction? Hahaha, I know that is not a genre. Shoot, why does that question always pops up? I have no idea. Fantasy? What with the angels, demons, witches and all.

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

As always Helena Bonham-Carter for any female role. Love how she is able to play crazy mad as well as classical. My angels should be … Hmmm, not too slick and certainly not those fabricated, unreal Hollywood types. Maybe Vinnie Jones? Jason Statham? Okay, Lorry, just for you Karl Urban can play too. Hahahaha, at least I’ll be sure one person will come and see the movie adaptation that way.

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

What if not all is what it seems and Angels could be demons, or even regular humans?

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

I am again very proud to say that this double dip (it will be a small thingy consisting of only two short stories and free for all) will be completely self-published. Cover done by me this time too. Any and all comments made to improve said cover are more than welcome by the by.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

Oh, I don’t know. A week? Two? Not too long in any case.

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

That’s a question I really have no answer too, because I tend not to read much stories like these. My reading is all over the place and not limited to any one genre, but I haven’t read anything like my own work yet. And I have a dislike, to say the least, of Young Adult and Dystopian.

Who or What inspired you to write this book?

The one called Heaven’s Gate was written by me as entry to a contest. Won it too, Whoop! Hahahaha, but since I hold the rights to it I am free to now publish it in this little book of mine. The other was meant to be submitted to a publisher. To fit into an end of year anthology. They loved it but it didn’t quite fit in with what they had already accepted. So I was left with a perfect story that needed to be out there before end of year. What solution did I come up with? Give it to Sue at Book Junkies Journal to put on their site. Again I still hold all rights and can publish it in this book.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

Hey! It’s free and one won a contest while the other only got rejected because of not fitting in with the other accepted stories for an anthology. Besides I like them and whomever wants bite sized reads for free might like them too.

Anyway, enough about me. Let me introduce to you some friends of mine who have great books out and will be talking to you about those in a weeks time. But for now I can at least steer you towards their blogs and ask you to take a look at their books. Shoot, you might even like them so much you’ll buy and give some away for Christmas.

Vicky Johnstone, writer of Kiwi in Cat City, a great childrens book based on her own pet.

Cover Kiwi

Elizabeth Black, author of Trouble in Thigh High Boots, an erotic retelling of Puss in Boots.

Cover Trouble

Kirsty Berridge, author of The Hunted, a great vampiric read.

Cover the hunted

Pam Howes, author of Not Fade Away, a great Rock ‘n Roll Romance novel available at Amazon UK  and Amazon US.

Cover Not Fade Away

And last but certainly not least,

Lorelei Bell, author of the Sabrina Strong Series. Vampire novels but better.

cover Sabrina Strong

6 thoughts on “The Next Big Thing Blog Hop

  1. Very cool info–I especially like to imagine Jason Statham as an angel. 😉 Looking forward to reading your work and best wishes!
    Lori Lowe

If you like what you just read, please leave a reply.

