Featured Author – Charlotte LR Kane

Hello Charlotte and welcome to my blog. Have a seat, want something cold to drink? And a nice bowl of ice cold melon? Nice, eh?

Okay, let’s get this puppy on the road and do what you came over for. But first show us your face. What does Charlotte look like?

charlotte

It looks like you had a good time there. πŸ™‚

No, can you tell me how you celebrate finally getting that tricky chapter (or para) right?

Sigh of relief that it went well. There is always that one part that causes you so much hassle, I like to scream at them.

How do you work around those moments when the muse has gone and done a runner on you?

I let it pass, I have been experiencing it for a while in my big novels so I am working on some shorter stories to try and get back into the swing of it.

Right, you must try different things if you get nowhere you want, I think you have a winning formula there. Now, let’s first do a few of the yada yada questions before we move on to the fun. And by yada yada I do not mean boring, or in any other way stupid questions, but just the traditional ones. You know? The ones we secretly all want to know the answer to.

First, what is the title of the book you would like to talk about?

I Do.

cover I Do

Available at Amazon UK and US

My third book, but also the one that is just one story instead of a collection of stories. I Do is about a woman who was murdered by her fiance as she walked down the aisle to be married in 1963. In the present day, 2013, a woman named Bryony is due to be married and when attends a venue, an old castle, she is possessed by the old ghost. The ghost tells Bryony that she has to help her to move on, and when Bryony continues with the wedding the ghost begins to get angry and tries to sabotage the wedding. Will Bryony be able to help the ghost move on or will Bryony’s wedding be cancelled?

Did you have difficulty coming up with the title?

Not really. To be honest it’s too simple but it works.

If you would have to change the genre in order to be able to publish it, what would it be then? i.e. would you conform to the market?

If I was promised it would sell more then I would think about changing. Genre isn’t too big an issue but if they wanted to change the plot or character then I would have to rethink that.

Right, with that out of the way and to confuse you we’ll take the alternative route now.

What don’t you like about writing.

Editing. Usually after the first time I struggle to bring myself to do more but I have learnt the hard way that it needs doing.

What do you do marketing wise and what do you think generates the most attention to your books?

I use Blog, Facebook and Twitter. I have done some bookmarks but its getting the confidence to get out there and I dont have that. Social Network is the best option so far as you can reach so many people.

Tell me, when you’re on a roll, the muse is in the house and happily guiding your pen, what would seriously drive her/him away?

A hot guy! Only joking, sorta. Usually work – that is the biggest driver at the moment. I spend all day typing and so at times I am too exhausted to type or concentrate when I am at home.

Is there any food or beverage that is a constant factor in either your books or life?

Coffee. Needs must. Used to be chocolate until I tried to be healthier. Sigh that doesnt seem to be working so well.

Would you be able to come up with a credible excuse why you haven’t written a whole day? Remember, I have to believe it!

I havent written in weeks if truth be told and its because I lack inspiration and motivation from work. Until recently I held two jobs and that was difficult. But I am slowly getting back into it.

And finally why would you ever want to live life behind a keyboard slaving over a manuscript?

It’s an escape from reality and I like that I can control the world, the situations and the people.

Okay now that we have the mandatory questions out of the way, shoot your mouth off. Tell me whatever you want the blab about. But please no cats, dogs, or children. Make me laugh, or cry, or even envious. Tell me something none has ever heard before from you. hehehe, love those little dirty secrets, real or make believe. πŸ™‚

I dont have any cats, dogs or children =). I am a bit of a geek – I love comic cons. I have only been to two so far but I felt as if I fitted in more than anywhere else. I am an archer albeit I am not a very good one.

archer2

I love archery!

Thanks for sharing all of this with us Charlotte. πŸ™‚ I do hope you had fun at my place and will want to come back when you have more news to share.

You can find Charlotte on Facebook should you want to follow her on her journey through her writing life.

2 thoughts on “Featured Author – Charlotte LR Kane

If you like what you just read, please leave a reply.

