Featured Author Chantal Boudreau

The wonderful Chantal Boudreau joins me today. Welcome Chantal, glad you could make it. Now, before we get started with your interview first let me post a picture of you. You know people want to know how the author looks like. 🙂

author pic

Wheeeeeheeeee! I can tell, you’re a fun person. Well, let’s see what you have to say when I ask you stuff. What stuff? You know interview stuff, questions about you, your book and a few surprises. Anyway, let’s not waste another moment and get started.

Can you give me your best Whoop? Unless you have another one which works better for you?

I don’t whoop…the best you’ll get out of me is a grunt of satisfaction.

Okay, whatever works for you, but does it work all the time, even those times when the muse has gone and done a runner on you? And when did you first start with it?

I have a living muse who used to chase me with scissors if I didn’t write, but she’s unfortunately not in the best of health right now. It’s not so much that I can’t write without a push from her, but I just don’t feel motivated to do it. So I guess I’d have to say it doesn’t work all the time.

Right, sounds like you need a little nudge to get on the right track. Let’s do a few of the yada yada questions before we move on to the fun.

What is the title of the book you would like to talk about?

I have seven novels out so far, but my latest release is The Blood Runs Deep, the second book in my Snowy Barrens Trilogy.

BRDcover

Nice artwork! Did you have difficulty coming up with the title?

Not really. The first title in the trilogy, The Blood is Strong is a tribute to one of my favourite Nova Scotian singer/songwriters, Gordie Sampson and I just followed that theme for the second. The third, which I hope to have out by the end of the year, will be called The Blood FlowsTrue.

It seems that I need to do some youtubing and listen to Gordie Sampson. Anyway, if you would have to change the genre, what would it be then?

Change the genre? I consider it tribal dark fantasy. If I had to change it, I’d probably set it in Newfoundland when the Vikings had a settlement there and add in more historical elements to make it historical fantasy.

You could always do another series about that. 🙂

Just to confuse you we’ll take the alternative route now.

What don’t you like about writing, or whatever you need to do marketing wise?

What I don’t like about writing is hitting a wall just past the halfway point in a book, where the ending still seems far away, but I’ve run out of my starting initiative. If I push through it, I it my second wind after a chapter or two. I don’t like anything about the marketing process. I honestly wish I could afford to pay someone else to do that for me.

Hahaha, name me one author who loves spending time on marketing and I’ll bake you a cookie. But tell me, when your muse is visiting and you’re on a roll, what would seriously drive her/him away?

As I mentioned earlier, ill-health. I also have trouble concentrating when I’m seriously stressed or when I’ve been drinking alcohol. I find writing particularly difficult then.

What does your muse look like?

She’s about ten years older than me with graying light brown hair and glasses. She can look pretty fierce when she’s waving scissors at you.

Do you ever speak to your characters and do you get along all the time?

No – I’m a movie perspective writer…an observer only. I don’t interact with my characters. That being said, my characters don’t always follow the script – naughty buggers.

They sound like the kind of characters I’d like.

Can you name the food and drink that will surely get you started?

No food. I find food when I’m writing distracting. But coffee is an absolute necessity.

Would you be able to come up with an excuse on why you haven’t written a whole day, and have me believe it too?

I haven’t written much in the last month, mostly due to worry and stress – my thoughts are definitely elsewhere. When I’m really motivated I can manage 3,000-4,000 on top of a full-time accounting job and a busy family life. On my best day, I can put in 6,000 words. I figure the words will come once the stress eases up.

And finally why would you ever want to live life behind a keyboard slaving over a manuscript?

I ask myself that all the time. When you figure out the answer, please let me know.

Wheeeheee, why do you think I keep asking that question over and over again? I’m looking for the ultimate answer here. Help me out. 🙂

Okay now that we have the mandatory questions out of the way, shoot your mouth off. Tell me whatever you want the blab about. But please no cats, dogs, or children. Make me laugh, or cry, or even envious. Tell me something none has ever heard before from you. hehehe, love those little dirty secrets, real or make believe. 🙂

Ugh – you’re asking for something that’s hard for me to do, because aside from my writing and my day job, my life is all about kids, cat and dog (plus husband, fish and chickens.) A lot of my stories are variations of events that happened to me during my own life. The villains are often based on people who treated me poorly, and the secondary characters are often inspired by people who influenced me in some way. I even used employment encounters transformed to some degree in my tales (an argument with a boss, and my time spent in the theatre.)

If you want a dirty secret, that will require a significant bribe and I doubt you’d be willing to pay

You’re right, I’wouldn’t pay any kind of bribe. Still, I’m very glad you stopped by and willingly gave up all you told us about yourself and your book. Leaves us with the final two questions.

Where can we stalk you, erm I mean, follow you on the world wide web? And where can we buy your book(s)

Facebook

Amazon Author Page

Twitter

Scribd.com

Goodreads Author Page

Blog

You certainly get around. Good for you! And now tell us where to buy your wonderful figments.

Fervor

Elevation

Transcendence

Magic University

Casualties of War

The Blood Is Strong

The Blood Runs Deep

Okay, that wraps it up. Thanks again for allowing me this interview and hope you will come back to let us know when the final book in the series will be released.

5 thoughts on “Featured Author Chantal Boudreau

  1. Don’t you love taking some rude person and having them either be murdered or be the killer? If people like us couldn’t write away our anger, wonder what we’d do to the creeps?

  2. It’s really a productive way to rid the system of any residual anger. Good for you. Like you, most of my characters are based on people I’ve known. All except the aliens.

  3. I’ve done the same, based characters loosely on people I know. It’s a nice way to blow off some steam with someone you dislike.

    I like the idea of doing photo shoots in the stocks like that….

If you like what you just read, please leave a reply.

