Featured Author – Cyn Bagley

Otto and Cyn

There she stands, see her smile? It’s because she knew we were going to do this interview. 🙂 Yes, people, I’ve done it again, snared a great author to join me on my blog.

This time it is Cyn Bagley, the author who was born in Bella Coola, BC, Canada from American parents in a small rural hospital on a reservation.

But she didn’t stay there. Nope, a few years later the family moved back to the US. To sunny California. In 1966 they moved to SLC, Utah and then to Vernal, Utah.

Before she was an author she joined the US Navy in 1988 and became a CTM. Her job was to repair electronic equipment. After she left the Navy, she contracted as an electronics technician, and in Germany she earned a BA in English Literature.

It was there all along and finally several of her poems and a short story were published in various literary journals.

She now lives in Nevada with her husband, retired Navy sailor and Vietnam War Vet and writes when she’s not on my blog to talk about her writerly works.

Hi Cyn, thanks for being here. Let us not waste any time and get on with the interview.

Can you give me your best Whoop? Unless you have another one which works better for you?

Woot for humans and meow for cats. Dogs get normal voices and scratches around the ears and shoulders.

Okay, sounds like a true original, winning formula, but does it work all the time, even those times when the muse has gone and done a runner on you? And when did you first start with it?

The Woot came from wandering through the internet and laughing at the Woots I was seeing. Meow? Oh yea, I am a cat person. I really enjoy cat vocalizations. The normal voice, well, I have some chihuahua friends. Some friends in the apartment complex do chihuahua rescues and I have met all kinds of abused dogs. Once they start trusting you though, they are friends for life.

As for my muse, he seems to be on the lamb recently. I suspect that if I just sit my down and type, he’ll be over my shoulder and whispering in my ear.

So it’s a he! Right, sounds like you are on the right track there with a guy helping you write the great stuff you do. Now, let’s do a few of the yada yada questions before we move on to the fun.

What is the title of the book you would like to talk about?

I have a new novella recently digitally published called Urban Werewolf.

?????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

Oh, I’m a sucker for covers and this one most certainly works for me! Did you have difficulty coming up with the title?

The title was the easiest part of writing this story. I had written “She Called It, Wolf” and there were other characters in the story that wanted their story to be told. So I remembered Tina and John Harwood from the novel. John was a mechanic and he started his career in Reno, Nevada. So unlike the other werewolves, he was living in an urban environment. Easy?

You sure are right, that was a no brainer. But if you would have to change the genre, what would it be then?

Seriously, I would have changed the story so it would be a space opera. Maybe have werewolf robots? Now that is an idea.

Hahaha, Love that idea, Cyn. Promise me to write that one.

Okay, just to confuse you we’ll take the alternative route now. What don’t you like about writing, or whatever you need to do marketing wise?

For writing, sometimes it is hard to sit down and just write. Plus I have a lowered immune system so I get sick constantly. It makes it hard to write on a consistent basis.

As for marketing? I am a full-blown introvert. I have learned to work around it, but I just don’t like to promote myself or my books. It makes me uncomfortable and I want to go home and put a pillow over my head. Plus being ill curtails a lot of my outside activities. It is easier to promote when I am not face-to-face with someone. Do I promote much? Well, no.

You should though, because those books need to be read!

Tell me, when your muse is visiting and you’re on a roll, what would seriously drive her/him away?

When I am in a trance state, it is very hard to drive the muse away. I have had some days where I seem to wake up and realize that I need to put on dinner. Usually though, if the hubby is on a business trip, I lose track of all time. The first yawn usually drives him away and then I look at the clock.

It is an “oh shit” moment because I forgot my pills, my food, and I need to lie down.

That would qualify as an “Oh shit” moment in your case. Forgetting your meds? No good Cyn! But I can understand, writing does funny things to the brain. 🙂

What does your muse look like?

Don’t you think that that is a personal question? I’ll give you one word—Greek.

Oh! And it’s a he. Must be a gorgeous one! Divine! Wheeeeheeeee!

Can you name the food and drink that will surely get you started?

Coffee with cinnamon creamer.

I must try that once. Love cinnamon, gives you that nice warm taste of … Nom!

Would you be able to come up with an excuse on why you haven’t written a whole day, and have me believe it too?

Actually yes.  I get migraine inversions all the time. Plus I had a pinched nerve in my right hip. Most of my excuses would be health related because there is a lot of truth in it. You see I have a chronic illness called Wegener’s Granulomatosis. Anything can happen and does.

That is no fun Cyn, I wish you all the best with your health and hope you never have to use this as an excuse ever again.

And finally why would you ever want to live life behind a keyboard slaving over a manuscript?

I do that already. I haven’t been able to work in an office because of my lowered immune system for ten years so the hubby, (did I say I have a hubby?)(Yes, you did, and I mentioned it earlier. :_) ) convinced me to write my stories. At first I was hesitant, and then I started to enjoy putting my daydreams on paper.

Okay now that we have the mandatory questions out of the way, shoot your mouth off. Tell me whatever you want the blab about. But please no cat’s, dogs, or children. Make me laugh, or cry, or even envious. Tell me something none has ever heard before from you. hehehe, love those little dirty secrets, real or make believe. 🙂

I have itchy feet. So do I need to explain what itchy feet means?

Eh, do I really want to know?

No, it is not some type of fungal infection. Lol Well, ever since I was six, I have wanted to travel the world and see how other people lived. When I was in my late twenties I finally joined the US Navy. I discovered coffee shops and little inlet towns in Japan. In Panama I saw toucans, spider monkeys, and iguanas right next to my doorstep.

In Germany my hubby and I walked hiking trails and climbed hills to castles. We took hundreds of pictures of sunrises, sunsets, castles, trees, and plants. We lived in one German town that had a lynx in the forest close to the house. I saw the little mermaid in Copenhagen, Denmark, and discovered courtyards in Holland. I do miss traveling very much.

Since we moved back to the States, we have wandered through ghost towns and talked to people who lived so far out in the country that they forget how to talk to people. We watch the ravens, hawks, vultures, robins, finches, and chickadees.

My deepest secret is that I see stories everywhere. I see the love between a Japanese woman and her child. I see a story when a German shepherd hands me his doll that he carried in his mouth. When I am in a coffee shop on those days when I don’t feel ill, I wonder why the couple in the corner is talking to a salesman. I feel the story deep deep in my bones.

My secret is that if I didn’t tell stories, I would dream them, eat them, and live them anyway.

Cyn! You are a wonderful person to know and have a load of stories in that wondrous brain of yours. Pour them all out and let us enjoy them. 

Again thanks for granting me the honour of having you on my blog and hope you will want to come back when you have a new release.

Now, tell us where we can stalk you. Erm, I mean follow, yes, follow, friend or like. And not unimportant, where can we buy your books?

12 thoughts on “Featured Author – Cyn Bagley

  1. Pingback: The Versatile Blogger Award | Jo Robinson

  2. Pingback: The Super Sweet Blogging Award | Jo Robinson

If you like what you just read, please leave a reply.

