Featured Author – Kimberley Patterson

IMG_0033Today a yogi friend/author with a different kind of book joins me on the blog.

Don’t let my blabbing mouth keep you from finding out what and why. I’ll welcome her and get on with this interview.

Hi Kimberley,

Great to have a fellow yogi/writer on my blog today. I’d like to start with some personal questions before we dive into the wonderful world of books and writing.

Have you always been attracted to yoga, or did you prefer another form of exercise before you discovered the bliss of yoga?

I actually didn’t think too much about yoga until about five years ago when I was in a series of car accidents which left me in physical therapy. My therapist recommended yoga to me after six months of physical therapy going three days a week showed no improvement. I thought she was crazy at first because I could not even do push-ups on the wall, but after a matter of months yoga had healed me. I grew up riding horses so that was pretty much my means of physical exercise, with the exception of sports. I always excelled at tether ball, but I could never get a team formed to compete professionally.

What is a pose that you would love to be able to do to perfection, but has you crashing everytime?
Titibasana or Firefly pose.

ICPNo joke. Probably the most frustrating yoga pose that I just cannot get. My ego definitely takes a beating in this posture, and my concentration and breath are gone right after. I gave up even trying for a long extended period of time. Lately, I have been been more open to trying it, and still, no improvement. It’s definitely my new goal pose.

We all have that one we just cannot get. Don’t worry, let go and then suddenly you’ll find yourself able to do it as if you’ve never done anything else. 🙂

Are there any other quirks you’d like to tell us about? Or don’t you have a small streak of OCD?
I have a ton of quirks. I like to think it makes life more interesting. I don’t necessarily feel I have OCD, but I do have CDO – which is exactly like OCD, except all the letters are in alphabetical order, like they should be.

Hahahaha, now if that isn’t OCD, erm I mean CDO, sorry!

Given the choice, city or country living, what would you pick, and why?
Country living. I grew up in the city, but really fell in love with the country when my parents and I moved to Temecula and had some property. There is nothing like waking up to the quiet calm in the morning, and have the freedom to just hop on your horse and ride. Plus, I feel much more relaxed knowing that I don’t have to fight traffic. In addition, there’s a whole different mentality with people who live in the country. They make time to get to know you, and they genuinely care about you.

Thanks for giving us that small insight into you and your life. But you aren’t here for fun and kicks, right? 🙂 I bet you are eager to tell us all about your writing. Am I write?

So, what is the title of the book you would like to talk about?

I would love to talk about, my newly released YA Romantic Comedy, The Three Month Plan.

3-month-coverAMAZON

Did you have difficulty coming up with the title?

Not at all. The title actually stemmed from a night at dinner with a few of my girlfriends a few months before the idea for the book ever came about. It was something we had joked about in relation to our real life dating situations and how we desired to change them.

If you would have to change the genre in order to be able to publish it, what would it be then? i.e. would you conform to the market?

Initially, the book wasn’t going to be a YA book, and I was leaning towards the New Adult category, but I decided to stick with young adult since my first book, Red Rock, was also a young adult book. I have considered turning this book into a screenplay and making it more like the original concept.

Can you tell me how you celebrate finally getting that tricky chapter (or para) right?
I am a huge goofball, so I have no problem standing up and doing some wacky little dance, complete with a song, and making up my own words that usually don’t make sense. I usually save this for at home, because apparently the library frowns on this.

What don’t you like about writing.

Editing. I strongly dislike editing. Writing to me is the easy part, but because I tend to write how I speak, this usually leads to a bunch of edits. And those edits, then lead to other edits, and so on. I initially wrote The Three Month Plan in a matter of four months, but the actual edits took over a year. And just when you think you are finally done, something else gets brought to your attention. It really is an exhausting process.

What do you do marketing wise and what do you think generates the most attention to your books?

Marketing is tricky as a self-published author. I find that most of the time, word of mouth and blogging tend to work the best. I have joined so many different websites, and groups and blog tours just to try to get more attention for the book. I am very active on my blog, Facebook, Twitter and Instagram as well because social media is very important.

Is there any food or beverage that is a constant factor in either your books or life?
I don’t think I have a common food or drink in either of my books. I haven’t really thought about that. If there is, it’s definitely unintentional. The most common thing in both of my books are usually animals. Both of my books have horses in them, and animals are one of my favorite topics to write about.

What is your favourite dish and can you give me the recipe?

I have a huge sweet tooth, so my favorite dishes usually are dessert related. Lately, I have been experimenting with cheesecakes. I make an amazing key lime cheesecake. My best one to date though is a cheesecake with a brownie crust that’s separated by a layer of caramel. I make it all from scratch. I can give you the easier version of the recipe, because I usually don’t measure anything out and just go with it.

picture from bakebakebake.livejournal.com

picture from bakebakebake.livejournal.com

You need a springform pan to start.
1 (9 ounce) package of brownie mix
1 egg
1 tablespoon cold water
1 (14 ounce) package of individually wrapped caramels
1 (5 ounce) can evaporated milk
2 (8 ounces) packages of softened cream cheese
½ cup white sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 eggs
1 cup chocolate fudge topping

Preheat oven to 350, grease the bottom of the pan
In a small bowl, mix together the brownie mix, 1 egg and water. Add to pan. Bake for 25 minutes.
Melt the caramels on the stove with the evaporated milk over low heat in a small saucepan until smooth. Remove 1/3 of it and pour the remainder over the brownie mixture.
In a large bowl, beat the cream cheese, sugar and vanilla with an electric mixture until smooth. Add eggs one at a time, beating well after each one. Pour the cream cheese over the carmel layer on the brownies.
Bake the cheesecake for 40 minutes. I like to set my pan in another pan with a little bit of water in it to make sure that the cheesecake stays moist and doesn’t crack. Once it’s done baking, I also leave it in the over with the door cracked open until it cools.

Sounds DELISH! Must try this recipe and keep it in the make this folder. 🙂

Would you be able to come up with a credible excuse why you haven’t written a whole day? Remember, I have to believe it!

Well, I didn’t write at all today, but that’s because I spent a lot of time on this interview.

Ooops! Sorry. 🙂

And finally why would you ever want to live life behind a keyboard slaving over a manuscript?
I don’t! I mainly started off writing just as a hobby. I teach yoga and own a small skincare studio in San Diego as my “real jobs.” I don’t know that I would be able to sit still long enough and indoors to write full time. I am more of an outdoors person, so even when I do write I try to do it outside. I find my best inspiration there.

Okay now that we have the mandatory questions out of the way, shoot your mouth off. Tell me whatever you want the blab about. But please no cat’s, dogs, or children. Make me laugh, or cry, or even envious. Tell me something none has ever heard before from you. hehehe, love those little dirty secrets, real or make believe. 🙂

Well, now that you took away my three topics I was dying to write about, I guess I will have to go with something else. Let’s see… I’ll go with a different topic altogether that’s true. I once sat in a hot tub with a serial killer in Yosemite, and narrowly escaped being his next victim by following my intuition. That’s a whole other story for a different time. Maybe even a great topic for another book.

Thank you so much for the wonderful interview!!

Thank you for taking the time to stay in and answer my questions. If you ever feel the need to share more, give me a holler and I’ll gladly welcome you back.

9 thoughts on “Featured Author – Kimberley Patterson

If you like what you just read, please leave a reply.

