Featured Author – Vashti Quiroz-Vega

Vashti's Web Photo

Yes, here she is! Vashti Quiroz-Vega, a talented author and … Well, you’ll read for ourselves. 

Hi Vashti 🙂 Welcome and thanks for granting me this interview. But since the readers didn’t come over to read about me why don’t you take it over and tell us a bit about you?

From the time I was a young kid, writing has been my passion. I’ve always been a writer I just didn’t know it until much later. For me, it is easier to express my thoughts on paper than with the spoken word. I enjoy making people feel an array of emotions with my writing. I like my audience to laugh one moment, cry the next and clench their jaws after that.

My love of animals and nature are often incorporated in my stories. You’ll read intriguing things about various animals, nature and natural disasters commingled in my character driven novels.

I love to read almost as much as I love to write. Some of my favorite authors are Stephen King, Michael Crichton, Anne Rice, J.R.R. Tolkien, J.K. Rowling and Dan Brown.

Those little facts tell a lot about you. It tells me that you have a great taste in reading material for example and that you care about your readers. Before we make a move on with the interview, can you point us in the general direction of where to find you online? You know, peeps might want to follow you and keep tabs on what you’re up to.

Facebook Fan Page

Blog

Website

Pinterest

Google+

Great! You’re just about everywhere and yet not spread too thin.

Okay, now let’s do what you really came here for. I have some questions for you, and the first one is:

Can you tell me how you celebrate finally getting that tricky chapter (or para) right?

You know the victory jumps at the end of the movie Rocky? I usually do the sitting version. And there’s usually dessert involved, too. ;D

Okay, sounds like you know how to party. Nom, desserts. 🙂 But how do you work around those moments when the muse has gone and done a runner on you?

I haven’t experienced my muse being gone (knock on wood). I do a lot of research, and in my quest for knowledge of a certain subject, I find inspiration. My muse keeps me up at night!

Right, you have a winning formula there it seems to me.

Now, let’s first do a few of the yada yada questions before we move on to the fun. And by yada yada I do not mean boring, or in any other way stupid questions, but just the traditional ones. You know? The ones we secretly all want to know the answer to.

First, what is the title of the book you would like to talk about?

The Basement

cover

Available at Tate Publishing and from August 20th also at Amazon and other online venues. So keep your eye out for

The Basement

Oh, shivers down the spine! Great ominous cover. Love those showing and yet alluring covers. You just have to know about the boy, seeing him standing like that.

Did you have difficulty coming up with the title?

It was the only logical choice for me.

If you would have to change the genre in order to be able to publish it, what would it be then? i.e. would you conform to the market?

I don’t think The Basement could be anything other than a Suspense/Thriller.

Right with that out of the way and to confuse you we’ll take the alternative route now.

What don’t you like about writing?

Wow, that’s a hard one. If I had to say one thing, it would have to be the editing. Not because of the re-writing, but because of the tediousness of reading the same passages over and over again. It tends to desensitize you to your work, at least momentarily.

What do you do marketing wise and what do you think generates the most attention to your books?

I have accounts with Facebook, Twitter, Google+, Pinterest, LinkedIn, about.me, stumbleUpon, reddit, Goodreads, YouTube, Wattpad, Digg, tumblr, deviantArt and my blog. Promoting my book takes up a lot of my time. I realize it must be done in order to get my book out there, but I never thought it would be so much work. My audience for The Basement is Middle Grade/Young Adult. Right now I believe my blog, Facebook Fan Page, Twitter and Google+ have generated the most attention for my book.

That list is really long, and impossible to keep up with. I think you’re wise to have tried them all, and sharp to come to the conclusion to focus on those serving their purpose.

Tell me, when you’re on a roll, the muse is in the house and happily guiding your pen, what would seriously drive her/him away?

Bad news! There’s nothing like stress and worry to momentarily suppress your creativity.

What! I do hope you never have to suffer from stress and worries.

What does your muse look like and does he/she ever play tricks on you?

Ha, ha! I thought I was the only writer who envisions her muse. Mine is a shape shifter. Sometimes she’s an angel, and her incandescent light warms my senses and makes me brilliant. Other times she’s a bug-eyed nag who wears her hair in a tight, severe bun. She’s got a whip in one hand and a dictionary in the other.

Do you ever speak to your characters and do you get along all the time?

I do speak to my characters, and I feel for them too. Sometimes I act out their gestures as I write them, so I scrunch my brow, shake my head, or pretend I’m nuzzling my nose against the other character’s neck. If someone were to walk in my writing room, it might look pretty strange.

Is there any food or beverage that is a constant factor in either your books or life?

Not really. I do drink a lot of water and lemonade.

Would you be able to come up with a credible excuse why you haven’t written a whole day? Remember, I have to believe it!

Lately, I’ve been dedicating way to much time to promotion. Perhaps it is because my novel The Basement is recently released, and I really want it to start off on the right foot. I like to answer all my emails and reply to everyone who has commented on my blog or my Facebook fan page. I don’t like to leave people hanging, and I want to show them that I do appreciate their support.

And finally why would you ever want to live life behind a keyboard slaving over a manuscript?

Between keyboard sessions, I try to squeeze some fun time in with my husband, family, friends and dogs, but I cannot tell a lie—writing IS my life.

Okay now that we have the mandatory questions out of the way, shoot your mouth off. Tell me whatever you want to blab about. But please no cats, dogs, or children. Make me laugh, or cry, or even envious. Tell me something none has ever heard before from you. hehehe, love those little dirty secrets, real or make believe. 🙂

As a kid, I always wanted to be a superhero. As an adult, I still feel the urge to do something heroic. I feel certain it will happen someday. There has always been a sleeping volcano inside me, and I’ve always felt that when it erupts, something magnificent will flow out of me, something that will benefit others. I guess that’s my dream: to be remembered when I’m long gone for doing something beneficial for mankind.

Vashti, that is a most wonderful thought to sign off with.

Thanks for coming over and giving me a bit of your precious time and the readers a little insight in you. It was a pleasure to feature you. I do hope your book will do very well, as I hope you are writing another one and will return to me when you have news. 🙂

14 thoughts on “Featured Author – Vashti Quiroz-Vega

  1. Yikes. I can totally relate to the promotional aspect of writing keeping me from writing. It’s like a Ferris Wheel….

  2. I really enjoyed the interview, ladies! Can’t wait to see the movie version of this book (0;

If you like what you just read, please leave a reply.

