Featured Author C Reg Jones

Today I have yet another great Indie author featuring on my blog. Let me introduce to you the wonderful and highly entertaining Reggie Jones.

He’s not only a great writer, but has a way with words that have you chuckle at the least, if not laugh out loud. But if you don’t believe me, read this interview he granted me and judge for yourself.

Hi Reggie, welcome and thanks for being here. Let’s kick off with some questions to get you into the interview mood.

Any mistaken identities lately?

All the time!! Every time I let my beard grow a little I get the Hagar the Horrible/Eric the Red/insert-famous-clichΓ©d-Viking-figure-here comments. That’s not a bad thing but I have the feeling that people who aren’t red haired think we all look the same, somehow.

Can you give me your best Whoop? Unless you have another one which works better for you?

Not really a Whooping type of guy, more of a, “BACK OF THE NET!” exclamation type of dude, if I’m honest. A loud, sibilant, “YESSSSS!” often works for me as well.

Okay, sounds like a winner that one, but does it work all the time, even those times when the muse has gone and done a runner on you? And when did you first start with it?

The YESSSS always works for me, I mean, come one, what’s not to work there, right? Back of the net is more footy/drinking/out with the lads type of whooping.

Right, sounds like you are on the right track there. Let’s do a few of the yada yada questions before we move on to the fun.

What is the title of the book you would like to talk about?

Okay, the book I have out right now is called, “The Division of the Damned” and basically it’s about vampires working for the Third Reich. There are a lot of other bits and pieces in there as well, Sumerian mythology, Christian and Biblical legends, ancient texts, Teutonic Knights, the Red Army, the Eastern Front etc etc and miraculously they all glue nicely together. Believe me, making that hodge podge of different subjects marry up is worth the Nobel prize for Literature in itself!

Division of Damned

Oooh, I love vampires, mythology, legends, knights and whatever you can add to the mix. Whoop! Sounds like something I must read. But did you have difficulty coming up with the title?

Well, funny you should mention that! I had a title, “SS Division Vampyr” until one day a mate came around with a book called, “Operation Vampyr” and that sort of kicked my title into touch.

So, I had a think, asked some mates for ideas and the same guy who found the book, came up with the title. So, all’s well that ends well, right?

If you would have to change the genre, what would it be then?

Fantasy. I started a fantasy story a while ago. However, 23,000 words down it sort of dried up on me. I’m aiming to write a sequel to Division and then I might go back to it. It was set in Napoleonic Europe and had dinosaurs as the bad guys. It’s a lot better than it sounds, lol.

Just to confuse you we’ll take the alternative route now. And leave that beaten path of Β known questions to venture out into the wild country where anything goes and even I don’t know what comes next.

What don’t you like about writing, or whatever you need to do marketing wise?

I don’t like having to go to work when I want to write, will you take that as an answer?

Don’t thinks so my friend.

No?

Nope.

Okay, what I do hate is when I write something and I read what I did the day after, I feel I have to twiddle with it, refine it somehow. I simply cannot leave things alone. Nowadays I’ll write something and ignore what I’ve done until the whole thing is finished, then I’ll go back to it. I also hate proof reading… actually, hate isn’t strong enough a word to describe my feelings on the matter.

Tell me, when your muse is visiting and you’re on a roll, what would seriously drive her/him away?

Tiredness. Fatigue is a lust killer, I have to be awake and revving to breathe life into my characters. Booze isn’t an option either, I never, ever drink when I write.

What does your muse look like?

She’s dark, brown eyed, curvy and smiles a lot. A quick wit, a sweet nature and she likes to laugh at herself. If she’s bitchy and vexed she’s outta here, no messing about.

Reggie! She’s me! Okay, I’m not curvy at all, but I smile a lot. πŸ™‚ Hahaha, Wheeeheee! Right, back to the questions.

Do you ever speak to your characters and do you get along all the time?

No, we never speak. I direct, it’s the only way to be; otherwise they tend to go off and do things outside of the plot and I hate that.

Can you name the food and drink that will surely get you started?

Pizza, (Hawaii with lots of Tabasco, yes I’m a health food freak) and mineral water are my victuals for a successful session. Coffee sometimes, tea as well, but no booze. Booze is to celebrate after it’s written, drunk passionately and in large quantities with friends.

That sounds like a perfect diet there, Reggie.

Would you be able to come up with an excuse on why you haven’t written a whole day, and have me believe it too?

My life is an excuse not to write. I work shifts in a steelworks, (seven on, two off). I have a house to maintain, two kids to terrorise, a cat to feed and open tins for and a very understanding wife who has the ability to twang my conscience when I ignore her with just the soft hum of silent patience.

To be frank, it’s amazing I have the time for writing at all!

So basically real life is what I should believe? *rolls her eyes and sighs, but then laughs out loud* Okay, I believe!Β 

And finally why would you ever want to live life behind a keyboard slaving over a manuscript?

Writing is the cheapest form of escapism known to man. No travel, to hassle, no money; just you, your mind and total control.

Sheez, Reggie why haven’t I ever thought of that? You are one clever man. Hahahaha.

Okay now that we have the mandatory questions out of the way, shoot your mouth off. Tell me whatever you want the blab about. But please no cat’s, dogs, or children. Make me laugh, or cry, or even envious. Tell me something none has ever heard before from you. hehehe, love those little dirty secrets, real or make believe. πŸ™‚

So, this is where I get to plug my work, right? YESSS !!!

OK, Division of the Damned is out right now. It isn’t Twilight, it isn’t anything to do with good looking vampires. It’s dirty, bloody and relies heavily on all sorts of large weaponry, ancient curses, supernatural figures and Sumerian/Biblical mythology to carry the story.

Book

Book UK

The next book out with my name on it is a collection of short stories, written together with my good friend Paul Rudd, called, “The Chronicles of Supernatural Warfare”. Imagine King Leonidas and his brave 300 were really vampires and Xerxes is the greatest vampire hunter of all time? Or that Troy is really a city of werewolves and Agamemnon decides to use Helen’s abduction as an excuse to be rid of the werewolf city once and for all. Or what about the 9th Legion that went missing, were they victims of a Celtic curse involving Soul Eaters? That’s the sort of vein we were writing for, legend and history twisted with a touch of the supernatural. The stories go through the classical era, WW1, WW2 and to the future and I’m very happy with how it turned out.

I also have another book coming out called The House in Wales. It’s a sort of blend of “American Horror Story”, (the first season), a dash of Satanism, a whisper of sexual obsession and a lot of Welsh colouring. Not sure when that’s out yet but I’ll obviously be letting the world know when it is.

If anyone has shown the smallest glimmer of interest for what I’ve just written, then, before you pop around to the shrink for a check up, click on my link and have a look and a Like of my Facebook page. All visitors are warmly welcomed and all Likes gratefully received.

Facebook Reggie

Or here if you’re interested in the book:

Facebook

I write an occasional, self obsessing Blog if you’re really feeling generous and you can find that here:

Reggie’s Blog

So now it only leaves me to say thanks to Lucy for having me and bid you all a fond adieu.

Reggie

Oh, and as for a secret fact, well, don’t tell anyone but I’m actually the love child of Jane Fonda and Peewee Herman… honest! But that’s between you, me and the four winds.

16 thoughts on “Featured Author C Reg Jones

  1. Liked both your pages! The last comment really deserves to stay with the Four Winds. Lots & lots of luck with your writing. The idea of mythological creatures involved in World War II is bit mind blowing.

    • Thanks Mari, that’s very kind of you. As for the creatures, I stuck mostly to the traditional monsters of horror: werewolves, vampires and zombies. Paul the other author, really went to town. He had Celtic Soul Eaters, Kraken attacking submarines, demon WW1 biplane pilots; the guy has an imagination that borders on fantastic.
      Many thanks for your kind words πŸ™‚

  2. Pingback: Featured Author C Reg Jones « Boyfromthebay's Blog

  3. As an old mate of Reggie I’m just a bit biased! But, just finished the ‘Damned’…not bad at all for a young un!……what a pity you only used the word ‘schtum’ once and then spelt it wrong!!! still not bad for a refugee ‘Valley Boy’…….”Lieber Gott usw!!!….

If you like what you just read, please leave a reply.

