Featured Author Allison Bruning

Again an indie author joins me on my blog. And I’m very proud to announce today’s featured author is the talented Allison Bruning.

Screen Shot 2012-10-30 at 10.10.25 AM-1

Welcome Allison. I’m glad you took the time to do this interview here on my blog. Let’s not waste time and get this show on the road.

Can you give me your best Whoop? Unless you have another one which works better for you?

Write! Write! Write!

Okay, sounds like a winner that one, but does it work all the time, even those times when the muse has gone and done a runner on you? And when did you first start with it?

It usually works for me. I started using it a few years ago after my biggest fan has used it to encourage me. I was in a literary slump there for a while and she told me she couldn’t wait for my next book. Then she told me write! Write! Write!

Right, sounds like that fan set you on the right track there. Let’s do a few of the yada yada questions before we move on to the fun.

What is the title of the book you would like to talk about?

Reflections: Poems and essays

cover reflections new

Very fitting cover. Nicely done too.

Did you have difficulty coming up with the title?

Not really. I wanted the theme of my book to be about reflecting upon the lessons learned in the past and how we can apply them to our lives.

If you would have to change the genre, what would it be then?

Inspirational

Just to confuse you we’ll take the alternative route now.

What don’t you like about writing, or whatever you need to do marketing wise?

I don’t like it when people try to take advantage of me.

Who does? But I think I know what you mean.

Tell me, when your muse is visiting and you’re on a roll, what would seriously drive her/him away?

Household chores, my husband’s snoring, TV, sometimes music. My muse likes my writing environment to be very quiet.

What does your muse look like?

She’s Native American. Her name is Ravenlore. She loves to tell stories, go on adventures and encourage women. She is a warrior whose weapon of choice is a sword.

Do you ever speak to your characters and do you get along all the time?

I do. I have some minor characters who think they need to steal the show. They hate it when I tell them they have to behave.

Can you name the food and drink that will surely get you started?

Chocolate! Anything chocolate. Drink wise – tea. The best kind is Green Teas with a hint of Mango.

Would you be able to come up with an excuse on why you haven’t written a whole day, and have me believe it too?

Probably not because writing is like a drug for me. I’m addicted.

And finally why would you ever want to live life behind a keyboard slaving over a manuscript?

It’s so much fun! I get to go places and do things with my characters that I wouldn’t have the chance to do if I didn’t write.

Okay now that we have the mandatory questions out of the way, shoot your mouth off. Tell me whatever you want the blab about. But please no cat’s, dogs, or children. Make me laugh, or cry, or even envious. Tell me something none has ever heard before from you. hehehe, love those little dirty secrets, real or make believe. 🙂

Ok, true story. I am probably the only person you have ever met that can fall UP a mountain. It’s true. A few years ago I was on an archaeological dig in Kentucky. I was talking to someone, climbing up the mountain when my ankle got caught in grapevine. It wrapped around my entire ankle and I fell UP the mountain seriously spraining my knee and ankle. Weird I know, huh? My husband tells me all the time only I could fall up a mountain.

That was a nice little snippet of your life. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by Allison and I do hope your book will reach massive sales. Now let’s hear something about the writer. No doubt that’s what the fans are after too.

Bestselling author, screenwriter, blogger and owner of the Mountain Springs House publishing company, Allison Bruning has had a passion for writing since childhood.

She originally hails from Marion, Ohio but lives in Louisville, Kentucky with her husband and their Australian Cattle Dog, Lakota Sioux. Her father, Roland Irving Bruning, was the son of German immigrants who came to the United States at the turn of the 20th century. Her mother’s family had immigrated from Scotland, Ireland and England during the 17th century.

Allison is a member of the Daughters of American Revolution, tracing her linage to Private Rueben Messenger of Connecticut. She enjoys family stories, history and genealogy.

Her educational background includes a BA in Theatre Arts with a minor in Anthropology and a Texas Elementary Teaching certificate. Both acquired at Sul Ross State University in Alpine, Texas. Allison received National Honor Society memberships in both Theatre Arts and Communication. She was also honored her sophomore year with admission into the All American Scholars register. She holds graduate hours in Cultural Anthropology and Education. In 2007, Allison was named Who’s Who Among America’s Educators. She is also the recipient of the Girl Scout Silver and Gold Awards. Allison is currently working towards a Masters of Fine Arts in Creative Writing at Full Sail University with a 4.0 grade point average.

Allison interests include Ohio Valley history, anthropology, travel, culture, history, camping, hiking, backpacking, spending time with her family, and genealogy.

She can be found on Facebook

She is also on twitter @emeraldkell.

Her blog can be found at http://allisonbruning.blogspot.com.

Her author page on Goodreads

And finally Allison’s Amazon author page

Okay, now we know where to stalk you, of course I mean follow you and keep tabs on what you’re up to. Bur where can we find that great book of yours?

At the moment nowhere, because I have been busy setting up my own publishing house. When that’s fully functional my book will be available there. You fans will have to be patient for a little while longer.

2 thoughts on “Featured Author Allison Bruning

If you like what you just read, please leave a reply.

