Featured Author – Carmilla Voiez

1505565_505694392877894_1578029324_nToday Carmilla Voiez features on the blog. She was kind enough to not only answer a few questions but also shares snippets of her work.

Hi Carmilla, thanks for taking the time to sit down and let me grill you. I’d like to start with a few personal ones, if you don’t mind?

Living in Scotland it must make you long for sunshine and warm beaches, or at least I assume it does. What is your favourite holiday destination?

I am not a sun lover. I tend to prefer holidays that revolve around art, music and culture. I love Brugge and Paris and even York as a holiday destination. I think I yearn for the buzz of city life more than warm beaches.

What was the first book you took out of the library when you were young?

I am not sure whether it was the first, but I remember taking out a series of picture books with a ghost called George as the central character who had lots of adventures. I did search for the books for my children, but unfortunately couldn’t find them again.

What kind of movies do you enjoy watching?

Horror, art house, and good drama.

Is there any food or beverage that is a constant factor in either your books or life?

Coffee and cigarettes. Yes, good health doesn’t seem to be a theme in my life or work.

What is your favourite dish and can you give me the recipe?

I love salads. I’ll throw in all sorts of peppers, fruit, nuts, and dressings. It’s the crunch of raw food that sends my taste buds wild.

A very nice Spinach Aragula Cranberry salad with Goat’s cheese and Walnuts found on the Cranky Pancreas

That wasn’t that bad, was it? But let’s get on with it and move on to the topic you are really here for.

What is the title of the book you would like to talk about, and can you give us a small taster of it?

Starblood. It’s the first book in a trilogy and introduces a group of friends who are part of the Gothic subculture. Their lives revolve around music, alcohol and magic. It is the magic side that proves to be a catalyst for very violent change in all of their lives.

starbloodAMAZON

goodreads-badge-add-plus

In a seedy Goth club, a beautiful woman dances, waiting to be set free. Along an unlit street, another woman stumbles, fleeing her pursuer. In a darkened room, a man speaks to demons.

Lust, obsession, terror and humiliation storm into the lives of Star and Satori, proving the age-old maxim – be careful what you wish for.

Starblood, the debut novel by Carmilla Voiez, is a tale of magic and horror.

 ***

Blinded by love, Satori, a young magician, attempts a spell that goes horribly wrong, resulting in the demon Lilith returning to Earth. Satori knows he must send Lilith back. The dark goddess brimming with power makes it her mission to wreak havoc on Satori’s life by ensnaring Star, the woman he loves, and her friends in a web of chaos and deceit.

***

‘Carmilla Voiez makes Clive Barker look like Stephanie Meyer.’ Jef Withonef, Houston Press.

Excerpt

‘Lilith,’ the white-haired man calls to her.
She turns to look at his thin, silk wrapped frame and weak, obsequious eyes. He is speaking again. The sound annoys her.
‘I felt it the moment you stepped from Chaos into Malkuth. The world trembled as your foot touched the floor. We all did. You have an army here, should you want it.’
What is he telling her? The words buzz around her ears like ravenous gnats. An army? What do I want that I might need an army? ‘An army.’
His eyes shine. ‘Yes, we want to change the world in your name. Stay here, please. Lead us into temptation.’
Lilith shakes her head. ‘You’re a liar and a misogynist. You want to follow because you want revolution, freedom and fire. If Samael or Asmodeus appeared beside me you would bow before them and, under their protection, spit at all I am and all of womankind. Why do you desire revolution when this world is already of your making?’
He bows his head, but not before she sees the hatred burning in his eyes.
‘You want power and glory,’ she says. ‘I see through you, into the black heart beating pointlessly in your skinny chest. You are nothing, good for nothing.’
‘I am nothing,’ he agrees. He kneels before her. ‘Please, make me something. Let me serve you. Do you want him? I can call him down. What do you want? I will get it for you.’
Lilith strides into the kitchen. Everything sparkles; it is like magic. Drawing a heavy butcher’s knife from a chrome block, she touches the tip and runs a finger along the blade.
‘Sharpen this,’ she tells the man hovering in the doorway.
He looks at her then sets to work, gathering a wand and leather strap from a drawer. The knife sings as it is sharpened. Closing her eyes, she lets its song fill her.
‘Knives. Wonderfully phallic, don’t you think?’ she says, more to herself than him.
‘Yes,’ he answers quickly. ‘People who carry knives are sexually repressed. It’s the act of penetration they crave.’ He blushes and turns away. ‘I’m sorry … here, it’s sharp now.’
She takes the blade from his extended hand. He does not meet her eyes. ‘You know what I did. Did you watch? Did it excite you?’

Did you have difficulty coming up with the title?

It’s the title of a song by Cranes that seemed to sum up a lot of what the main female character Star is going through.

Would you conform your work to suit the market?

That would seem pointless to me. I don’t need much money to survive and fame is a frightening concept. I just want to share my vision and connect with readers.

What do you do marketing wise and what do you think generates the most attention to your books?

I promote on Facebook and Google+. I have two blogs. I make videos of readings from my books and I have a new monthly podcast that is starting on 13th February. Facebook seems to generate the most attention, but I like to mix things up a lot.

Okay now that we have the mandatory questions out of the way, shoot your mouth off. Tell me whatever you want the blab about. Make me laugh, or cry, or even envious. Tell me something none has ever heard before from you. Hehehe, I love those little dirty secrets, real or make believe. 🙂

I am a strong believer in women and women’s rights. I spend most of my time, both when writing and not writing thinking about how we can change this world to make it a more friendly and supportive place for my daughters and other women. I tend to turn the horror genre on its head so women are not the victims in my tales, or even if they are they have a power and a presence and make their own choices that directly affect their lives. I spend a fair amount of time reading about feminism and the LGBT movement and hope in some way my writing might help bring others around to a greater understanding of the supposedly weaker sex and the fluid nature of gender and sexual identity.

Thanks for being here Carmilla and I hope to see you back soon with more exciting news or just because you’ve wrote a guest post about one of the topics that are important to you.

If the readers want to know more about you or even follow you and buy your books they can find you on:

Your site, Tumblr, Facebook, and Goodreads

2 thoughts on “Featured Author – Carmilla Voiez

If you like what you just read, please leave a reply.

