Featured Author – Jon Pew

IMG_1283

The author of Genesis, Jon Pew, joins me on my blog today.

Hi Jon, what can you tell the folks about you, the person behind the author?

I was born in Tucson Arizona and am a proud father of three awesome kids and married to the most beautiful woman born. I am a life-long fan of entertainment in all its forms. I love watching movies, reading and listening to books and spending time with my family.

I am a proud soldier in the United States Army and have been an Entrepreneur most of my life. I have tried my hand in many small businesses over the years. I joined the service in 2009 and wrote my first novel in 2010.

My overall philosophy in life is Play to Win, so if you have a dream be proactive and go get it!

That is a great philosophy!

But you are here to be grilled. Erm, I mean put on the rack. Yikes! I mean interviewed about your book. 🙂 So, Shoot! *Lucy ducks under the table as Jon pulls out his gun and waves it around* I mean, start talking! 

Do you have a day job, or does being an author is your day job?

I’m a soldier with the US Army. I am a crew chief on the CH-47F Chinook.

Is there a motto guiding you?

My motto has always been Play to Win!! I came up with that when I played and coached High School basketball, I hated when people played not to lose instead of playing to win. Could be a long explanation, but that’ll do for now.

Is there anything you like to do besides writing?

I love RC planes, sports with my kids, and playing with my dogs.

Can you tell me how you celebrate finally getting that tricky chapter (or para) right?

I’m a huge dinner and a movie buff, so usually I grab the wife and head out for dinner.

What is the title of the book you would like to talk about?

Twisted Souls, part two of the Griffin Chronicles.

Did you have difficulty coming up with the title?

I did, it was hard to figure out what title embodied the plot of the book, but I think I did it right.

Can you give us a small peek into the book?

Well this is part 2 of the series, so, in Part one my main character Griffin is, a Las Vegas king pin of crime and he is killed by his lead “girl” after a hard job, and when he comes back to life he can see Angels and Demons I call Shadows. He is in the center of the struggle between God and Evil as a Transition Man. He has extraordinary powers, he can control the elements and fly, he has a magical weapon named Talon and goes through all kinds of adventures, check out part one, Transition Man for everything. The Twisted Souls part comes in because he has kind of a split personality. He has an evil side that wants to use his powers for his own gains, and a noble side that wants to be an Angel and help God. By the end of Twisted Souls, that battle will be decided! The “girl” that shot him is named Jordan, and she is back, and powerful on her own, she plays a massive part in Griffin’s own transition. For me, it’s very exciting.

If you would have to change the genre in order to be able to publish it, what would it be then? i.e. would you conform to the market?

Yes I would, but I have no idea what the Genre would be. It is certainly a fantasy book. My other series is a Christian fantasy book. That one is called Genesis and it’s also a good vs. evil book, very full of adventure following bible stories. But I did see the appeal of a new genre, I thought I’d try steam punk, well a version of it. I am retelling the story of the Trojan war with modern war fighting technology and weapons. I took the idea for this from my last tour to Afghanistan. So you might say I’m trying to cover a lot of different genre’s to cover the market.

Right with that out of the way and to confuse you we’ll take the alternative route now.

What don’t you like about writing? 

Writing is a frustrating business. You can write a book and get great reviews but if you are not a social media guru, or have a full time promotion team, it’s hard to sell anything a justify continuing to do such hard work as writing a good story, and trying to get it out to the public to enjoy.

Tell me about it Jon. 🙂 Believe me I know, but it has to be done or you’ll end up at the bottom of the pile.

What do you do marketing wise and what do you think generates the most attention to your books?

I have a blog, all the social media pages, website, do events and giveaways. I have also done traditional media, news channels papers and also going on blog tours and review sites. But to be honest the only thing that really works is when I have time to spend online chatting and sharing I get more response than nearly all the others.

And that’s what I always say, we should engage with people, not just tell readers on the various social media platforms that we have a book. Share your ideas, your visions, share yourself. Get out there and get to know your readers. But You seem to know that. 🙂

Do you ever speak to your characters and do you get along all the time?

I hardly ever get along with my characters. The way I write they throw me curve balls all the time. Believe me when I tell you, these jerks have a mind of their own.

Hahaha, they sound like a real unruly bunch. Don’t you just love those? Never mind, next question. 🙂

Is there any food or beverage that is a constant factor in either your books or life? If so can you share the recipe?

I am a huge fan of food, and I have gotten experimental and that usually makes its way into the books. However when I write, a caffeinated soda type beverage of some kind is usually in my hand.

While writing? You really should try and put it down every now and then. 🙂

Would you be able to come up with a credible excuse why you haven’t written a whole day? Remember, I have to believe it!

Well, I’m lucky on this point, as my job has me flying some nights I am sometimes only home for a few hours at a time and as a dad of 3 I have a few other items pressing my time. I have been know to take days off without turning on my computer.

minion What

And finally why would you ever want to live life behind a keyboard slaving over a manuscript?

That is my dream. I hope one day to write full time and enjoy the stress of deadlines and hopefully enough money to support my family’s life style.

Okay now that we have the mandatory questions out of the way, shoot your mouth off. Tell me whatever you want the blab about. But please no cat’s, dogs, or children. Make me laugh, or cry, or even envious. Tell me something none has ever heard before from you. hehehe, love those little dirty secrets, real or make believe. 🙂

I am a secret adrenaline junky but have never done anything about it! I am such a wimp! I would love to skydive, go scuba diving, drive a racecar, rock climb a cliff face, or do something crazy, but I’m afraid to get hurt, miss work or leave my family for any length of time I’m not forced to. But I live vicariously through other people, I you tube the videos and am an expert in theoretical adrenaline sport. It makes me laugh every time. 

You will have to write me a guest post on theoretical adrenaline sport! 🙂 Hahahaha, sounds like something to make you sweat bullets.

Let me tell you where to find Jon Pew online, should you want to stalk him. Erm, I meant follow, yes of course follow!

The man has his own site! He’s on the Book of Faces (facebook for those who do not know what I am on about. ), on Twitter as @jonpew1, and he has a blog!

Now, seeing as Jon hasn’t yet the cover for the new book, I thought to give some TLC to his first born.

Genesis

Genesis cover final

Blurb

The stories of vampires and werewolves tell romantic tales of intrigue, danger and beauty. The truth is much more terrifying. Not only do these creatures not exist, the reality of True Immortals really existing is a harsh memory that humanity has chosen to forget. In the Genesis of time, Adam’s eldest defied God, killing his brother. The murder echoed throughout eternity giving birth to the race of immortals, who soldier through the war of the great adversary with God. The world’s existence depends on the outcome of one family’s choice for good or evil. The players and origins have come to light. Who are the True Immortals and what part to they have to play? Find out in Genesis.

Should you be tickled enough to want to read the book, here is where Jon’s work is available:

His store, on Amazon Volume One and  Two, on Smashwords, B&N, Kobo, and Createspace.

It is also available in ibooks, and many other venues Smashwords distributes too. So you might even stumble upon it when perusing Diesel.

Anyway, I’d like to thank Jon for coming over to my place and offer him a parting brownie. 🙂 Fresh from the oven, recipe thanks to the Cabin Goddess

3 thoughts on “Featured Author – Jon Pew

If you like what you just read, please leave a reply.

