Featured Author – K.b. Cash

stained (2)K.b. Cash joins me today to reveal a bit about himsef and some interesting things about his writing.

Welcome Blake, make yourself comfortable, because you are going to be here a while. 🙂 Won’t let you go until you’ve fully satisfied my curiosity. So let’s not waste anymore time. Here’s a coffee and start talking! 🙂

K “blake” Cash is a traveler.

You mean a ‘traveller’ traveller, like a Romany Gypsy? Or just someone who’s been around the globe?

Having lived at fifty addresses and been employed by twenty companies in his fifty four years, he has seen much, and remembered most, of the United States. He is not one for labels, other than “Explorer”, as he will (and has) try anything. He has been a hippie and a government agent, a dog catcher and an executive.

Okay, a travelling man. Not a gypsy. 🙂

Following a successful career in  electronics and the death of his third wife, he decided to retire for a bit and write. Thus far he has published “Surviving” (ISBN-13: 978-1463438890) and now writes a daily blog, and is working part time on a organic dairy farm in New Jersey.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Right, now we know a little about you, but I have more questions. 🙂

Can you tell me how you celebrate finally getting that tricky chapter (or para) right?

This is going to sound boring, but I just start the next chapter.

Not boring at all, it just sounds like you know how to move ahead. But how do you work around those moments when the muse has gone and done a runner on you? 

That’s when I lose the boring part. Music and alcohol, in equal proportions, while sitting in the yard, day or night.

Right, you might just have a winning formula there. Now, let’s first do a few of the yada yada questions before we move on to the fun. And by yada yada I do not mean boring, or in any other way stupid questions, but just the traditional ones. You know? The ones we secretly all want to know the answer to.

First, what is the title of the book you would like to talk about?

Surviving

?????

Did you have difficulty coming up with the title?

I had trouble staying with it. Just before publishing I read the final proof and almost tossed it, it came across at that moment as too mushy.

If you would have to change the genre in order to be able to publish it, what would it be then? i.e. would you conform to the market?

On this book of course not, but in general, never. Writing is more Author than Audience, who knows what the market will be after I’m dead?

Right with that out of the way and to confuse you we’ll take the alternative route now.

What don’t you like about writing.

Absolutely nothing. My wife would prefer that the income was more stable.

What do you do marketing wise and what do you think generates the most attention to your books?

Overtly, I publish articles referring to the book in appropriate periodicals (for instance this one was in the Journal of Surgery at the hospital we used, and the Pancreatic Cancer Action Network). Covertly, I leave copies with the inflight magazines on airplanes.

Tell me, when you’re on a roll, the muse is in the house and happily guiding your pen, what would seriously drive her/him away?

Gunshots.

What does your muse look like and does he/she ever play tricks on you?

Lately my muse is a “sturdy”(in all the nicest ways) Belgian woman who often consists only as a smile. She won’t admit it and I’m not supposed to be aware, but yes, she’s always playing tricks.

Do you ever speak to your characters and do you get along all the time?

I do speak to them, and when I’m writing fiction they speak to me. No, we don’t always get along, but I’m the one with the pen.

Is there any food or beverage that is a constant factor in either your books or life?

Nothing is constant, other than the irreducible concept of “good” food.

Would you be able to come up with a credible excuse why you haven’t written a whole day? Remember, I have to believe it!

To me, writing is more than the act of putting words together on paper, it includes gathering the experiences and thoughts that I write about, so I’m always “writing”. You can use that one too ;~)

And finally why would you ever want to live life behind a keyboard slaving over a manuscript?

It’s so much better than many of the other ways I’ve lived my life.

Okay now that we have the mandatory questions out of the way, shoot your mouth off. Tell me whatever you want the blab about. But please no cat’s, dogs, or children. Make me laugh, or cry, or even envious. Tell me something none has ever heard before from you. hehehe, love those little dirty secrets, real or make believe. 🙂

I’m a curious person in many ways. That is to say, I am curious about everything, and I’m a little odd. There is a popular adage about old soldiers, and it applies to old spooks as well. “Fading away” means that if you have the opportunity to become old, you should rest on your laurels. I was doing that rather well, happy to be a face in the crowd, forgotten by history. I credit my hippie upbringing, I had never sought fame or fortune (if I had, I would have avoided the getting old part altogether). Then cancer kind of threw a wrench into things. Now some days I regret getting older, fading away isn’t all it’s cracked up to be, and the world is turning into an interesting stage. The annoying part is that I haven’t really gotten older, but society has definitely gotten younger. I cruise along until the conversation turns to children, and I end up admitting that my children are older than most of the guests. Then suddenly I’m too old to be relevant. I don’t blame them, if most people my age weren’t so boring I’d be hanging out with them. On the other hand, having answered your questions, I am a little boring.

No! You’re most definitely not! I think you’re a great person and most certainly very interesting. 

With this last snippet of information this interview has come to an end. The only thing for me to announce is where Blake is to be found online.

His daily Blog: http://kblakecash.wordpress.com/ and his original blog: http://blakeandemma.mysite.com/index.html

Twitter: @KBlakeCash

Linked In: http://www.linkedin.com/profile/view?id=96735804&trk=nav_responsive_tab_profile

FaceBook: Kb Cash

His book

?????

is available at:

Amazon.com

Barnes and Noble

Or stop by me on the street, I usually have a few copies in my bag. 

6 thoughts on “Featured Author – K.b. Cash

  1. Lucy, you are the master interviewer. No one does an interview like you. I’m intrigued by K.B. Cash. What a nice man. I love that cow picture, by the way. Haha! I just have to say that K.B. your are not boring, and being a little odd equals interesting, and that’s cool. 😀

If you like what you just read, please leave a reply.

