Featured Author – Maer Wilson

Maer Author

I’m very happy to be able to host Maer Wilson today. She is the author of Relics and will tell us more about her book and some about herself in this post.

Welcome Maer. Thanks for taking the time to answer my questions and share a little bit of you with all of us. Let’s start with you. What can I tell about you which would interest the readers?

After a successful career being other people, and later teaching others the many tricks of that trade, Maer Wilson has decided to be herself for a while.

Always a good choice Maer. 🙂

Turns out she’s a writer. She’s always loved stories, especially fantasy, mystery and sci fi. Maer was born in the Year of the Dragon and has a dragon-themed room in her home, but sadly no dragons in the back yard.

When she’s not writing, Maer plays online video games, teaches college and reads. She also co-hosts the literary podcast, “MythBehaving” and writes for two gaming fansites. She lives in the high desert of Southern Nevada with her two dogs, a chihuahua and a poodle.

You seem to be living the good life, Maer. Thanks for allowing me to share these little facts about you.

Now lets get started with the interview before we take it to Relics

Can you tell me how you celebrate finally getting that tricky chapter (or para) right?

Yes and thanks for having me on, Lucy.

It is entirely my pleasure. 🙂 Sorry for the interruption, please do go on with answering my first question.

This will sound weird, but I don’t have issues with chapters or paragraphs very often. However, when I finish a book, I like to take a small break before moving into revisions. I will usually have dinner with a friend and I get to spend more time online with my gaming friends. Killing pretend virtual enemies in MMOs is lots of fun and very therapeutic.

Okay, sounds like you know how to party. But how do you work around those moments when the muse has gone and done a runner on you?

I write organically, so fortunately that hasn’t happened much. However, I have had things I needed to figure out. With one particular portion, I knew where I was going and what I wanted to happen, but wasn’t quite sure how to get to it. When that happened, I took a break and did other stuff – gaming, crafts, anything to let my mind conscious mind work on other things. I let the ideas percolate in my subconscious. I don’t push it and I don’t get frustrated because it’s more like a puzzle I need to solve and I’m confident I’ll get to it. Sometimes, I’ll discuss the ideas with a beta reader. I let the ideas come to me when they’re ready. So far this process has worked very well for me.

Right, you might just have a winning formula there. Now, let’s first do a few of the yada yada questions before we move on to the fun. And by yada yada I do not mean boring, or in any other way stupid questions, but just the traditional ones. You know? The ones we secretly all want to know the answer to.

First, what is the title of the book you would like to talk about?

Relics

 Relics 599x900

A very intriguing cover. Did you have difficulty coming up with the title?

It was actually the second title after having completely revised the book to change it from a cliff-hanger ending to a standalone. I decided I wanted to rename it so I could resubmit it to some of the same places and Relics pretty much jumped out at me.

If you would have to change the genre in order to be able to publish it, what would it be then? i.e. would you conform to the market?

It’s already published as of May 1. It never occurred to me to change the genre, since I knew Contemporary Fantasy is a popular one. Even if it hadn’t been popular it’s a genre I enjoy, so I doubt I would have conformed. I’m not usually one who will sacrifice my art/story for the sake of joining the pack. Besides, I have several elements in my book, so it’s already able to cross genres.

Good to hear that. I like a book which allows for more than just one vision.

Right with that out of the way and to confuse you we’ll take the alternative route now.

What don’t you like about writing.

I can’t think of anything I don’t like because I enjoy the entire process. Each step takes me closer to my goal. Waiting for my beta readers to get me their notes is the toughest part for me, but I have a blast with everything else! Once I have their notes, I love fixing things.

What do you do marketing wise and what do you think generates the most attention to your books?

I’m doing everything I can think of to get my name out there within a reasonable budget. I’m too new to have a very good record of what works and what doesn’t, though. Not yet anyway. Online, I’ve had a month-long blog tour with a Giveaway, done a lot of other blogs, joined several groups of writers who promote each other and keep a presence with social media. I’ve also done book signings and readings, newspaper interviews and TV appearances, including a brief interview for a fall TV show (assuming I don’t end up on the cutting room floor.)

Tell me, when you’re on a roll, the muse is in the house and happily guiding your pen, what would seriously drive her/him away?

Maybe because I’m in the middle of a series and I know where I’m going for the most part, this hasn’t been a problem. My characters can get very noisy at times and it’s more a case of making sure I’m working to appease them. I write that first draft very fast.

What does your muse look like and does he/she ever play tricks on you?

I always think of the characters as my muse. They are quite determined I tell their stories. They have surprised me more than once with where things are going. That’s one of the perks and delights for writing organically. I’ll be getting scene down and something completely unexpected will come out, surprising me. I love when that happens.

Do you ever speak to your characters and do you get along all the time?

I don’t speak to them, but they sure aren’t shy about talking to me. We get along great. Although they could let me sleep more.

Is there any food or beverage that is a constant factor in either your books or life?

Yes, Burgers à la Fi and the other usual fare at the Thulukan family barbeques.

That makes me very curious about what’s for supper at the Thulukan table.

Would you be able to come up with a credible excuse why you haven’t written a whole day? Remember, I have to believe it!

The last time I didn’t write at all was while I was out of town. I attended a very special, private gaming conference for a new game due out later this year. There were only about thirty of us invited and the entire weekend was focused on that game. Otherwise, if I’m home, I’m either writing something, somewhere or thinking about what I want to do with the next book.

And finally why would you ever want to live life behind a keyboard slaving over a manuscript?

Ah, but this isn’t slaving to me. It’s finding the pieces of the story that fit together and telling about what happens to characters who are almost real to me. It’s fun and I’m enjoying every step of the process.

Okay now that we have the mandatory questions out of the way, shoot your mouth off. Tell me whatever you want the blab about. But please no cat’s, dogs, or children. Make me laugh, or cry, or even envious. Tell me something none has ever heard before from you. hehehe, love those little dirty secrets, real or make believe. 🙂

I’m working on Book 3 of The Thulukan Chronicles and I’m very excited because the series took a turn in Book 2 that I wasn’t expecting. I doubt my readers will be expecting it either and I hope they like it. At least judging from the reviews, I think people have a preconceived idea where this series is going and I think they are going to be very surprised when they read Book 2 and hopefully Book 3 will be even more startling.

Great news, Maer! Thanks for revealing all of this to me and my readers and again I’m very happy you cleared time in your busy schedule to come over.

Lucy, thanks again so very much for a fun interview!

Okay, the only thing left for me to do is tell the folks where they can find you online. Not to forget where the book is available for download! But while we’re at it, first let’s give a sample of Relics for the readers to get a taste or this book.

Relics – Excerpt

I must have lost track of time because I heard a voice say, “You’re going to turn into a prune.”

“Mhmm,” I answered.

The door opened. A cool draft of air wafted my way, swirling the steam in the shower. I peeked out to see Thulu shutting the door behind him. It was a great view.

“So, have I ever mentioned that I’m a soul reader?”

I moved forward to clear the small waterfall and gave him a suspicious look. One never knew with Thulu.

“No, I don’t think you’ve shared that bit of information.”

“I’m quite good at it, actually.” He sat on one of the side seats and motioned to the one across from him. I moved to the other seat.

Nodding, he continued, “I’m quite surprised you didn’t know this. In some circles, I’m known as the Great and Wonderful Reader of Souls.”

“Oh, really? I’m shocked that this could have escaped my attention all these years.”

“Well, this is the perfect time for me to read yours. Being that you’re all pruney.”

I looked at my hands. They were pretty pruney. I shrugged and held out my hand palm up.

“Oh, honestly, love. Not your hand. Give me your foot.”

I giggled. “Okay you meant ‘sole’ reader.”

He nodded. “Absolutely. The lines in the sole of the foot can tell a lot about a person’s future,” he added wisely.

“Uh-huh, I’ll bite.” I lifted my foot and rested it on his knee. Thulu peered intently at it for a moment.

“Aha! I see that tomorrow your adoring husband will let you sleep in and then cook a wonderful breakfast.”

“Thulu!” I protested. “You can’t predict things that you can make happen. It doesn’t count.”

He looked at me in mock disbelief. “Do you question the Great and Wonderful Reader of Soles?”

“I’m just saying it doesn’t count to say something is going to happen when you know very well you are the one who can make it happen.”

“Does that mean you don’t want breakfast?”

“I didn’t say that.” I backtracked a bit. “Just that you are making a self-fulfilling prophecy.”

He ignored me and peered at the bottom of my foot once again. “I also see in your future –” He looked in my eyes, then back at my foot. “There’s some fog here. No, wait a moment. I don’t think it’s fog. I think – yes, I’m sure of it. I see shower steam.” He looked up again, dimpling at me. “I foresee, in your very near future, fabulous shower sex.”

I watched him closely. He raised an eyebrow.

“Aren’t you going to make a smart-ass comment about more self-fulfilling prophecies?” he asked innocently.

“No, I think I’ll just let you fulfill that prophecy.”

That was fun and certainly enticing to me! Not only to me, because here are some reactions to it.

Praise for Relics

“‘Relics’ is a powerful read which will challenge long-held perceptions of good vs. evil and Light vs. Dark well after the book is finished.” Diane M. Haynes, author of Rift Healer, YA finalist in the Gayle Wilson Award of Excellence.

“In Relics, author Maer Wilson takes everything you think you know about the creatures of the fantasy world and twists it around to create a unique and engaging story.” Constance Philips, author of Resurrecting Harry and Fairyproof.

“The perfect paranormal detective, Wilson’s unique and suspenseful tale pulls you in and doesn’t let go.” Jean Murray, author of Soul Awakened and Soul Reborn.

For those who are captivated by it and want to get a copy, it is published through Cresent Moon Press, but can also be downloaded/found at

Goodreads

Amazon US and UK (for any other country of your choice just substitute the .com/.co.uk for the appropriate one)

Barnes & Noble

The Book Trailer on YouTube

And finally Maer’s Links

Maer’s Website

Maer’s Facebook

Maer’s Twitter

 

5 thoughts on “Featured Author – Maer Wilson

  1. Great interview. Maer, I loved hearing about how you write and what your process is. I love to learn from other writers, and I can’t wait to look into Relics. Just that small snippett had me intrigued. Best of luck to you!

If you like what you just read, please leave a reply.

