Featured Author Yvonne Hertzberger

authorphoto2-1

Look who’s joined me today! The wonderful and very talented author of great books she’s going to tell us all about, Yvonne Hertzberger.

Welcome, Yvonne. Why don’t you start by telling me and the visitors to my blog a bit about yourself? What! A real bio, in third person? Great! 

Yvonne Hertzberger is a native of the Netherlands who immigrated to Canada in 1950. She is an avid student of human behaviour, which gives her the insights she uses to develop the characters in her writing. Hertzberger came to writing late in life, hence the self- proclaimed label ‘late bloomer’. Her first Old World Fantasy novel “Back From Chaos: Book One of Earth’s Pendulum” was published in 2009. The second volume in the planned trilogy “Through Kestrel’s Eyes” is available currently and the third book in the trilogy “The Dreamt Child” is pending.

Right, that sounds like you are really serious about a writing career.  Not just one book, but a whole series. Yes, you’ll have ample opportunity to tell us all about them, but first tell us where we can find you online and then we’ll get started with the actual interview.

Smashwords

Twitter

Facebook Author page

Amazon author page

Amazon. UK

Goodreads

Website/blog

Wow, you do get around, don’t you? Well, none will be able to say they couldn’t find you or your books. I guess at any one of those links there will be buy links to your books too?

Now let’s get this show on the road.

Can you give me your best Whoop? Unless you have another one which works better for you?

“Whoop? I think I need a ‘Lucy’ dictionary. Lol

Does it mean ‘aha moment’, biggest thrill as a writer, or favourite joke.

You are the first one to ask me that, and yes it means exactly that, but go on as if I didn’t just interrupt you.

Hmmmm. Or all of these in one sentence, or … Aw, I give up. I think my funny bone needs lubrication. Where’s the oil can?

Okay, sounds like a winner that one, but does it work all the time, even those times when the muse has gone and done a runner on you? And when did you first start with it?

One thing I have learned is that if my butt doesn’t hurt from too much sitting in front of the keyboard it just doesn’t get done. It’s all about ‘arse-in-chair time’ (Henceforth to be referred to as AIC time). My muse doesn’t believe in ‘ease’.

Right, sounds like you and your muse are on the right track there. Let’s do a few of the yada yada questions before we move on to the fun.

What is the title of the book you would like to talk about?

It’s a trilogy, actually, titled “Earth’s Pendulum. The first, Back From Chaos” and second, Through Kestrel’s Eyes are out. The third, “The Dreamt Child” will be finished by the end of the year if I get enough AIC time.

Which means I cannot show the cover of the third book, but don’t panic peeps, she’s given us the other two to admire. And boy, aren’t they just mighty fine?

Back From Chaos - small New Image

It’s what I call ‘Old World Fantasy” because it takes place in a time akin to early medieval. Some think it should be Epic Fantasy, others who like Historical Fiction like it, too.

My writing is very character based and my readers tell me they fall in love with them. Some fantasy has a lot of magic or mythical creatures. I keep the paranormal to a minimum, having only a seer who is in occasional communication with the goddess.

Did you have difficulty coming up with the titles? 

For the first it was like pulling teeth. I agonised over it and changed it many times. I’m happy with it now, though. The other two were just ‘there’.

If you would have to change the genre, what would it be then?

Nooooo! I won’t. I can’t. You can’t make me.

Bwahaha, but I can! Erm, I mean it’s just one of those ‘What if …” questions. 

Oh, you mean, like, just hypothetically. All right, then. I’ll play. Hmmmm, I think I could write contemporary fiction about characters with real challenges and what they do to overcome them. How’s that. Yeah, that’s the ticket. I can do that.

Just to confuse you we’ll take the alternative route now.

What don’t you like about writing, or whatever you need to do marketing wise?

What a wonderful world it would be if all I had to do was write my stories. I am an introvert. Promo and marketing are the bane of my existence. All that twitter, Facebook, Linkedin, Pinterest, google+, and on and on and on. Who has time to write? The only part I do enjoy is my involvement with Indies Unlimited. It’s still work a lot of the time but I get so much support there. They are the best bunch of virtual friends any writer could ask for.

Tell me, when your muse is visiting and you’re on a roll, what would seriously drive her/him away?

Ignoring her for a while to waste time on other things like family, commitments, friends – in other words excuses that cause procrastination. Then I lose the flow and it’s tough to get it back.

What does your muse look like?

You know, she’s never shown herself to me. She always hides behind my back. Either she’s so beautiful I’d turn to stone or I’m better looking than she is and she’s jealous. Can a muse be jealous? Maybe she’s so ugly she’d scare the story right out of my head. Or maybe she just likes to keep me guessing. I think that must be it.

Do you ever speak to your characters and do you get along all the time?

I gave up trying to tell them what I wanted a long time ago. They tell me what to say. So far that’s been a good decision, even when I have to kill one off. So I just listen and do what I’m told. Life’s easier that way.

Can you name the food and drink that will surely get you started?

Nope, but there are many that will stop me dead in the water. Sugar, mostly. Anything that serves to interrupt me and allow me to procrastinate. My best bet is to sit without anything in front of me. Better for the waistline, too.

Would you be able to come up with an excuse on why you haven’t written a whole day, and have me believe it too?

Oh, sneaky. You want to borrow it, don’t you? I haven’t used this one yet, but in April I think you’ll allow me, “My grandchild was just born. I had to go meet her”. Do you like that one? Of course, the old, “I wasn’t home and had no access to my computer” has served me on occasion. I write on a pc so can’t take it with me.

And finally why would you ever want to live life behind a keyboard slaving over a manuscript?

For the fame, money and accolades, of course. They’re coming. I know it. I can feel it in my bones. Or is that just creaking old age I feel?

Yup! 🙂 Erm, I mean, nope, that feeling is definitely the fame creeping up on you.

Sigh. Seriously, I think it’s the only way to keep the white coats from taking me to the loony bin for talking to non-existent people or for drifting into space in the middle of conversations..

Okay now that we have the mandatory questions out of the way, shoot your mouth off. Tell me whatever you want the blab about. But please no cat’s, dogs, or children. Make me laugh, or cry, or even envious. Tell me something none has ever heard before from you. hehehe, love those little dirty secrets, real or make believe. 🙂

Dirty little secrets? I have none of those. Just ask my friends and family. No, wait. Don’t. What you don’t know can’t hurt me.

Shoot! And here I was, thinking I finally had the chance to get my hands on a proverbial skeleton.

OK, I once stole my sister’s candy. (I did say I like sugar). And I resent having to take the plastic windows out of envelopes before I recycle them. Sometime I just throw the whole thing in the garbage. There. It’s out. There goes my reputation.

Ha! You see, I knew it. Hahaha.

Oh, and I have wild erotic fantasies about bad boys. OK, now my real secret’s out. Please don’t hate me … please. I’m a good girl. Really I am. Sob, blubber, blubber.

Oh, Yvonne we all know you are. A good girl, that is. 🙂 And we love you and your books, really we do! Now run along and finish the third one. Do come back when you have it published and we’ll do you again, new questions of course. 

Thanks for coming and allowing me and the readers this insight in your mind and life.

16 thoughts on “Featured Author Yvonne Hertzberger

  1. Pingback: Featured Author Yvonne Hertzberger | Yvonne Hertzberger

  2. I began reading Yvonne’s first book, Back From Chaos, to be polite. A mutual friend loaned me a copy. Fantasy. Really? OK, if I have to.

    I am a believer!

    In Yvonne in particular, not necessarily in fantasy. The fact that an author could win me as a devout follower in a genre I don’t like tells you a LOT about Yvonne Hertzberger.

  3. Nice to meet you, Yvonne (-: We share something in common (well, actually several things) but I’m talking about social media being the bane or our existence. I’m a recluse, so go figure what a pain it is for me to show my face on Facebook. Love Indies Unlimited, by the way. My favorite blog. You guys do a terrific job supporting your fellow Indie authors. Thanks so much! Added “Back From Chaos” to my TBR list. Looking forward to reading it. It’ll be a while because I have a stack to get through, but something to look forward to.

    • Thanks you, Joan. I love what we do at IU, too and I think I get much more than I give there. I do hope you like my story when you get to it. I’ll admit to a handful of editing, punctuation errors that I am terrified to change lest I blow the whole thing. PLease let me know what you think. 🙂

If you like what you just read, please leave a reply.

