Featured Author – Natasha Johnstone

Natasha

Hi Natasha! Thanks for freeing up the time to hop over and answer some of the questions I have for you. Have a drink, there’s coffee, thee and booze. 🙂 Nibble on some chocolate and prepare to be grilled.

Can you tell me how you celebrate finally getting that tricky chapter (or para) right?

I screamed like a little girl, did a little jig and carried on writing.

Okay, sounds like you know how to party. But how do you work around those moments when the muse has gone and done a runner on you?

I sleep. Murphy’s law I always think of the best things when I am meant to be going to bed to get up for work the next day. In the end I get up and write and end up looking like a zombie at work the next day.

Right, you might just have a winning formula there. Now, let’s first do a few of the yada yada questions before we move on to the fun. And by yada yada I do not mean boring, or in any other way stupid questions, but just the traditional ones. You know? The ones we secretly all want to know the answer to.

First, what is the title of the book you would like to talk about?

Capital D

Capital D cover test

Did you have difficulty coming up with the title?

Nope…it just dawned on me (right before I went to sleep as usual) From there I had a clear vision for the whole series.

If you would have to change the genre in order to be able to publish it, what would it be then? i.e. would you conform to the market?

Action Adventure.

Oh, action and adventure. Got to love that!

Right, with that out of the way and to confuse you we’ll take the alternative route now.

What don’t you like about writing.

The amount of work involved afterwards.

What do you do marketing wise and what do you think generates the most attention to your books?

I have done everything. Posted and tweeted on an hourly basis, entered competitions, researched blogs, platforms and author pages. Got my book in every free sales platform known to man and then some! In the end what worked was word of mouth. (who knew?)

Tell me, when you’re on a roll, the muse is in the house and happily guiding your pen, what would seriously drive her/him away?

The word “Mom” in a long whiney tone normally does it. Boom! it’s gone.

What does your muse look like and does he/she ever play tricks on you?

My muse is a book I have read. Characters I have fallen in love with in movies, music artisist performing a song and paintings that speak to me. They are all over the place and never go away for long.

Do you ever speak to your characters and do you get along all the time?

Yes! and we disagree all the time. Esspecially Taber. I hate how he is so logical yet he can be so temperamental.

Is there any food or beverage that is a constant factor in either your books or life?

Coca Cola! everyday, all day, but not in my books.

Would you be able to come up with a credible excuse why you haven’t written a whole day? Remember, I have to believe it!

Wowza! um… I work full time, clean & run my own household, look after two children and Oh! I am too busy promoting my first book.

And finally why would you ever want to live life behind a keyboard slaving over a manuscript?

To me it’s not a manuscript. It’s not a virtual piece of paper. It is a part of my heart. A slice of my soul and years and years of stories dreamt about as a lonely, fat teenager.

Okay, now that we have the mandatory questions out of the way, shoot your mouth off. Tell me whatever you want the blab about. But please no cat’s, dogs, or children. Make me laugh, or cry, or even envious. Tell me something none has ever heard before from you. hehehe, love those little dirty secrets, real or make believe. 🙂

I was born on Christmas day 1974. No I am not an Xmas baby. I am an Xmas Diva! I demand my two pressies and by golly they had better be good. I wait all damn year for them! I live in South Africa, the violent crime capital of the world, so you bet your ass I am one tough cookie. Fortunately life to me in a third world country is actually pretty darn good. It is even better now that my book has taken off. I shall be going to Spain in June and straight after that Paris in July. October I’ll be rocking it at the Frankfurt Book expo and in December the greatest city in the world, the mother of artistic expression, the mecca of buzz, the Big Apple…New York City. My book is taking places and I am so ready to meet the fans and the friends I have made in my journey so far. 

Natasha! That is great! I love hearing success stories like that. It shows when you have a good story to tell, the most wonderful things can happen. Especially when you aim to make it even better.

You know what? Let’s give the readers the synopsis to read. I bet they’d like that.

Synopsis Capital D

Silka Fontein returns to her home town after disappearing 15 years ago, shortly after her graduation after party. She reunites with Taber Blake. Taber and Silka grew up together and reconnect after all those years apart. Their unexpected attraction to one another and their will power is tested when a series of events turn their lives upside down. Her secrets have put her life in danger and his secrets are lethal. Together they face various kinds of threats and danger but in the process discover the truth about each other. Will their chemistry and friendship be enough to sustain them through it all?

Men will love the action adventure and woman the erotic love story based on timeless topics with lots of twists! Capital D is the first book in a series of four books.

For those who are captivated by this teaser, here’s where you can buy the book:

Adult version Kobo, Scribd, BookTangoLulu, and from the author

PG-Rated Version Lulu and from the author

Now for a little about Natasha Johnstone. 🙂

She considers herself to be a Blogger for life and an Author of life. As a fat teenager her social calendar was fully booked with reading engagements rather than parties and thus her love for the written word was born. Through the years she wrote thousands of novels (in her head). Then in December 2012 when her hectic life was brought to a complete standstill after an operation, she started writing her stories which are available in both adult and PG rated versions. 

Should you want to follow Natasha, she is all over the place 🙂 but to help you find her, here are some links:

Facebook

Twitter

Her blog

Her site

Google+

She’s on Goodreads

LinkedIn

And finally the Writerscafe

Both Natasha and I look forward to hearing from you. So don’t be shy and let us know what you think about this feature and most of all her book. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Featured Author – Natasha Johnstone

If you like what you just read, please leave a reply.

