Featured Author Alex Canton

P1060162Today’s featured author is the guy who works hard on the Book of Faces to publish all our wonderful reviews on the Book Junkie Reviews page for the world to read.

I’d like to introduce to you Alex Canton, author, grand-father, and Book Junkie.

There are a few questions I’d like to ask you Alex, so grab a drink, have a seat and get comfortable. 

Let’s do a few  yada questions before we move on to the fun. And by yada yada I do not mean boring, or in any other way stupid questions, but just the traditional ones. You know? The ones we secretly all want to know the answer to.

Before you were an author, what did you do to make a living?

I was a clinical psychologist with an area of concentration in clinical sexology. I also was a assistant professor at the University of Panama’s Medical School and also held my own private practice.

What have you published so far?

During my professional years I published a textbook on sex therapy and many research articles on the same subject. In 1985 I published my first novella – Machito—which dealt with homosexuality. After I retired in 2006 or 2007 I continued writing novellas of psychological content. There are around eleven on Amazon.

What is the title of the book you would like to talk about now?

It’s The Water!

Cover WaterAMAZON US | AMAZON UK

Did you have difficulty coming up with the title?

No. This was an expression I frequently used, jokingly, when people asked me why there were so many gay men participating in the Panamanian carnival.

If you would have to change the genre in order to be able to publish it, what would it be then? i.e. would you conform to the market?

I don’t give a hoot about the market. Therefore, I publish in whichever genre I think my message will get out comfortably for me.

Good for you!

Can you tell me how you celebrate finally getting that one tricky chapter (or para) right, if there were any of those?

The truth is that I never had a tricky chapter…. I always seem able to form a picture in my mind of what Is going to happen; then, the development just flows. Well, now that I re-think this I recall that there was a delicate scene about sexual discovery between one of my main characters when he was a little boy and his five or six years old girlfriend. It’s the only time that I gave a thought to “not being offensive.” BTW, I wrote this book in English… This would have not happened if I wrote it in Spanish because this particular audience does not get offended easily…

Is there anything else you would like to share with me and the readers about you or the book?

This book deals with gay awakening in the 60s… As someone said, it has no pink, sugary development. It is not the gay-erotic theme that many people look for. It has quite a bit of food for thought. And it was written without considering political correctness, which wasn’t an issue in those times and about which I don’t give a damn nowadays. Therefore, it’s a matter of hating or loving the book.

It sounds like an intriguing book, and I have it on my TBR list, Alex. Now all I have to do is find the time to read it.

Right, with that out of the way and to confuse you we’ll take the alternative route now.

What don’t you like about writing?

I wish I could transfer my thoughts to paper without having to use my fingers and my eyes… Natural human wasting process is already on its way….

What do you do marketing wise and what do you think generates the most attention to your books?

First hand experience always inspires my writings… It has been a great life and many roads have been walked on by this old guy. When people read my work they are taken on an exploratory ride… My style is quite mine, and not everyone feels comfortable when they have to think to get a point… But then, I don’t write for everyone but for a chosen few, who chose themselves…

I never gave a second to thinking about marketing. The truth is that I don’t care if people buy my books. In Panama I always carry one of my books, which I “forget” and leave on the taxi seat or a chair in a restaurant….

HA! That sounds like stealth marketing, a good one. 🙂 

Is there any food or beverage that is a constant factor in either your books or life?

No…

So you can’t give me a recipe?

Sorry, my characters don’t worry about food or beverage intake…

But, but … you’ll die! Everyone eats! Hey Ho, it’s your life and if you have characters who are indifferent to food or beverages it’s your choice.

I guess you never go like this then?

yum

Okay, by me. 🙂 Now that we have that out of the way, can you tell me something none has ever heard before from you. hehehe, love those little dirty secrets, real or make believe. 🙂

Since my first novella, many people always asked themselves “Is he gay? He knows way too much…” Want to guess …?

gay serial killerFor those who are really, really curious and would like to know more about Alex and his books, he can be found online at:

http://www.terapiacanton.blogspot.com

3 thoughts on “Featured Author Alex Canton

If you like what you just read, please leave a reply.

