Featured Author – Jackson Baer

Jackson

Hello Jackson 🙂

Thanks for joining me today and shed some light on the who and why of you and your book. I’d like to offer you a cool glass of water and some chocolate doughnuts. Are you comfortable? 

Yes, thank you.

Great, then get ready because I have some questions for you.

Can you tell me how you celebrate finally getting that tricky chapter (or para) right?

I celebrate by reading it to my wife 🙂 There’s no greater feeling than writing something that makes the reader want to keep reading, to find out what happens next.

Okay, sounds like you know how to handle that part. But how do you work around those moments when the muse has gone and done a runner on you?

I write down ideas when I can’t write the actual story. Also, I read. Reading is the best inspiration for writing, alongside real life.

Right, you might just have a winning formula there. Now, let’s first do a few of the yada yada questions before we move on to the fun. And by yada yada I do not mean boring, or in any other way stupid questions, but just the traditional ones. You know? The ones we secretly all want to know the answer to.

First, what is the title of the book you would like to talk about?

“The Earth Bleeds Red”

my debut novel, due September 2013

(Pandamoon Publishing).

Did you have difficulty coming up with the title?

Actually no, It came to me almost immediately after I decided to write the novel. I got lucky 🙂

If you would have to change the genre in order to be able to publish it, what would it be then? i.e. would you conform to the market?

In short- no. This book fits with the literary fiction genre but also has a large amount of suspense built in and a mystery throughout. It’s a deep novel that I couldn’t change to another genre and still be proud of what I wrote.

Right, with that out of the way and to confuse you we’ll take the alternative route now.

What don’t you like about writing.

I like everything about writing but life would be easier if I didn’t have to be concerned with promotion.

What do you do marketing wise and what do you think generates the most attention to your books?

I’m active on Twitter, Facebook, and my blog. I’ve built a lot of author contacts as well and interview other authors on my blog. Also, my publisher has big plans for marketing. They are working on the book trailer now as well as reviews and other things like that.

Tell me, when you’re on a roll, the muse is in the house and happily guiding your pen, what would seriously drive her/him away?

My kids asking me for anything 🙂

What does your muse look like and does he/she ever play tricks on you?

My muse comes out late at night, usually with my headphones in, and often is guided by being shut off from the outside world.

Do you ever speak to your characters and do you get along all the time?

I think that most of my characters have run through my dreams as well as through my mind during the course of a normal day. While I don’t speak to them out loud, I do speak about them to my wife and oldest daughter.

Is there any food or beverage that is a constant factor in either your books or life?

I drink a lot of water and occasionally will drink an IPA while writing. My favorite snack is chocolate donuts, unfortunately.

Would you be able to come up with a credible excuse why you haven’t written a whole day? Remember, I have to believe it!

Yes, moving across the country, which is what I’m doing now 🙂

Ah, a most challenging endeavour, hope you are moving to a great new writing spot. 🙂

And finally why would you ever want to live life behind a keyboard slaving over a manuscript?

Writing keeps me sane and opens up this entire world that otherwise would not exist. Reading novels and writing novels are two things that bring me peace and happiness, second only to my family.

Okay now that we have the mandatory questions out of the way, shoot your mouth off. Tell me whatever you want the blab about. But please no cat’s, dogs, or children. Make me laugh, or cry, or even envious. Tell me something no one has ever heard before from you. hehehe, love those little dirty secrets, real or make believe. 🙂

My debut novel is coming out in less than three months and I’m more than halfway done with my second novel. I’ve also got two short stories that are soon to be published in The Rusty Nail magazine. So, I’m excited to see how the rest of 2013 plays out. Oh yeah, I’ve written 130,000 words in the past four months.

Jackson, thank you for coming over and taking the time to do this interview with me. I hope your move is going as planned and you’ll be settled in no time.

Do come back when the release is there and let me do a promo on the book for you too. 🙂

The only thing left for me now is giving the readers links to places where you can be found and followed online.

www.JacksonPaulBaer.com
www.facebook.com/JacksonPaulBaer
www.twitter.com/JacksonPaulBaer
www.goodreads.com/JacksonPaulBaer

And here is the link that describes the book: http://jacksonpaulbaer.com/the-earth-bleeds-red/

10 thoughts on “Featured Author – Jackson Baer

  1. Jackson is such a sweet, kind person as well as a very talented writer. His new book reads fascinating. Thank you Lucy for another great interview. I’m so glad to know Jackson a little better. 😀

If you like what you just read, please leave a reply.

