Featured Author – Terry Reid

dragonhead2

Terry isn’t a dragon, nor is she a monster. 🙂 Terry is a camera shy, 25 year old female author from Dumfries, in the beautiful and often rainy, south west corner of Scotland. She has self-published two books to date on Kindle and Smashwords. 

 When she is not writing, she’s usually painting, reading, or out running somewhere. Having done two half marathons to date for charity and another one on the way later this year you can say she is a fit woman. It is a hobby. But she’s also a keen gamer, especially on the Xbox 360. Her favourite games at the moment are: Bioshock 2, Bioshock Infinite and Blur. Doesn’t mean much to me, but I know there are more gamers out there who read than there are authors who ‘game’. 🙂

Anyway, welcome Terry. Make yourself comfortable because I have some questions for you.

Can you tell me how you celebrate finally getting that tricky chapter (or para) right?

I can’t say I really celebrate. I usually just keep writing. But that’s only when there’s no vodka in the house.

Okay, sounds like you know how to party. But how do you work around those moments when the muse has gone and done a runner on you?

I stop writing if that happens. I find if you force it, you’ll just end up writing something terrible. I usually take a break, the muse always comes back to me within a couple of days. Sometimes I go running. It’s a great way to think, especially when you’re doing five-seven miles.

Right, you might just have a winning formula there. Now, let’s first do a few of the yada yada questions before we move on to the fun. And by yada yada I do not mean boring, or in any other way stupid questions, but just the traditional ones. You know? The ones we secretly all want to know the answer to.

First, what is the title of the book you would like to talk about?

The book is called Stars and Satellites.

Did you have difficulty coming up with the title?

I can’t say that I did, to be honest.

If you would have to change the genre in order to be able to publish it, what would it be then? i.e. would you conform to the market?

Probably Young Adult.

Right with that out of the way and to confuse you we’ll take the alternative route now.

What don’t you like about writing?

Finding the time to do it. I work full time and sometimes struggle to find an hour to sit down in the evenings to do some for my books.

What do you do marketing wise and what do you think generates the most attention to your books?

I’ll admit that I’ve been a bit lax with marketing my previous books. But that comes down mostly to time because of work. I usually market on Twitter and Facebook, but I am currently looking at other ways to expand.

Tell me, when you’re on a roll, the muse is in the house and happily guiding your pen, what would seriously drive her/him away?

My granddad phoning. If you’ve ever met him, you’d understand.

What does your muse look like and does he/she ever play tricks on you?

I can’t say my muse looks like anything in particular. I just more draw inspiration from the voices in my head. Yes, I know I sound like a crackpot.

Do you ever speak to your characters and do you get along all the time?

I can’t say that I speak to my characters. It would be pointless anyway, as they can’t answer back.

Is there any food or beverage that is a constant factor in either your books or life?

Yes, tea. I’m British, it’s in my blood.

Would you be able to come up with a credible excuse why you haven’t written a whole day? Remember, I have to believe it!

I write every day, so it’s not something that’s ever come up. If I’m not writing my books, I’m writing in my day job. But if I had to make an excuse, I would say that I broke my writing hand or something else lame.

And finally why would you ever want to live life behind a keyboard slaving over a manuscript?

I don’t see it like that. I try to limit how many hours I sit behind a keyboard. I try to have a life beyond the computer. But I enjoy writing, that’s why I do what I do.

Okay now that we have the mandatory questions out of the way, shoot your mouth off. Tell me whatever you want the blab about. But please no cat’s, dogs, or children. Make me laugh, or cry, or even envious. Tell me something none has ever heard before from you. hehehe, love those little dirty secrets, real or make believe. 🙂

I have no dogs, cats or children, so you’re perfectly safe. I could tell you many stories, most outrageous, but all true. But we’d be here forever, so I’ll tell you just one. A friend of mine told me this.

There used to be an old woman where I live, who was in the supermarket one day, a few years ago. Anyway, she was pushing one of those little bags on wheels you get (I can’t remember what they’re called) and security saw her muttering to herself.

This continued around the shop and by the entrance they stopped her, convinced that she had been shoplifting – as she had been putting her hand in and out of the bag the whole time.

Anyway, they opened the bag. And there was a live seagull in it. She had been talking to the bird and feeding it as she went around the supermarket.

Hahahaha, that is a great story.

A nice ending to our little get together. Let me just tell the folks where they can follow, like or find you online.

On Twitter she is known as @AuthorTerryReid

She has a Smashwords profile

Of course she is on Facebook and she has an Author Facebook Page

And, even as shy as she is she has an About Me safely tucked away on AboutMe.com.

Her book is available on  Kindle: Stars and Satellites and on Smashwords

Starscover copy

Hayley Foster had an imaginary friend when she was growing up like most children. Unlike most children though, her imaginery friend returns to her adult life one day unexpectedly. Her imaginery friend Alex, is in fact, her guardian angel. But his sudden reappearance soon turns out to be the first of a series of strange events taking place in the city of Glasgow…

4 thoughts on “Featured Author – Terry Reid

  1. love to see people that young, taking up serious and enduring works like penning a novel. Novel writing has always been a dream for me but sadly all I can create is short stories. the novelists, thus, make me jealous.
    Nice knowing you Terry and wish you all the best.

If you like what you just read, please leave a reply.

