Guest Blogger Day – Christopher Fisher on The Reason

 Why I wrote “Sebastian”

cover Sebastian

AMAZON US

As a gay man I was always fascinated and frightened by the ideals of ‘real’ men and strength and masculinity as their main attributes and a requirement to finding love. I was not the strongest and sportiest of children and that probably leaked into Sebastian’s character. Expectations of what a man is supposed to be like feeds into his own journey of finding self-worth and confidence, something most of my characters in Sebastian have to struggle with, not just Sebastian

Sebastian is based on an idea I had of my grandfather who lived with his new family on the other side of the Berlin Wall. I never met them until the late Eighties, by which time my grandfather sadly had already passed on. Like Sebastian in my book my grandfather had lost his leg due to an accident. How can men like them find love? Unfortunately I was able to learn only a little about my grandfather and his life from my aunt. Much of the details she gave me about his life and his rather philosophical and wonderful outlook on life have found their way into the actual grandfather figure in my book, Oscar, who becomes Sebastian’s best friend in my story and who helps him to find the right attitude.

The other important theme in “Sebastian” is the National Idea and how meaningless such concepts can become in the face of human suffering. I was raised in Bavaria but thanks to my father I spoke in a different accent. I was singled out for it and queried about my origins almost on a daily basis because I did not fit in linguistically. I moved to the North where they spoke ‘proper’ German, but to them I was clearly from the South. Now I am a German living in the UK and yet another type of ‘alien’. I hope to show in Sebastian how destructive false boundaries can be.

Have you ever ran into a false boundary? And how did you handle getting past it?

Should you want to connect with Christoph, he can be found online at his site.

7 thoughts on “Guest Blogger Day – Christopher Fisher on The Reason

  1. Great interview, Christoph and Lucy. I am so pleased, as are many people, that times have changed and there is a new open-mindedness in people to accept situations and lifestyles that differ from their own.

    As a woman building my career in the eighties and nineties, I definitely ran into a false boundary. There was a false impression in the corporate world that women were not born leaders, they weren’t smart enough to lead or make tough, strategic decisions. “Glass ceiling” was a political term used (still is to some extent) to describe the unseen, yet unbreakable barrier that kept women from rising to the upper rungs of the corporate ladder, regardless of their qualifications or achievements.

    It was a difficult era back then in the corporate world. I was a lone woman on the bottom rung of the ladder and above me was a sea of men who subscribed to what was known as the “Good Old Boys Club,” a major obstruction to women trying to break the glass ceiling.

    To make a long story short, it was a struggle, but I never gave up. I had to set aside emotions, become tougher, work harder and think smarter, and I eventually became an executive director in the corporation I worked for. However, although I was on the very top rung of the ladder, I still made less money than a man who would have had the same position.

    Only now, are women finally being recognized as an equal on the corporate playing field and respected by their peers. However, I still believe the false sense of a woman not being worth as much, salary-wise as a man, still exists.

    • Thanks for sharing this Rosary, and you are right, that division in pay still exists and still a woman has to work twice as hard to prove she can do the same job as a man would be able to.
      But on the other hand it is also true that traditional women’s jobs are still virtually impossible for men to settle in to. People are funny creatures in that way.

If you like what you just read, please leave a reply.

