Featured Author Jennie Hilborne

Today I have the wonderful and talented Jennie Hillborne as Featured Author and she’ll tell us all there is to know about her and her latest novel.

So let’s not dilly -dally any longer and get on with it.

Hi Jenny,

Can you give me your best Whoop? Unless you have another one which works better for you?

How about a WHOOOOWEEEEEEE

Okay, sounds like a winner that one, but does it work all the time, even those times when the muse has gone and done a runner on you? And when did you first start with it?

No, it doesn’t always work. In the moments when the muse leaves, I pack up, too, and do something else, until the inspiration returns.

Right, sounds like you are on the right track there. Let’s do a few of the yada yada questions before we move on to the fun.

What is the title of the book you would like to talk about?

Hide and Seek. This is a mystery/thriller set in San Francisco and the 2nd in the Jackson mystery series (though it can easily be read as a stand alone). A guest disappears from a private and blood is found on the grounds. Homicide inspector, Mac Jackson, must decide if she was murdered, abducted, or if she faked her own disappearance. Clues lead him to a lingerie bar, where everyone seems afraid to talk.

 HIDE AND SEEK 3-D book

Did you have difficulty coming up with the title?

It was my first and fourth choice. It’s a popular title, which is why I considered changing it, but it’s the only one that fits, so it stayed. I played a creepier version of the game as a teen, and the idea for the book grew from there.

If you would have to change the genre, what would it be then?

Hmm, I guess horror would be the closest

Just to confuse you we’ll take the alternative route now.

What don’t you like about writing, or whatever you need to do marketing wise?

I don’t like the start of a new book, until I know the characters a bit. It’s like walking into a new job where you don’t know anyone. I feel awkward. I also dislike the time consuming aspect of marketing and the many online distractions. I’d rather spend the time writing; however, I do like interacting with readers and other writers.

Tell me, when your muse is visiting and you’re on a roll, what would seriously drive her/him away?

An overly complicated plot. She’d throw her hands up and say, “You must be joking. Even I’m not falling for that.”

What does your muse look like?

She wears glasses on the end of her nose and has a face like an owl.

Do you ever speak to your characters and do you get along all the time?

No, I only get to listen to them. I let them do what they want, so yes, we tend to get along.

Can you name the food and drink that will surely get you started?

Coffee and chocolate

Would you be able to come up with an excuse on why you haven’t written a whole day, and have me believe it too?

I’ll be out traipsing around graveyards, riding around with police officers and looking for suitable places to hide a body…all in the name of research.

And finally why would you ever want to live life behind a keyboard slaving over a manuscript?

Because I love it. Not the behind the keyboard bit, but the crafting of stories. Basically, I love making things up, and I love to be shocked. My characters often shock me.

Okay now that we have the mandatory questions out of the way, shoot your mouth off. Tell me whatever you want to blab about. But please no cat’s, dogs, or children. Make me laugh, or cry, or even envious. Tell me something none has ever heard before from you. hehehe, love those little dirty secrets, real or make believe. 🙂

The question I’m asked the most is where the ideas come from. Well…the victims should recognize themselves. Fiction is grounded in truth and I do tend to stockpile experiences for later use.

Anyone I encounter who is rude or mean should take note…there is probably a victim based (loosely, I should add) on your character. Nasty people provide the best novel fodder, and a devious ex comes in useful, too. A 4-hour roundtrip commute has also been known to fuel my imagination…perfect for a thriller.

After I moved to America and experienced the ugliness of prejudice firsthand, I found myself more drawn to those who struggle to fit in. Prejudice opened my eyes to what some people face every day, how it festers and alters a personality. I use my own experience in my writing and my novels tend to follow a theme: I side with the underdogs and make their “weak” character strong.

I have no deep dark secrets, sorry, but I am weird. I love Brussel Sprouts!

Okay, Jennie now let’s here something about you. I know that all authors do a bio in third person, so let’s hear it. What did you say? If it’s okay to include a kind of blurb for your novel into the bio? Sure! Why not? It’s your party, have a go at it.

Jenny Hilborne has worked in a variety of fields, including the retail music industry, residential real estate, commercial real estate and finance. She was born in Wiltshire, South West England, and relocated to Southern California in 1997.

Madness and Murder is her debut novel, an international thriller, which takes the reader from New Zealand to San Francisco. It is the first in the Inspector Mac Jackson series.

No Alibi, also set in San Francisco, is a suspense novel featuring betrayed spouse, Isabelle Kingsley, who didn’t believe her husband would ever cheat. He didn’t believe she would ever find out. When his lover is murdered, the circumstances are all too familiar for the inspector assigned the case.

Mac Jackson returns in Hide and Seek, and must solve another complex case that centers around a lingerie bar, where at least two murdered women once worked.

Jenny is currently working on her fourth mystery, set in the beautiful Cotswolds in Oxfordshire, England.

On the rare occasions Jenny is not writing or working, she catches up with family and friends and enjoys reading, travel, and a good movie.

And then finally here’s where Jennie can be stalked. Erm, I mean followed, added, befriended, and what ever more you’d like to.
Go on, what are you waiting for? Check her and her books out. I know you want to!
See you around next time when I’ll be featuring Ruby Barnes
 
6 thoughts on “Featured Author Jennie Hilborne

  1. Excellent interview, Lucy and Jenny!

    I like how you relate to your muse, Jenny… and what you say about people who are rude turning up as victims. It’s that old saying: behave yourself, or you’ll end up a character in my next novel.

If you like what you just read, please leave a reply.

