How to Keep Writing

Every now and then there is a period in a writer’s life when real life takes over and cannot be ignored. What do you do? You deal with it, and then some, and maybe some more. Because let’s face it, real life does have a tendency to be real important at times.

get you drinking

That is a way to deal with disturbances in ‘the force’, but I don’t think it is the way to get you writing again. You might think it is. Shoot, you might even think the bottle gives you the best ideas. Hey, I don’t know you, so it might even work for you, but more often than not it just doesn’t. I’m pretty sure it just makes you a bit less focussed, but if you like to be out of reality, go ahead and drown the real world out and live the fantasy.

inability to concentrate

However, wouldn’t it be better to just work around those difficulties–whatever life throws at you that keeps you from sitting down and writing are usually things of the troublesome kind. Take fifteen minutes, or even less to jot down some words. So what if it is only an idea, or a sentence? Write down anything to take the mind of life and back on writing. A shopping list might even do the trick.

are you kidding

No, I’m not! Really, I mean, it is made up, and it has words … What more do you need. Plus, there’s always a moment to find some peace and quiet, it only needs you to get out off your head and into action, and write. Anything, anywhere, anythime.

Because, really? This isn’t the way to go about it.

difficult life

However you look at it (I don’t want to cll it a problem), never say what he does.

Writing-Is-Hard

Because all it takes is for you to take a pen and a scrap of paper and write. Anything, the first word that comes to mind, then a sentence, two, three, a whole paragraph, and before you know it you’ve written a whole bunch of words. They might not be your masterpiece, but they’re words and they can be polished. Because writing isn’t hard, coming up with a great story might be hard, but writing isn’t.

That story will come again, don’t worry, just write about what is around you. It isn’t for no reason they say, “Write what you know.”

Hey! Don’t just sit there.

Tapping

Because if you ask yourself what she does, you’ll have enough to write about.

reasons

So, tell me, what do you do to keep writing?

25 thoughts on “How to Keep Writing

  1. Pingback: How to Keep Writing | Frie Forfattere

  2. Lucy, there are two things I do to keep writing. If I’m feeling uninspired, I read a good book and that always gets me in a creative mood. And the other thing I do to keep writing is to stay off all social media sites!! They eat up too many hours of precious writing time.

  3. I agree with you. There’s been times that I’ve forced myself to sit and write, and I’ve written whatever poured out of my head. The next day I would check what I wrote, and what I thought would be horrible was actually not too bad. Sometimes you just have to write.

    • And that’s exactly what I mean. Let go of the idea that every word you write has to be good, just write and polish it later into the shape you want it to be. You might surprise yourself, like you did, Vashti. 🙂

If you like what you just read, please leave a reply.

