Featured Author – Katherine Lowry Logan

Logan-small

I’m very pleased to feature the talented Katherine Lowry Logan today. She will surprise you with what she reveals to us. 

Make yourself comfortable for a couple of moments of very pleasurable reading. 

Hello Katherine. Thanks for freeing up some of your precious time to answer a few of my questions. Have a coffee and some chocolate brownies. Ready? Okay, here we go.

First, can I tell the readers a bit about you as a person? 

Sure, go ahead.

Thanks Katherine. Correct me if at any point I get something wrong, okay?

Katherine was born the second of five children to a Presbyterian Pastor and a stay-at-home mom. She came of age in Louisville, Kentucky, during the tumultuous 1960s. Sit-in’s, bra burnings, the sexual revolution, pot, campus unrest, and the Vietnam War were brought vividly to life by Walter Cronkite on the CBS Evening News. While the rest of the world seemed to spin out of control, Katherine spun stories in her head.
College, marriage, and two daughters kept the muse simmering on the back burner. She worked as a real estate and tax paralegal in a law firm in central Kentucky, and was actively involved in the life of her community. She created and chaired the “Go For the Gold Celebration,” that spotlighted the achievements of high school seniors; developed afternoon programs to teach Spanish and dance to elementary students; co-founded the Midway Summer Dinner Theatre; and was Chair of the Woodford County Junior Miss Program.

It wasn’t until the nest was empty that she sat down to write full-time. Life, as it often does, brought tragedy and a screeching halt to her writing. Her husband, best friend, and lover died unexpectedly.

That must have been awful. How did you recover from this tragedy?

Healing was a slow process, but two weddings and five grandchildren have a way of putting life into perspective. Following the birth of my second grandchild, I found my writer’s voice again.

Good to hear that and I’m glad you’ve managed to find peace of mind after this life-altering event.  

Can you tell us something surprising about your current life?

When I get away from the computer and relax, I read, and I read in a variety of genres—fantasy, mystery, suspense, and of course, romance. When the weather is nice, I enjoy evenings on patios at local restaurants sharing dinner and a glass of wine with family and friends. But probably most of all, I relax or de-stress by running. It has become a passion late in life, and I love it because I don’t ponder or worry or plan. I just run because it feels good.

Great! 

Do you have certain rituals, or a special place to write? And do you use longhand?

No, and no. I only need a computer/laptop. I can write anywhere.

What is the title of the book you would like to introduce to the readers today?

The Ruby Brooch, Book 1 of the Celtic Brooch Trilogy

cover Brooch

Available at Amazon

How did you come up with this book and its title?

I set out to write a time travel that took place in the American west in the mid-1800s. The story evolved as I wrote by “the seat of my pants.” When I realized I needed a time travel method, I decided to use a ruby brooch based on a bracelet I have. The bracelet has an interesting past. It was an original design made for a woman in the 1970s. In the 1980s, she paid her CPA’s bill with the bracelet. In the early 1990s, the CPA’s widow paid her legal bill with the bracelet. After the death of my husband, the lawyer in the story, I ended up with the bracelet. The bracelet is now memorialized by the book. Now, I could never sell it or give it away.

Now that is a truly interesting snippet of information!

Is there a quote you’d like to share with us that’s tied to the book?

And the day came when the risk to remain tight in a bud was more painful than the risk it took to blossom. ~Anaïs Nin

I love Anais Nin! How surprising you chose this one, it says so much about you and the book!

Did you set out to self-publish it immediately after finishing?

I went the query agent/editor route and had full requests from editors. They passed after reading the story telling me westerns and time travels were hard sells. THE RUBY BROOCH isn’t a western. There is no good vs. evil battle in the story. It’s a coming-of-age story, a quest story, and a mystery all woven together— Little House on the Prairie meets Somewhere in Time.

In early 2012, I decided to self-publish and released THE RUBY BROOCH on March 31, the day I ran my first half-marathon. A day I’ll never forget.

It took almost 15 years from the day I wrote the first word to the day THE RUBY BROOCH was published. Many authors keep their first books locked away, but I believed in the story and was determined to see it published. I probably wrote a million words (a quarter million on the first chapter). I also took dozens of on-line writing classes and had several fantastic teachers. Mary Buckham, Laurie Schnebly Campbell, Margie Lawson, and C.J. Lyons top the list.

And now, a year later, you’re a celebrated author, high on many lists important to authors. Let me direct the readers to a few of those on Goodreads.

What do you like most about being an author?

Attending events where I can meet and talk with readers. Second to that, is meeting readers on-line. I have developed friendships with people all around the world.

And what don’t you like?

I lived in a happy writer’s world prior to publication, writing and talking with other writers. I wasn’t concerned with marketing because I had nothing to market. I have since learned that an author needs a platform in place long before there’s a book to promote. Now I split my time between writing and marketing. Like many others, I find social networking a challenge. There are many days when I think Twitter and Facebook control me, not the other way around.

But still we need social media. What is the one thing that you think brought you the most readers? 

I have almost 55,000 Twitter followers and spend most of social networking time on Twitter. I believe the majority of my readers find out about my book on Twitter.

Thank you for sharing all of this, Katherine. I do hope when you have more news or another book you will remember me and come back.

For now I would like to share with the readers short synopsis or The Ruby Brooch, followed by where you and the book can be found.

Synopsis

From the white-plank fenced pastures of Lexington, Kentucky, to the beautiful Bay of San Francisco, The Ruby Brooch, a saga steeped in family tradition and mystery, follows a young woman’s journey as she searches for the truth on the other side of the heather-scented mist.

As the lone survivor of a car crash that killed her parents, paramedic Kit MacKlenna makes a startling discovery that further alters her life. A faded letter and a well-worn journal reveal that she was abandoned as a baby and the only clues to her identity are a blood-splattered shawl, a locket that bears a portrait of a nineteenth-century man, and a Celtic brooch with mystical powers.

After studying the journal, she decides to continue her father’s twenty-year search for her identity and solve her birth parents’ murders. For safety reasons, she adopts the persona of the Widow MacKlenna. Although a perfect cover for her eccentric behavior, she will be forced to lie and MacKlennas don’t lie, or so she thought. Finally, dressed and packed, she utters the incantation inscribed on the ancient stone and is swept back to Independence, Missouri, in the year 1852.

Upon arriving in the past, she meets Cullen Montgomery, an egotistical Scotsman with a penchant for seducing widows. The San Francisco-bound lawyer happens to resemble the ghost who has haunted Kit since childhood. She quickly finds the Bach-humming, Shakespeare-quoting man to be over-bearing and his intolerance for liars threatens her quest.

If she can survive his accusations and resist his tempting embrace for seventy-three days, she might be able to find the answers she seeks, and return home to a new life without changing history or leaving her heart on the other side of time.

The Ruby Brooch on Amazon

Website Katherine Lowry Logan

Katherine’s Blog

Facebook page

Follow Katherine on TwitterLinkedInPinterest, and Shelfari

Of course Katherine is also on Goodreads and Google+

And that wraps it up. Thanks again Katherine and I do hope you will want to return when you have a new release.

8 thoughts on “Featured Author – Katherine Lowry Logan

  1. Thank you for a wonderful post here Lucy… It is always nice to get to know just a little bit more about the names and faces we see almost daily in the social-media arena and this was a very nice awareness to be had… ✨ And thank you Katherine for you openness and look at your world… 🌟

    • I felt honoured Katherine allowed me to interview and feature her. And yes, it is very nice to get to know a little more about those people so prominent on the social media sites.
      Thank you Joseph for stopping by and leaving your reply.

  2. Terrific interview and my heart goes out to Katherine and her loss. Suffice to say I know the gamut of emotions she had to fight through and return to her writing. When I started reading the synopsis, I thought that isn’t what is classified as a Western. Then I read about the Time Travel. I didn’t use Time Travel, but I could (but won’t) go into the same rejection replies. Best of Luck! Prove the agents and traditional publisher wrong!

      • It’s right on my list too! reckon my backlog will have to join me in the hereafter – got piles! My next three are Marian, The Hangman’s Apprentice, the either Red Gone Bad or Bound – not sure which to read first. 😀

      • Hahaha, great Jo dearie! I actually have posted on teh blog I’m not accepting requests to review until october. That gives me some time to read at least the pile I promised reviews on. But the leisurely read just for me? That list keeps growing. 🙂

If you like what you just read, please leave a reply.

