Featured Author and Indiegogo Campaign Dan O’Brien

SONY DSCI’m not the only author who has an Indiegogo campaign on the go. Dan O’Brian and Steve Ferchaud are looking for funding too.

Hi Dan, Thanks for stopping by and telling us more about yourself, the book and the campaign.

What is your favourite holiday destination?

I love heading to the coast or anywhere where it is foggy and I can see the ocean. I used to frequent San Francisco for its rich history and bay breezes, but I have become enchanted with the Mendocino coast and try to visit there as often as I can.

illo6-1Would you rather go there alone, with your partner, or with a group of friends? When I was younger it would be all of nothing: friends or alone. Now, I like to head there with my wife so I get a kind of writing vacation. It is quite splendid.

Is there any food or beverage that is a constant factor in either your books or life?

Tea, coffee, the occasional wine: those are the main components of my characters and me. I recently found out I have an allergy to gluten, so a lot of spirits are off the table.

What is your favourite dish and can you give me the recipe?

I wish I could, but allergies have made me quite the boring eater. I frequent a local gluten-free restaurant that caters to gluten-free folks like myself; alas, I do not have their recipes.

Then this site and the cookery book might help you vary your diet a bit.

more info on
lifesourcenaturalfoods.com

That wasn’t that bad, was it? But let’s get on with it and move on to the topic you are really here for.

What is the title of the book you would like to talk about, and can you give us a small taster of it?

Conspirators of the Lost Sock Army and the Loose Change Collection Agency I know; it is quite the mouthful. It started out as a short story I circulated for print and eventually became an illustrated children’s book for all ages. I have included some of my favorite sketches in the books.

Did you have difficulty coming up with the title?

Nope. That was the simplest part. It just made sense the moment I wrote it.

Would you conform your work to suit the market?

I think the process of doing that would make my books unreadable. Part of what brings readers back for every new book is that my work is a little different.

illo9What do you do marketing wise and what do you think generates the most attention to your books?

Marketing is a full-time job, whether you are planning or implementing. I get the most attention from my book from the most unexpected places. This is why a marketing plan needs to have a lot of moving parts that are applied consistently.

I know you are currently crowdfunding, what can you tell us about your experience with it?

I’ve used it a few times in the past and it serves as secondary marketing tool and a way of getting presales and some buzz about the book as you are moving through it. I would suggest all authors give it a try, though do temper your expectations.

Thank you for sharing your words and the beautiful drawings and do let me know how the campaign did when it’s over.

For those who want to look at the campaign and even support it go to Indiegogo, or follow Dan on his BlogTwitterFacebook Author Page, or at Amalgam Publishing

2 thoughts on “Featured Author and Indiegogo Campaign Dan O’Brien

  1. Interesting interview! Good luck. Sorry about the allergies. I don’t have that one, but I have one the dermatologists can’t figure out what is causing it. The good thing is that I went as they discovered a basil cancer. Remaining gluten free would be a problem. The best of luck with that regime. I’ve seen the crowd funding but have stayed away from it

If you like what you just read, please leave a reply.

