Luna Sanguis Tour and Giveaway!

I have the good fortune of being one of the Bigfoot Babes and having Simon himself come over to answer a few questions of mine. 🙂

This tour is to celebrate the launch of his new book Luna Sanguis but he will reveal not only bits of the book but also show himself. The man behind the books, the person who is the author. 

Hi Simon, welcome, make yourself at home. Have a drink and some nibbles. 

Simon

What was your life like before a publisher took up your first novel?

More frustrating than threading a needle with a frayed piece of rope. Getting as far as a salmon up the Hoover Dam.

And how did you become an ASMSG member?

I got the attention of one, R Grey Hoover and one day there it was – an invite to join his select covey of authors.

Do you think being in the ASMSG helped your work getting widely known?

I have no doubt about it, Lucy. So many authors have shown me so much love and friendship, especially my Bigfoot Babes. Wink! Lucy blushes!

Oh, Simon! *Blushes even more*

Have you ever written anything else, or have you always only written novels?

I wrote screenplays for some time before novels, Lucy. I even had actors such as Gary Oldman and Gerard Butler read my scripts and accept lead roles. That was a real hoot, shame nothing came of it though, but one can never tell what’s around the corner – Old Indian Legend tells us man who always knows what’s around corner is one dull dude.

How long did it take you from first draft to getting a publishing contract?

7 long years! I felt like a Status Quo fan – banging my head with no hope of reprieve.

What is the title of the book that brought the change?

Nobody Loves a Bigfoot Like a Bigfoot Babe – it’s a line from the chorus to our Bigfoot song. Wanna hear it? Okay, I don’t really have a good voice anyway.

Is Luna Sanguis also traditionally published?

I decided to go the self publish route with Luna Sanguis.

Oh, why did you self-publish this one?

I wanted more control of the content and the pricing of my book. I must admit I was quite a nervous Nelly at first, but the support of my wonderful friends has been so awesome and nurturing.

Did you have difficulty coming up with the title?

Sure did, Lucy. Let me see … it started off as Blood Bath then Bathed In Blood – Eternal – Eternally Yours – Eternally Yours Part 1 The Blood Hunt and then our friend Travis helped me out and we came up with Luna Sanguis – Blood Moon.

If you would have to change the genre in order to be able to publish it, what would it be then? i.e. would you conform to the market?

Oh my, you mean YA it up? That would be a terrible shame as none of the characters are YA. I guess it could go Romance, but that would ruin the suspense. I would probably shelve it rather than change it to fit someone else’s vision.

Right with that out of the way and to confuse you we’ll take the alternative route now. If you have a bit more time for me …?

Sure thing Lucy, just one small thing – a beer would be nice – thirsty with all this chitchat.

What! You’ve finished the other one all ready? Well, that was to be expected in this heat and chatting away like we are. 🙂 Here you go simon, a nice, cold one.

Can you tell me how you celebrate finally getting that tricky chapter (or para) right?

get up and do a Bigfoot Boogie.

Sounds like you know how to party. But how do you work around those moments when the muse has gone and done a runner on you?

I drop what I’m doing and go for a walk on the beach, let the sea breeze clear the crap from my brain. It usually works. If it doesn’t I work on something else.

Right, you might just have a winning formula there. Now, let’s first do a few of the yada yada questions before we move on to the fun. And by yada yada I do not mean boring, or in any other way stupid questions, but just the traditional ones. You know? The ones we secretly all want to know the answer to. 

What don’t you like about writing.

It keeps me from doing the fun stuff I used to do, but less TV = more productivity. It is an effort to juggle my life with writing schedules.

What do you do marketing wise and what do you think generates the most attention to your books?

I guess I’m the same as everyone else, Lucy, tweeting, facebooking, joining events, helping other authors, voting on Goodreads lists and at the top getting great reviews. Without great reviews there’s little chance of success.

Tell me, when you’re on a roll, the muse is in the house and happily guiding your pen, what would seriously drive her/him away?

My Bigfoot Babe with a bowl of cherries. Sorry Lucy, couldn’t resist that one. Sleep is the one thing that screws with my muse.

For a moment I thought you were going to say “my Bifgoot Babes IN a bowl of cherries.

What does your muse look like and does he/she ever play tricks on you?

My muse is my wife and she is such a little cutie, offering all kinds of help, ideas, starting next projects for me to catch up on. And bless her, she never plays tricks.

Do you ever speak to your characters and do you get along all the time?

I am Phantom Bigfoot therefore I am my characters, I know what they’re up to, most of the time, but every now and then they can get out of hand. Best to let them get on with it.

Is there any food or beverage that is a constant factor in either your books or life?

In Bigfoot the beverage, apart from coffee, is tequila or strong beer, the micro brew kind. At home it’s tea, herbal tea, red wine and nuts followed by veggie salads or our fave – broccoli bake – layers of broccoli, garlic, toasted tomatoes and cheese baked with Italian bread. Yummy!

Would you be able to come up with a credible excuse why you haven’t written a whole day? Remember, I have to believe it! 

Most days are spent marketing at least 3 hours answering messages, another 4 hours helping my mother in law who is seriously disabled, I do managed 1k words a day, sometimes a lot more, but when life gets me down, say prolonged hospital visits (a common occurrence) or my PTSD kicks in (also a common occurrence) I give up and take it easy. No good writing when the demons are screaming in my brain.

And finally why would you ever want to live life behind a keyboard slaving over a manuscript?

It’s better than slaving for a pittance with a big uncaring company that doesn’t give a crap about your health, safety and only cares about their shareholders. At least I am my own boss, well apart from my muse.

Okay now that we have the mandatory questions out of the way, shoot your mouth off. Tell me whatever you want the blab about. But please no cat’s, dogs, or children. Make me laugh, or cry, or even envious. Tell me something none has ever heard before from you. hehehe, love those little dirty secrets, real or make believe. 🙂

Phantom Bigfoot along with his lovely muse attended the very last Great British Beer Festival at Alexandra Palace, London. It was an all day event so we had to pace ourselves on half pints of such delights as Marston’s Pedigree and Wadworth’s 6X. About half way through a gang of us sat in the central rose gardens for a break from sampling. My muse turned and not more than two inches away from her face was this guy unzipping himself. He was so drunk he pissed into the roses as my muse scurried away. To everyone’s joy and hysterical laughter ensued, the dirty pisser fell face first into the rose beds with his dick still in hand. He remained there all day and into the night as no one dared drag him out for he would surely have been torn to ribbons. Heheheheheh! I used that scene in my screenplay Flip Side.

Hahahahaha, that is without doubt one of the funniest stories I’ve heard in a while! Thanks Simon. *wipes tears of laughter from her cheeks* 

Well, sad to say it looks like we’re all done Lucy. Thanks for the beer and the chat. Until we meet again. Mwah!

Yeah, Simon, I’m sad to see the back of you, but I know you have to move on, there are more stops on the tour and you have commitments elsewhere. I’m glad you came and until we meet again. 🙂 (I’ll keep the beer cold)

I’ll just let the folks know where to find you before we move on to what this tour is all about.

Simon’s new novel Luna Sanguis is released July 15th and the sequel to Nobody Loves a Bigfoot Likea Bigfoot Babe is being penned as you read this. If you like to follow Simon, these are the places he hangs around.

http://facebook.com/simondokillwriter

http://twitter.com/simonokill/

http://tassyoneill.wix.com/the-phantom-bigfoot

http://goodreads.com/tassyoneill

https://www.amazon.com/author/simondokillwriter

And now without further ado. *Drumroll*

LUNA SANGUIS

Available at Amazon US, UK, and Smashwords.

I bet you are curious about the book. So let me give you a peek of it, before we move on to the Rafflecopter.

Paris 1925

A young woman is nearing her Eternal Vampire state as her birthday approaches. She is held captive by the hybrid vampire she created and slowly drained of her pure blood to keep his addiction in check. She outwits him and escapes to a chateau in the hope of reaching maturity. But he follows her unmistakable scent and massacres all that dare protect his supply of Eternal blood.

She awakens in a tiny room trapped and defenseless with amnesia, but something deep in her subconscious yearns to be set free by the next full moon – the date of her Eternal Birthday.

Her true self, Eternal, emerges in brief flashes of awareness to protect her from the horrors of this terrifying prison. Desperate, she forges an alliance with her true love, a gorgeous young doctor treating her.

But her nemesis is out there somewhere, relishing the hunt for her blood – and nothing will stop him from becoming Eternal.

With 234 pages it is a nice length to take along on your upcoming holiday if you like Paranormal Romance.

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

If you like what you just read, please leave a reply.

