Featured Author – Olga Nunez

7545_bw Today the multi-lingual author and blogger Olga Nunez visits me. She agreed to let me question her on a variety of topics.

Hi Olga, thanks for coming. Have a drink and make yourself comfortable because it is question time!

But first, can you introduce yourself to the readers who do not know you yet?

I was born in Barcelona (Spain) but have lived in the UK for the last 20 years. I work as a forensic psychiatrist in an NHS hospital in Sheffield and have done other things like studying American Literature and Criminology. I’ve always loved reading and writing and as a child I was never happier than with a book in my hands. I read everything and anything but I was particularly fond of Little Women and like Jo I wanted to write (I was never that sure about the husband thing though but…). And I’ve written throughout my life, although some of my very early works have now disappeared. Some, like The Man Who Never Was have been reworked from shorted stories into fully-fledged novels.

Can you tell me how you celebrate finally getting that tricky chapter (or para) right?

These days I don’t have much time for anything. Probably jumping about a bit and taking some time off the computer (a few minutes?)

Okay, sounds like you need to free up some party time. 🙂 All work and no play …, remember? But how do you work around those moments when the muse has gone and done a runner on you?

I normally have several projects on the go at the same time. I will work on my blog or on translating some of my work. I publish in Spanish and English so I always have something to translate. I also go to the gym often or for walks and I find that hardly ever fails in giving me new ideas. Going to the cinema also can get the creative juices flowing again.

Right, you might just have a winning formula there. Now, let’s first do a few of the yada yada questions before we move on to the fun. And by yada yada I do not mean boring, or in any other way stupid questions, but just the traditional ones. You know? The ones we secretly all want to know the answer to.

What don’t you like about writing? 

I don’t mind writing that much. Translating and the fact that formatting and rules are different in Spanish gives me some headaches. The worse thing is the lack of time, when you’re in the middle of a story and have to leave it because of other duties.

That’s right, you are the proud owner of two blogs, one in English and a Spanish one. I think that is a feat to be proud of.

What do you do marketing wise and what do you think generates the most attention to your books?

I’ve tried to do everything that is advised. I blog, I have a Facebook page, I have a Twitter account, a Pinterest account, a LinkedIn account, a G+ account, Goodreads…Writing and publishing more books seems to be so far the thing that has brought more attention to my books although I don’t think marketing is my thing and that’s what I most dislike of the whole process. I’m not sure how good a writer I am, but for sure I’m not a sales person.

You know, Olga? I don’t think most authors are sales persons. 🙂

Do you ever speak to your characters and do you get along all the time?

I do, particularly at the time when I’m writing the story, and also more to those that are characters in several stories. Mostly we get along but sometimes I don’t know why they won’t do what I tell them…

Is there any food or beverage that is a constant factor in either your books or life? If so can you give me a recipe?

I don’t eat meat and fruit tends to be my constant. Lately I’m very fond of mangoes, but any seasonal fruit will do.

Vegetarian? Great! I must grill you over some good recipes another time, that is if that’s okay with you? (Olga looks kind of like she’s ready to bolt right now.) Don’t worry, I won’t make you write a cookbook for me. 🙂

Would you be able to come up with a credible excuse why you haven’t written a whole day? Remember, I have to believe it!

I work full time, go to the gym most days and spent too much time trying to promote my books! I guess that might be considered writing, but to me, if it is not a story (or possibly a post for my blog) it isn’t really writing.

And finally why would you ever want to live life behind a keyboard slaving over a manuscript?

I’ve lived life doing other things, mostly studying, working as a psychiatrist, etc. I still do. I’ve always enjoyed writing, even when it was only to myself. Where can you live more lives, have more control and can create whole worlds? There’s nothing that can quite compare to it…If I could make my living writing, I’d leave my profession, believe me.

Thank you Olga for this insight in the person behind the author.

Now I’d like to shine a light on your book too, because you’ve come up with something I haven’t seen done very often and it sounds great! Choose your own ending!

What can you tell us about it?

I’d never before written something that was purely a romance. Many of my stories have a romantic relationship (or more than one) in them, but it is never the main theme of the novel. When I started self-publishing books I came into contact with the world of social networking, that until then I’d avoided. The kinds of somewhat artificial and ‘bizarre’ relationships that one can establish there and also the seemingly endless and limitless possibilities of meeting people from any places and walks of life planted the seeds of a story.

A couple of people had commented of The Man (another work by Olga Nunez) that they found the ending not quite as satisfactory as they would like. I have a certain preference for open endings (life doesn’t usually come with a nice sign saying ‘The End’ to mark when it’s time to move on) but not everybody shares my view. I know many people would expect a happy ending for such a novel. But I didn’t feel completely comfortable with that. The cynical part of me thought the story had little chance of ending up well. The romantic part of me thought Lilith (my main character, a librarian who hates formulaic romantic novels and then gets thrown into one) deserved to be happy and have all her dreams come true. I thought instead of deciding myself I should leave it to the reader and would write an unhappy and a happy ending. But in my opinion life is rarely about extremes and we muddle around in a happy/unhappy medium grey area. So I had to add a third, neutral ending. Technically it was good fun deciding at what point the stories would split and what details would change. The major difficulty was deciding and getting the difference between the stories clear in my head. Although this was my first attempt at writing a ‘pure’ romance I really enjoyed it and I’m thinking I’d like to try again.

Apart from the translation and republishing of ‘Escaping Psychiatry’ I have ideas for another novel in the same series and…

But for now I’ll leave you a description and links to Click Me Happy!

Clickmehappy(without logo)

Click Me Happy!

Available at Amazon UK and US

Do you believe in love at first sight or first click? Do you think your life should be a romantic novel? Would you like to be able to choose the ending? If you’ve answered YES to any of these questions or feel intrigued by them, this novel offers you a unique opportunity. You can choose what kind of ending you want: unhappy, happy or neutral.
Lilith, the protagonist, does not believe in all that ‘romantic nonsense’. When her boss and friend, Debbie, asks her to create a digital books section for the library where they both work she triggers a series of events that shake all of Lilith’s strongly held beliefs.
Her dislike for social networking is put to the test and despite her love for privacy and technological naïveté she manages to make a number of virtual connections. The most interesting one, without a question, is Zane, a talented and attractive author and painter. Their friendship quickly develops into something else. But, what exactly? Lilith doesn’t have a clue.
A bet with Rowena, her childhood best-friend, offers her an opportunity to test her feelings for Zane and their relationship and a meeting, ‘real’ this time, is organised in the gorgeous setting of Bermuda.
At that point, you, the reader, have the choice. Do you want the story to end up happy ever after? Do you think there’s no chance for them? Or maybe you believe that there has to be more to life than romantic stories and a neutral ending or new beginning is more true to life? You can pick and choose your ending, or you can read all of them and choose your favourite, or even create your own and let me know. I’d love to hear from you! (I leave you links to contact me at the end.) Don’t be strangers!

You can check this link if you’d like to read the first two chapters of the story:

http://www.sinedit.com/site/content/click-me-happy-romantic-novella-three-endings

And where can people/readers find you, to follow you on your writerly path?

I have a websitemy Amazon author pageI have a Twitter account of which the handle is: @OlgaNM7

Then I have an English blog, and I also have a Facebook authorpage, and a LinkedIn account

Being a reader means I am also on Goodreads.

Thanks Lucy and readers for having me!

Thank you, Olga, for allowing me to feature you and that innovative book you have out now. Remember to come back if and when you have more news!

5 thoughts on “Featured Author – Olga Nunez

If you like what you just read, please leave a reply.

