Featured Author – Danielle DeVor

blogpic

Hello Danielle and thanks for coming. Make yourself comfortable, because I have some questions for you. 🙂 Don’t pull a face, I promise it will be fun and painless. Have a coffee and chocolates. 

Now that we’re comfy, let’s get started.

Can you tell me how you celebrate finally getting that tricky chapter (or para) right?

Usually, there is a fist pump involved, followed by a little wiggling in my chair. Then, I just right back into working on my project.

Okay, you know how to party but keep in check to be able to continue the creativity flowing. But how do you work around those moments when the muse has gone and done a runner on you? 

Sometimes, I will watch movies that I find inspiring. They change according to the book I’m working on, so if, say I’m writing on my vampire series, I will watch some of my favorite vampires movies to get back in the mood.

Also, I find that giving myself a schedule helps a lot. If I know I have a deadline to get a first draft done, it gives me more of an incentive to keep working.

Right, sounds like you have a winning formula there. Now, let’s first do a few of the yada yada questions before we move on to the fun. And by yada yada I do not mean boring, or in any other way stupid questions, but just the traditional ones. You know? The ones we secretly all want to know the answer to.

First, what is the title of the book you would like to talk about?

I’d like to talk about Tail of the Devil, it’s my first published novel as well as the first novel I ever wrote.

tail of the devil coverart large

Did you have difficulty coming up with the title?

Very much so. Originally, the title was “The Order of the Dragon” but that sounded too much like “Order of the Phoenix”, so I knew I needed to come up with something else. Then, one day, my father was talking about his time serving in the Vietnam War, and told me about how they used to say that they were “Riding on the tail of the devil” right before something really bad was about to happen, and a light bulb went off in my head.

Now, that’s a little tidbit of info we want like to hear.

If you would have to change the genre in order to be able to publish it, what would it be then? i.e. would you conform to the market?

The only thing it could be is horror, and I did try to make it adult horror at one point. But, the book was meant to be a YA Fantasy, so that’s where it will stay.

Right, with that out of the way and to confuse you we’ll take the alternative route now.

What don’t you like about writing.

Having to meet specific word count goals. On one hand, my writing has gotten stronger having to shoot for higher word counts, but not all books will fit a specific range no matter how hard you try.

What do you do marketing wise and what do you think generates the most attention to your books?

I do what most authors do: facebook, twitter, goodreads, my blog, guest blogs. So far, my best response has been through goodreads.

I am also a member of a great group of writers at ASMSG who help by retweeting links that I post, etc.

Great group of authors working together, eh?

Tell me, when you’re on a roll, the muse is in the house and happily guiding your pen, what would seriously drive her/him away?

Having a family member interrupt me to come look at something on the television. It happens with some frequency and it is hard to get back to where I was.

What does your muse look like and does he/she ever play tricks on you?

My muse depends on my book and usually takes on the guise of a specific character. For Tail of the Devil, my muse is the elder version of my main character, Mathias.

Do you ever speak to your characters and do you get along all the time?

I’m not an author who has their characters speak to me. I do know authors that have experienced that phenomena, but my characters are just in my head- waiting for me to take them on their next adventure.

Is there any food or beverage that is a constant factor in either your books or life?

All of my books feature food. In Tail of the Devil, I have one character that is obsessed with pomegranates. In the book I have coming out in October, I have a character who is obsessed with cooking gourmet food.

Must have been fun writing that. I can imagine you trying the dishes. 🙂 It’s what I would do.

Would you be able to come up with a credible excuse why you haven’t written a whole day? Remember, I have to believe it!

Absolutely. One excuse I use is that I am sick- which has happened to us all. But, I only use it if it’s the truth.

And finally why would you ever want to live life behind a keyboard slaving over a manuscript?

Because my worlds wouldn’t exist otherwise, and as long as I have stories in my head, I’ll try to get them out in a way that people can read them.

Okay now that we have the mandatory questions out of the way, shoot your mouth off. Tell me whatever you want the blab about. But please no cat’s, dogs, or children. Make me laugh, or cry, or even envious. Tell me something none has ever heard before from you. hehehe, love those little dirty secrets, real or make believe. 🙂

I am a confirmed horror film fanatic, and prior to my start in writing, I received a degree in theatre. My goal was to become a special effects make-up artist. Well, somewhere along the way, one of the other theatre students convinced me that I should try my hand at writing a play.

What came out of that was a play called “A Blink of Twilight” about a vampire. I actually produced the play, and that year, it was more popular than the regular plays the school put on. After that, writing crept into the back of my mind as a career. I had planned to move to California and write and direct films.

Then, real life crept in. A few years later, when I went back to school for my second degree, this time Art History, I ended up getting the beginning idea for Tail of the Devil and six years later, it was complete.

Wow, Danielle that is a long time, but better take your time and get it right than publishing when you’re not really ready. Well, done. I haven’t read it, but the blurb tells me it is probably a good read. 🙂 So let’s give the readers the pleasure of reading that blurb, shall we?
If Mathias thought being homeless sucked, being a vampire is worse. The vampires who transformed him believe he is the reincarnation of an ancient king. They expect him to quit swearing, use a napkin, and play by their weird, ancient rules. Screw that.

But after the reigning queen assaults Mathias, he has visions of a past life in which he was that king. Turns out the current queen killed him then, and wants to kill him again. He’d better grow up fast, because if he doesn’t his second life may be shorter than his first.

See? Told you so, a great blurb. 🙂

Now tell u a bit more about the author. Who is Danielle and what makes her tick? What! You have a real bio? Shoot! 🙂 The stage is yours.

Danielle DeVor spent her early years fantasizing about vampires and watching “Salem’s Lot” way too many times. After living briefly in Baton Rouge, Louisiana, she moved back to her hometown to write. When not writing and reading about weird things, you will find her hanging out at the nearest coffee shop, enjoying a mocha frappuccino.

Where to find me in the virtual world:

Blog

Twitter @sammyig

Facebook

Goodreads

A nice set of venues to follow you. Not too many and exactly the right one–at least that’s how I feel. 🙂

And where can we get our hands on your book?

Amazon

Barnes&Noble

Great! Thanks again Danielle for sharing this much of you and telling us about your book. It was fun having you. Feel free to come back if you have more news, or just to say “Hi.” 

19 thoughts on “Featured Author – Danielle DeVor

  1. Hi LUCY! I loved what I read, and I too, want to know who Olga is 🙂 Good luck to Danielle. I do have one question Lucy, if that’s allowed.
    Danielle: isn’t there a lot of completion for your theme and how do you separate yours from the pack? I love your perseverance…best of luck!

If you like what you just read, please leave a reply.

