Book Tour and Giveaway – Dead Jed by Scott Craven

Dead-Jed-Banner---Revised-3

Today I host a stop on the Dead Jed Tour, this Adventure of A Middle School Zombie sounds intriguing to me. Read below and tell me if you will put it on your GoodReads To Read list too.

***

Scott CravenLet me, very briefly introduce the author to you and then see what he has to say about the book.

Scot is a proud graduate of Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo, have one son who will turn 18 in March 2013, now a features writer for The Arizona Republic.

He can be found online at:

His website, and Twitter

So Scott, what are the reasons behind this book?

As a firm believer in writing what you know, none of my former middle school friends would not be surprised that I wrote about a zombie just trying to fit in.

There is much of Jed in me, save for that whole “being undead” part. I had no idea at the time, but Jed was born the first time I was shoved into a middle-school locker. And why did someone much larger than myself shove me into a locker? To see if I fit. And at 4-9 and 75 pounds, I did with room to close the door and lock it.

Middle school was a trial. Most of it was spent with my group of friends trying to stay low as we posted straight As (save for PE, of course, where the teacher judged us on our physical abilities, of which we had few).

Through much of the writing of “Dead Jed: Adventures of a Middle School Zombie,” I channeled that timid seventh-grader, putting him into many of my seventh-grade situations. While Jed would find creative ways to deal with his bullies, I never did. But as we grew and matured, the bullying went away. The bullies found healthier ways to deal with their insecurities rather than building themselves up by taking others down. Football, for example. Or hooking up with girls that wanted to make them be better boys.

I know more about bullying than being undead, but I’d like to think I’ve seen 90 percent of zombie films ever made. I grew up with the stumbling, bumbling zombies of George Romero films, and it always struck me – if they are already dead, and thus could presumably go on forever, why are they always so hungry? That’s why one of my favorite zombie movies is “Shaun of the Dead,” which first got me thinking about turning the whole genre on its undead head.

One morning in the shower, a few questions occurred to me – “What if there was a kid zombie who seemed normal except for being technically dead? And how would he do in that most torturous time in all our lives, middle school? And why didn’t I pick up more shampoo the last time I went shopping?”

I wrote the first chapter of “Dead Jed” that weekend, and it was awful. I did not think that at the time, of course. I thought it was genius in a “Woody Allen meets Ernest Hemingway” way. But it was more Woody Woodpecker meets Ernie from Sesame Street. Too many observations and gags, no plot or decent characters. Fortunately, square one wasn’t too far away. And thanks to friends, my agent and talented editors, many improvements were made along the way.

Jed isn’t one to preach, but I do hope readers come away rooting against bullies, and perhaps speaking up the next time they see something. Or at least don’t go through life as a zombie. Jed is the only one I know who can pull that off (because he can also pull off his own arm, and please don’t try that at home).

Very well explained, thank you Scott. 🙂 Now, let’s give the readers a bit more info on the book itself.

Dead Jed Cover 2

AMAZONB&N | THE BOOK DEPOSITORYKOBO | Indiebound

DEAD JED: ADVENTURES OF A JUNIOR HIGH ZOMBIE

Publication date: December 1, 2013

Publisher: Month9Books, LLC.

ISBN-13: 978-0-9883409-0-9

ISBN eBook: 978-0-939765-56-7

Dead Jed is Shaun of the Dead meets Diary of a Wimpy Kid. Jed’s not your typical junior high geek. He is, to use the politically-correct term, cardiovascularly-challenged. And while his parents have attempted to shield him from the implications of being ‘different’ for as long as they could (Jed was 8 and at a friend’s sister’s birthday party when he blew his lips off onto the cake in front of everyone, finally prompting the “Big Talk” from his parents and an emergency SuperGlue repair by his dad), 7th grade at Pine Hollow Middle School as a target of Robbie the supreme school bully and his pack of moronic toadies is rapidly becoming unbearable.
From being stuffed in a filled trash can as “dead meat” and into a trophy case as the bully’s “prize,” to literally having his hand pulled off in the boys’ room (Jed’s always losing body parts. Luckily, a good stapler and some duct tape and he’s back in the action) and a cigarette put in it and try to frame him for the recent reports of smoking in the school, Jed’s had enough and is ready to plan his revenge. Besides, it’s awesome what you can do when you’re already dead!

***

Don’t forget to enter the Giveaway to win

Three (3 ebook copies of Dead Jed by Scott Craven (International)

One (1) signed paperback copy of Dead Jed by Scott Craven (US only)

Click here to be zoomed to a Rafflecopter giveaway

One thought on “Book Tour and Giveaway – Dead Jed by Scott Craven

If you like what you just read, please leave a reply.

