Susan Ziegelhofer on How to do before you say ‘I Do’

Hi Susan, welcome and thank you for stopping by on my blog. There’s heaps of sue picquestions I have for you, so let’s not waste any time and get this show started.

Grab a coffee and a double chocolate brownie. Get comfortable because here we go.

Can you tell me how you celebrate finally getting that tricky chapter (or para) right?

By seeing a physical therapist for the carpal tunnel it created! I stay with it until its right. I don’t celebrate it because I won’t stop until it is right and I expect it to be right. After that I just move on to the next chapter

Okay, sounds like you know how to seriously work at being an author. But how do you work around those moments when the muse has gone and done a runner on you?

Being a non-fiction book on relationships, the people everywhere are my muse. I never run out of people to watch and try to help.

Right, you might just have a winning formula there. Now, let’s first do a few of the yada yada questions before we move on to the fun. And by yada yada I do not mean boring, or in any other way stupid questions, but just the traditional ones. You know? The ones we secretly all want to know the answer to.

I hear that Lucy. We all answer the same questions, but, what’s more important are our readers who may be hearing it for the first time…. So, yada yada and away we go

First, what is the title of the book you would like to talk about?

What to do before you say I Do”

41aQomabW2L._SY346_PJlook-inside-v2,TopRight,1,0_SH20_

 

Available at Amazon US, and B&N

Did you have difficulty coming up with the title?

Not really, I wanted the title to be clear, just like my book. People can then decide if they want to know more about what’s on the inside.

Can you share a little part of the book? Just enough to make us want to read more?

Of course, I’ll share some Red Flags

1. Do you use text as a substantial form of communication with your partner?

2.Using technology to avoid participating in your relationship

3.Drinking

4. Inappropriate flirting

5 Do you or your partner have obsessive behaviors? ex. shopping, watching sports?

6.Intrusive parents, family members, friends?

7. Problem admitting when you are wrong?

8 Over spending and/or loads of debt that you or your partner are bringing to the relationship?

9. Are you or your partner “attached at the hip”, Has no independent life outside of you?

There are more questions like these that need to be addressed before you move into marriage. If you are already married, you can still modify you/partner but these have to be acknowledged first then dealt with!

I had a hard time deciding how to limit my excerpt because every chapter, from compromising to communication are all important ingredients in having the relationship you always dreamed of…

Every chapter has open ended questions that will start conversations, funny examples from personal experience that will give you “light bulb” moments or “AHA” moments 🙂

Readers, thank you for wanting a better relationship. Please remember, this book is interactive, conversations are meant to flow while reading…men must get involved.

If you would have to change the genre in order to be able to publish it, what would it be then? i.e. would you conform to the market?

I may or may not. The only way to change this book is to market it under real life humor.

Right with that out of the way and to confuse you we’ll take the alternative route now.

What don’t you like about writing?

Vampires and that kind of genre. The word overkill comes to mind.

I want to have a positive impact on people through humor and eliminating the need for divorce attorneys! Is that too lofty of a goal?

Hm, not necessarily, but sometimes it is the only option left. However that is another discussion.

What do you do marketing wise and what do you think generates the most attention to your books?

I have a publicist who does my marketing to media outlets. My personal opinion is to write something great and let word of mouth speak for you.

Tell me, when you’re on a roll, the muse is in the house and happily guiding your pen, what would seriously drive her/him away?

When I keep asking him (husband) to read and follow the advice in my book.

What does your muse look like and does he/she ever play tricks on you?

He looks like Brad Pitt (OK that’s not honest) my husband is cute though. Probably not an applicable question for my book.

Brad Pitt

🙂 Even Brad agrees with you. 

Do you ever speak to your characters and do you get along all the time?

My “characters” are my friends, family and business acquaintances, so I would have to say, I don’t always get along with them.

Is there any food or beverage that is a constant factor in either your books or life?

Absolutely! I can’t work without chocolate, cappuccino and diet coke or pepsi.

Would you be able to come up with a credible excuse why you haven’t written a whole day? Remember, I have to believe it!

My credible excuse would have to be…um…I don’t want to…I’m busy with my other company…the dog ate my story. These are all believable, right?

Whoopdidoo! They sure are Susan. 🙂

And finally why would you ever want to live life behind a keyboard slaving over a manuscript?

No, I enjoy people way too much to want isolation from the world beyond my keyboard. I love meeting strangers and, against my mother’s advice when I was young, I even love talking to strangers. Everyone has a story and I want to hear theirs.

Okay now that we have the mandatory questions out of the way, shoot your mouth off. Tell me whatever you want to blab about. But please no cat’s, dogs, or children. Make me laugh, or cry, or even envious. Tell me something none has ever heard before from you. hehehe, love those little dirty secrets, real or make believe. 🙂

My funny story starts with my cat beating up my dog while my children laughed hysterically.

Oops! Didn’t mean to write that.

I would like to tell you that if you enjoy my sense of humor, you will enjoy “What to do before you say I Do”. It is full of clear, concrete ideas of how to handle issues that come up in EVERY relationship (co-habituating, dating, gay, straight, divorced, and widowed). I have tried to leave nothing out from my personal experiences of marriage, divorce and re-marriage. I included family and friends experiences with their permission of course! I also had a life time (50 years) of studying, analyzing and solving human behavior issues from living with a school psychologist father who made us live psychology for as long as I can remember, a generous charitable mother and 5 siblings (4 of which were sisters!)

Just one more thing Lucy. This book is for everyone and anyone who wants to find the right person and then make it work. It’s a win-win book for everyone, married or not.

Thanks, Susan, this was a fun and most interesting interview. Do come back when you have more news. Now for those folks out there who want to get in touch with you about the book, or any other subject, I’ll give them a link to your site and your Goodreads profile.

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “Susan Ziegelhofer on How to do before you say ‘I Do’

  1. Thank you Lucy, you are wonderful and if anyone has personal questions, situations, I will always be happy to answer them. “What to do before you say I do” is there to help anyone, and so am I 🙂

      • Hi Susan, glad you are happy with your feature, I had fun doing it. Fat chance of my life slowing down anytime soon, if anything I will get even more work and less time. Aaargh! I need more time, but I’m not complaining. I like a busy life. 🙂
        I’m often enough on the book of faces or twitter, we’ll no doubt ‘bump’ into eachother. 🙂

If you like what you just read, please leave a reply.

