Guest Blogger Day – Adele Symonds on Editing

Adele Symonds – Editor with a vision

I do not profess to be an expert at writing novels as I do not have one to my name. I do feel qualified as a reader to know whether a book has what it takes to hold an audiences interest, and keep them turning those pages.

A great plot with believable characters who can be identified with by the target audience. Or all key aspects of writing a winning novel, but no matter how good these are with poor editing the book will be more likely to fail.

This is when I decided to step in and offer editing services to indie authors who were trying to break into the market with some excellent books which just weren’t hitting the mark.

Don’t you give her that look, author! She is right you know?

my book

Editing is an area which many new authors cannot afford to pay and they will edit their books heart out. I do not believe it is possible for any author to edit their own work and catch every error as our brains are made in such a way that we read what we know should be there rather than what is.

I keep my editing prices as low as possible to facilitate the indie authors being able to pay for this valuable service and I am setting up a fund which will help those authors who are in even more difficult financial positions.

I work on an hourly basis with an individual contract made with each author, but provision is made within the contract for the author to donate to the fund if they wish to do so. This money will then in future be used to be an agreed number of my hours service for an author who cannot afford the full price for their whole book. My hope is that over time, as authors I have helped earn more money, I will be able to help more authors and so on and so forth.

My aim is to facilitate the work of indiependent authors to produce the best work they can.

Adele can be contacted for editorial services through mail 

I would like to thank Adele for sharing her thoughts on editing and funds. What do you do when your budget doesn’t allow for a professional editor?

4 thoughts on “Guest Blogger Day – Adele Symonds on Editing

  1. Pingback: Guest Blogger Day – Adele Symonds on Editing | adelesymonds

  2. It’s difficult to believe I’m the first one to leave a comment. Of course, editing is nice. I was lucky and found someone at a reasonable price to edit Earthbound. Alas, she has returned to the regular work force. When you say by the hour and then not give a price per hour, it leave one wondering. I can estimate about what it would cost me if I knew the price per hour. Like everyone else, I’m much better at proofing someone else’s script than my own.

If you like what you just read, please leave a reply.

