Featured Author Jacqueline Driggers

me (2)Today’s featured author is Jacqueline Driggers. 

Hi Jacqueline, I’d like to start this feature with some personal questions if that’s okay with you?

Sure, that’s fine.

Great! We’re off then.

Are you a city dweller or a country girl?

Really I’m more of a country girl.  I was born and raised, and still live in, my hometown of Hartford, Kentucky.  Smack dab beside it is the small town of Beaver Dam, Kentucky.  Between the two of them, they have a population of around 7,000-9,000 people, so I’m from a small Kentucky town; and those 2 towns are the biggest in the county.  My mom and dad had a place just outside of town that bordered a river, and I spent a lot of time in the woods with my dog, as a kid.

Have you always been a creative soul, or were you more of a in the box kind of woman before you became an author?

I’ve always been a creative soul.  I have always loved books, and was very imaginative as a child.  For me, books would create pictures in my head, like a movie.  I’ve always loved tinkering with crafts and stuff too.  I started writing back in high school, and have written all my life.

What keeps you busy on most days?

My day starts when I get to my desk in our office here at home.  I start on facebook, and go thru my messages, then events, then requests, then notifications.  Then I move on to what else I need to do.  I do freelance work in editing and other writing related services, plus I have several: blogs, facebook pages, groups – that I ride herd over.  Plus I do book reviews too.  All this most recent writing related activity started one day in April, back in 2012, when I opened up Word and started a book.

Thanks for sharing this, now over to what you really came for. 🙂

What is the title of the book you would like to talk about?

Well, I guess that would be my cookbook that I have in the works.  The working title is:  Recipes, cooking, and food presents Kitchen Drawer Recipes.

Ha! I love cookbooks and recipes. Remember me when yours is done, then maybe this won’t happen again.

fire in oven

Did you have difficulty coming up with the title?

No, not really.

Can you tell me how you celebrate finally getting that tricky chapter (or para) right?

Well, I’m still working on my cookbook and science fiction novel, so I’m not celebrating yet.

But you will when the work is done and then you might want to come back and tell us more about it.

If you would have to change the genre in order to be able to publish it, what would it be then? i.e. would you conform to the market?

Well, my two genres – cooking, and science fiction – are well established genres already, so I feel like that is a plus for me as a yet-to-be-published writer.

What do you do marketing wise and what do you think generates the most attention to your books?

I’m not yet published, but I’m already working on marketing.  My aim or goal is that when I publish, I want people to say – Oh, she’s finally published! – rather than – Who’s she?  Towards that end, I am promoting myself as an author, and building up my blogs.  I’ve started posting my poetry and writing on wattpad, and I’m working on building up a following there.  Plus I have a writer’s page that I try to post to regularly.  My theory is that marketing begins way before you publish, in trying to get yourself known in the writing business.

Right with that out of the way and to confuse you we’ll take the alternative route now.

What don’t you like about writing.

There isn’t a single thing that I don’t like about it.  Writing and being a writer is more than what I do, it’s an integral part of who I am.

Is there any food or beverage that is a constant factor in either your books or life?

In my life, sweet stuff.  I always have cakes or cookies or some sweet cereal to snack on.  I love my sweets.

Oh, me too! 🙂

What is your favourite dish and can you give me the recipe?

I guess my favorite dish would have to be my Granny’s butter pie recipe.  The way we got the recipe is an interesting story.  You see, my grandmother didn’t have a written recipe; so one of my cousins went down there one day and watched her make one, and measured the ingredients.  Thus we have the recipe, and here it is:

Granny’s Butter Pie

Manchester-Food-Butter-Pie-Eunice1 to 1-1/2 cups water

1/2 to 1 stick margarine

1 cup sugar

1 t. vanilla

3 heaping T. flour

1 baked pie shell

In a double boiler, add the water and margarine; and cook, stirring frequently, until margarine is melted.  Then add sugar, and stir until sugar is dissolved.  Then add the vanilla, and stir.  Next add the flour, 1 tablespoon at a time, stirring well.   Continue to cook, while stirring frequently, until mixture is thickened.  Pour into pie shell and cool.  Serve and enjoy.

I am certainly going to try this recipe, because it reads like something I’d like.

Would you be able to come up with a credible excuse why you haven’t written a whole day? Remember, I have to believe it!

I have too many other things to do, that demand their share of my time.  Everything has it’s pecking order, including my writing.

And finally why would you ever want to live life behind a keyboard slaving over a manuscript?

Because putting it all on paper gets it out of my head.  For me, writing is like breathing, it’s something I just have to do.  I’ve wanted to be a published author since high school, which was back in 1976-1979.  And with self-publishing today, that high school dream is within reach finally.

Okay now that we have the mandatory questions out of the way, shoot your mouth off. Tell me whatever you want the blab about. But please no cat’s, dogs, or children. Make me laugh, or cry, or even envious. Tell me something none has ever heard before from you. hehehe, love those little dirty secrets, real or make believe. 🙂

I’ve always loved reading and books.  Back when I was too little to read it for myself, my mom and others would read to me.  I would read anything.  When I was little, I used to spend the night a lot with my dad’s mother; and they had an old house behind their house, where they stored stuff.  It always fascinated me as a child, and sparked my curiosity and imagination.  Up on the second floor, there were a bunch of old books.  One of my favorite things to do was to go through those old books and pick some to take home.  Most of them were old school books, I mean really old, but I didn’t care.  That’s how much I loved books.  My favorites were the literature books.  I loved reading those.

Back in high school, I was a voracious reader, and just devoured books.  Now that I have ebooks and a kindle device, I’m back to my old ways.  Sometimes I really get into a book, and can’t put it down until I finish it.

Thank you Jacqueline for giving me the opportunity to interview you and shine a little light on you and your books to come. 

Now where can your fans find you online?

I’m to be found at:

My author’s page on facebook,  my website, and finally here you can find a list of links for My blogs, facebook pages, and groups.

Should you have any questions not answered here, just let me know by leaving a comment below.

3 thoughts on “Featured Author Jacqueline Driggers

If you like what you just read, please leave a reply.

