Featured Author Jerry McKinney

A day late, but better late than never, right? Today I feature Jerry McKinney, author of Nightsounds, a creepy collection of shorts that will keep you up at night. He’s the one I’m telling you! The one to turn to for stories that freak you out and turn ordinary things into the stuff of nightmares.

But he’s here to talk about his book, so let’s get started.

Hi Jer!

Glad you could make it, I’d like to ask you a few questions. Please try not to scare me and my readers. 🙂

Can you give me your best Whoop? Unless you have another one which works better for you?

I’m more of a growl and snarl type myself. Don’t think it helps with my writing so much but it keeps the kids off of my lawn. I’ve been told I need to smile more often but I’m quite comfortable keeping most of my emotions in my stories.

Okay, sounds like a winner that one, but does it work all the time, even those times when the muse has gone and done a runner on you? And when did you first start with it?

It hasn’t failed me yet.

The first honest piece of writing I had done was a piece that was supposed to be the beginning of a much larger story called “Mementos, Ramblings of a Fool”. Damn, I had almost forgotten the second part of the title, it has been so long since I had used it. Basically known as “Mementos”. After I had written what there is of it I stopped. There seemed to be so much of myself in that old man and I wasn’t quite ready to share anymore. So it remains unfinished.

Right, sounds like you are on the right track there. Let’s do a few of the yada yada questions before we move on to the fun.

What is the title of the book you would like to talk about?

My short story collection, “Nightsound”. Along with my editor Lori R Lopez, We have made it a work I’m quite proud of.

Cover Nightsound

Did you have difficulty coming up with the title?

I had played around with other titles even after it’s completion, I felt to just name it after one of the flash fiction stories sorta segued into the mood of the book.

If you would have to change the genre, what would it be then?

Seriously, I cannot see myself writing anything else. Maybe True Crime.

Just to confuse you we’ll take the alternative route now.

Oh Hell, confusion leads to scowling.

What don’t you like about writing, or whatever you need to do marketing wise?

I’ll be the first to admit, I’m no salesman. If there’s a secret to becoming wealthy writing, it has evaded 99.9% of us. We don’t write for that. It has to be for the love of storytelling. I’ve said it often, I write to be read.

Tell me, when your muse is visiting and you’re on a roll, what would seriously drive her/him away?

Anything and everything, but then at other times I write with everyday life happening all around me and it makes no difference. I think starting and getting on a roll in itself is a victory.

What does your muse look like?

I think each story comes with its own muse. It could be a person or just a simple wad of paper on the desk. Whatever it is gets me thinking, and it has done its job.

Do you ever speak to your characters and do you get along all the time?

I don’t speak to my characters, but I allow them to guide where the story is going. My plans have often been waylaid by a comment or idea a character has. It is their story, let them tell it.

Can you name the food and drink that will surely get you started?

Oh Cripes, fried food, I love it but I don’t think it helps me write.

Would you be able to come up with an excuse on why you haven’t written a whole day, and have me believe it too?

I have no excuse, maybe laziness, perhaps. But I don’t need one. Some put these quotas on themselves and writing. Word count doesn’t make a good story. When I feel like writing I will, until then there’s plenty more of life to be lived.

And finally why would you ever want to live life behind a keyboard slaving over a manuscript?

If you’re slaving over it, I believe you’re in the wrong profession, It’s the love of storytelling. It should  be enjoyable.

Okay now that we have the mandatory questions out of the way, shoot your mouth off. Tell me whatever you want the blab about. But please no cat’s, dogs, or children. Make me laugh, or cry, or even envious. Tell me something none has ever heard before from you. hehehe, love those little dirty secrets, real or make believe. 🙂

Many writers attempt to scare and thrill us every day; most miss the mark. But when the one piece truly creeps us out, it’s in our hearts forever. The torment of the young family isolated in a cabin with an undead horde pounding on the door is easily forgotten by closing the book or turning off the television. But we don’t want to forget, we turn the page to the next chapter to see what happens. Many nights as a child, I remember huddling on the couch to watch Creature Features armed with a bowl of popcorn and the safety of my parents. I finished watching many movies between splayed fingers. After Trilogy of Terror, I shook in fear listening to small footsteps on the tile floor. I can remember almost pissing myself in fear. Richard Matheson did that with his words. What power … I’m envious.

Okay, thanks Jer for sharing all of this with me and my readers. Now that we know more about you and what moves you tell us where we can buy your book in ebook format.

Nightsound

And where can readers/fans stalk you? Of course I mean follow you and your writing.

A Taste of Gore Jerry’s website.

3 thoughts on “Featured Author Jerry McKinney

If you like what you just read, please leave a reply.

