Featured Author – Glen Solosky

Glen Solosky’s love of Science Fiction and Fantasy inspired him to write his first book, The Abominable Sruvius. Apparent in his writing is his sense of adventure, his enthusiasm for puzzles, and his fascination with the strange and bizarre. He lives in eastern Pennsylvania with his wife and two sons and today he visits me on my blog to tell us about it.

Me sm

Hi Glen, glad you took the time and effort to come on over to my side and share some tidbits about you and your work. Let’s not keep the readers waiting.

Can you tell me how you celebrate finally getting that tricky chapter (or paragraph) right?

I lean back, close my eyes, take a deep breath, and sigh, “Finally!”

Okay, it seems to me that is a perfect way to express your content. But how do you work around those moments when the muse has gone and done a runner on you? 

A long walk is great for clearing the cobwebs out of your head. Also, I find it hard to conger up my muse right away when I sit at my keyboard. I’ve got to get into the swing of things first, and I do that by editing what I’d previously written. After a few minutes of editing I’m ready to take on a new chapter, scene or whatever.

Right, sounds like you have a winning formula there. Now, let’s first do a few of the yada yada questions before we move on to the fun. And by yada yada I do not mean boring, or in any other way stupid questions, but just the traditional ones. You know? The ones we secretly all want to know the answer to.

First, what is the title of the book you would like to talk about?

The Abominable Sruvius, a middle-grade science fiction/fantasy novel.

Sruvius cover sm

Great artwork! I’m not a kid, but it even entices me to pick up the book. 

Did you have difficulty coming up with the title?

Definitely. Especially since Bergey Fenwick, not Sruvius, is the main character. I’d thought of calling it Bergey Fenwick and the Abominable Sruvius, but that seemed a bit too much like Harry Potter and the (insert magical item here). And even though Sruvius isn’t the main character, he’s certainly key (and interesting), so I had no qualms about naming the book after him. So, after throwing around titles like, The Abominable Dr. Sruvius (too much like The Abominable Dr. Phibes, for all you Vincent Price fans), and The Abominable Ravma Sruvius (I liked it, but one hard-to-pronounce name is enough), I finally settled on The Abominable Sruvius.

Wonderful choice.

If you would have to change the genre in order to be able to publish it, what would it be then? i.e. would you conform to the market?

The story could easily be converted to adult science fiction. It tends to lean more toward science fiction than fantasy anyway. The only reason it falls under middle-grade fiction is the main character is a thirteen year old boy. Aside from that, there’s no reason adults wouldn’t like it. (Don’t let the fishbowl on the king’s head fool you!)

Well, the Harry Potter books by J.K. Rowling star a young boy too and these have captured millions of adults, no reason The Abominable Sruvius couldn’t. Right?

Right with that out of the way and to confuse you we’ll take the alternative route now.

What don’t you like about writing.

When my muse leaves me entirely, and I’m stuck looking at a computer screen like it’s the first time I’ve ever seen one. Or when I think I’m on a roll and the words are pouring out like someone released a dam, only to look over what I had just spent the last hour writing and realize it’s pure garbage.

I think that’s something all authors go through every now and then, it’s how you handle those moments what’s really important and from what I’ve heard from you up till now it seems you cope well enough. 🙂

What do you do marketing wise and what do you think generates the most attention to your books?

I’m pretty much a newbie, so I don’t have a lot of sage advice to give. Word of mouth has helped me a little, as have social network sites.

Ah, yes. Word to mouth, the best marketing tool ever.

Tell me, when you’re on a roll, the muse is in the house and happily guiding your pen, what would seriously drive her/him away?

When I get to the end of a scene or am approaching a tough transition and am not sure where to go from there. I never seem to get it into my head that I can always go back and edit later.

What does your muse look like and does he/she ever play tricks on you?

He’s a fidgety little Danny DeVito sort of guy. As long as I’m walking or doing something repetitive, he’s happy to hang around, but as soon I sit down to do some work, he’s gone. I really have to be at my keyboard a long time before he’ll come back.

Bugger!

Do you ever speak to your characters and do you get along all the time?

Oh, yes, I talk to them often (and they to me). Many of my characters are modeled after people I know or actors I can picture playing the role. For example, Lord Westring, a king’s advisor, is based on actor Patrick Stewart. I can actually hear his voice when I’m writing Lord Westring’s dialogue. Sruvius has a voice as well. I even got to the point where I would speak his lines out loud in a voice borrowed from Julius Sumner Miller. You can actually hear it on my Sruvius.com website.

Oh, I must hop over there and listen to him. 🙂 Come on peeps, here’s the action. ===> Site

Is there any food or beverage that is a constant factor in either your books or life?

No, I can’t say there is. But I do like a cup of tea when I’m writing.

Would you be able to come up with a credible excuse why you haven’t written a whole day? Remember, I have to believe it!

I go days and days without writing. The thing is, I’m busy throwing ideas around in my head and just haven’t gotten to the point of committing them to paper.

But you must! Or carry a memo recorder around and blurt out those ideas.

And finally why would you ever want to live life behind a keyboard slaving over a manuscript?

It sure beats working for someone else. Most of my life I’ve used my creativity to make money for a corporation. I’d much rather put that amount of time and energy to use doing something for myself.

A very sensible thing to do I must say. 😉

Okay now that we have the mandatory questions out of the way, shoot your mouth off. Tell me whatever you want the blab about. But please no cats, dogs, or children. Make me laugh, or cry, or even envious. Tell me something none has ever heard before from you. hehehe, love those little dirty secrets, real or make believe. 🙂

I’m an illustrator as well as a writer. I did the cover artwork and illustrations for The Abominable Sruvius, as well as design book covers for other writers.  Being an artist gives me the advantage of being able to draw the characters directly from my imagination. You can see some of my work on my portfolio site

Oh, I love your work. You Mr Solosky are a true artist!

Geocaching is one of my favorite pastimes. In case you’re not familiar with the game, it involves using a GPS-enabled device to find hidden containers called geocaches. There are all different kinds, but my favorites are the ones where you have to solve a puzzle in order to get the coordinates.

I love puzzles, especially logic problems. I’ve written dozens of them for a popular puzzle magazine. You know that cozy feeling you get when you curl up with a good book and a hot cup of tea (or coffee)? That’s the way I feel sitting down to a good logic puzzle.

Yes! I know that feeling and to know you might be responsible for some fun puzzling I did … Well, that is just great! I know a puzzlemaker! Wheeeeheeee!

Well, Glen that kind of wraps up the interview. Thanks again for coming over and share all this with me and the readers. If you ever have more news to share, you know where to find me. 🙂

Leave me only to give the readers directions as to where your book can be purchased. Digital copies as well as in paperback.

Sruvius cover sm

Smashwords

Amazon US

Amazon UK

Lulu (paperback edition)

2 thoughts on “Featured Author – Glen Solosky

If you like what you just read, please leave a reply.

