Featured Author Jo Robinson

Yay! Today I have my dear friend and talented author Jo Robinson as featured author to talk about her books and whatever more she wishes to disclose.

Hi Jo! Nice to have you pop over to answer some questions I have for you. So let’s not waste anymore time, which is precious as it is with all the promotional things we need to do to get our work under the eyes of the general public.

First some questions to get in the mood though and then we’ll move on to the serious stuff. Okay?

Can you give me your best Whoop? Unless you have another one which works better for you?

Whoop dee doooo!!!  Or in as my UK friends would say, Jolly Dee!

Okay, sounds like a winner that one, but does it work all the time, even those times when the muse has gone and done a runner on you? And when did you first start with this book you are here to talk about?

The book I have coming out on 8th February, I started in November last year for the NaNoWriMo event.  Because you have to keep up with the word count there, you have to write on through, even if your muse is away at the pub, drinking and carousing.  My muse often comes to work with a terrible hangover, and smelling of curative omelette breakfasts.  When I went back to edit and complete it, I found that my muse actually works very well under the influence.  It was a good draft.  My first book was over-edited as I wrote it, and will only come out after this one, even though it was started quite a while ago.  I only started writing about three years ago.  This is all very new to me.

Right, sounds like you are on the right track there. Let’s do a few of the yada yada questions before we move on to the fun.

What is the title of the book you would like to talk about?

Shadow People

cover shadow peopleNice cover!

Did you have difficulty coming up with the title?

No.  In fact, I started out with the title, and the book grew from there.  To begin with I had no idea what form these shadows would take.

If you would have to change the genre, what would it be then?

This book is a mix of science-fiction, fantasy, with bits of everything else thrown in.  If it had to be changed, it could be horror/fantasy.  There are some nasty demons in there, as well as beautiful alien dragon birds.  And a chicken.

Just to confuse you we’ll take the alternative route now.

What don’t you like about writing, or whatever you need to do marketing wise?

I haven’t actively marketed my short stories on Amazon, and am always amazed when someone buys them.  So far no horrible reviews though, and I’m happy that people are enjoying them.  I do plan on marketing the two upcoming novels as well as I can.  It is time consuming building your marketing base, but there’s fun along the way too, and satisfaction knowing that you put the hours in.  I love interacting with people anyway.  I don’t like editing so much.  Some research can also be tedious, but other than that, I love everything about writing.  There’s nothing better than watching your own stories come alive.

Tell me, when your muse is visiting and you’re on a roll, what would seriously drive her/him away?

Constant interruptions send my muse off to the bar.  Also, if I’m feeling ill, I can’t seem to write anything but wood.  Fortunately, I’m normally pretty healthy.

What does your muse look like?

My muse is a mini-me.  So, she’s gorgeous, even after a good night out.

Do you ever speak to your characters and do you get along all the time?

I often hear my characters speaking in my head.  African Me was a difficult book to write, because of the extreme highs and lows.  I had myself laughing and crying when I started the edit.  Which is probably a good thing.  Shadow People was pure pleasure, although my demonic Nefandus did give me a nightmare or two when I first created them.

Can you name the food and drink that will surely get you started?

Pink champagne, cheese, and chocolate can get me started on pretty much anything at all.  I generally forget to eat when I’m on a writing roll.  Only when those around me start complaining of severe neglect, do I generally feel a hunger pang.

Would you be able to come up with an excuse on why you haven’t written a whole day, and have me believe it too?

I was marketing.  Really.  You do have to chat all day, you know.  It’s not my fault, really….  Drank too much champagne the night before?  Fell down a manhole?  Got attacked by an angry crab?

Actually that last one sounds pretty credible, the others? Hahaha, I think you’re just kidding me, drank too much champagne? Really? (Rolls on the floor laughing her skinny behind off)

And finally why would you ever want to live life behind a keyboard slaving over a manuscript?

This is a question I asked a very dear friend just yesterday.  Having a bit of a fight with severe malaria, these last two weeks, considering the real possibility of death, and being the generally dramatic soul that I am, I asked, “Am I doing the right thing?  Should I be spending the hours allocated to me on this planet in front of a computer screen?”  She said that doing what you love to do can never be wrong, and the joy of holding your books in your hands, as the fruits of those many hours spent writing, or even marketing for that matter, is more than enough to let you know that living behind a keyboard, slaving over a manuscript, is exactly what you want to do.  So the answer is, because I’m doing what I love to do.

Which is always the best thing to do, Jo. So I would say, “Keep at it, because you do it well.”

Okay now that we have the mandatory questions out of the way, shoot your mouth off. Tell me whatever you want the blab about. But please no cat’s, dogs, or children. Make me laugh, or cry, or even envious. Tell me something none has ever heard before from you. hehehe, love those little dirty secrets, real or make believe. 🙂

Well now.  If I told you my dirty secrets, you would be terribly shocked, and never speak to me again.  I laugh at silly things.  If I type tit instead of tip, I laugh until I cry.  I like to sprinkle my writing with laughter.  I also like to plumb the depths of human feelings, and write about the darker things in life.  So, that’s probably why there are two of me.  My science-fiction self Jo Cavell, who can be a bit gothic and dour, and then there’s me, who can be pretty much anything at all.  Except a singer apparently.  People have been quite rude about that.  Birds scatter from the trees when I sing along to GaGa, who I love, apart from the weird meat clothes.  What’s up with that, by the way?  I live in Zimbabwe, in the bush, and am pretty much used to getting plagues of bugs and things around.  Sometimes animals come in uninvited.   I once had a bush rat run across my keyboard, which made me scream, and fall flat on my bum.  I got chased by a hippopotamus while innocently peeing under a tree, and I’ve come face to face with a screeching baboon.  Oh yes, I can run.  Other than the occasional brush with death, visiting frogs strolling around the kitchen, or walking into walls in sudden power outages, life here is not too exciting.  Which is why it’s so lovely to write books.

Well ,Jo, it has been a pleasure having you over and I do hope you will stop by again. Now tell us, where can we buy your books?
All three are available at Amazon
8 thoughts on “Featured Author Jo Robinson

  1. Jo, I think my muse befriended yours. At the bar. Over tequila. We, however, may attempt to bond over pink champagne. I’m so visiting Zimbabwe sometime. Especially for that naughty hippo. And don’t worry, I’m getting my own tit..er..type-writer.

  2. This is such a funny, amusing post. Makes me keen to read your books, Jo! And of course I already know Lucy’s writing skills from her marvellous Red Gone Bad!
    Lucy, thanks for introducing me to Jo, another fascinating writer.

If you like what you just read, please leave a reply.

