Featured Author – A L Butcher

Alex is back today to answer a few more of my questions.

You’re going on a holiday. Where to? Beach to lounge, or a dig site to find historical stuff in the mud?

Well, ideally somewhere historical, although I am not sure I am up to digging up relics. I like castles and old houses so somewhere with many of those. Or somewhere wild.

If you could come back after death as an animal, what would it be and why?

A monkey. Why? Because I love them, they are clever, versatile and sociable.

Is there any food or beverage that is a constant factor in either your books or life?

Not really in the books, perhaps wine or brandy. In my life chocolate, cheese and tea.

What is your favourite dish and can you give me the recipe?

I love cheese so anything with cheese in it. My mum’s old recipe for crispy cakes – rice crispies, dates, syrup and chocolate.

But that’s not why you’re here, is it? So, tell us, what is the title of the book you would like to talk about, and can you give us a small taster of it?

The Light Beyond the Storm Chronicles.

The Shining Citadel – The Light Beyond the Storm Chronicles –Book II

Who rules in this game of intrigue where magic is forbidden and elves enslaved? Journey where beliefs shatter like glass, truth is unwelcome and monsters from ancient times abound: share the romance and revenge, magic and passion, and the wages of greed in a world of darkest fantasy.

Available as an e-book in all the Amazon Stores, Smashwords, Barnes and Noble, Apple, Sony and the Smashwords associate stores.

Available as a paperback on Amazon, Createspace and Barnes and Noble.

For those that have become curious to the Chronicles, below is an excerpt for you to enjoy.

Dii was well aware her Keeper was wealthy, a nobleman, and thus rich and powerful. He was a man of influence but she also acutely aware where a lot of that money had come from. She had not dared take his gold, although he deserved to be robbed of it, she thought bitterly. It was simply self-preservation on her part more than any sense of morality. Desperately she hoped he would not seek her but were she thought a thief he might be more inclined to do so. So Dii had left with a few meagre possessions, such as her clothes, staff, dagger and a small bag of coins and everything else remained in her Keeper’s house. More afraid of what lay within than without she had risked her life to flee, both in physically escaping and being out alone in these lands. So far she had been lucky not to have been spotted by anyone unfriendly to her kind, and she thanked the gods for that. Not knowing the trails and roads well she had nothing to trust but her luck and her skills.

A Kept owned nothing by right; Dii knew her favours paid well and her lovers sometimes gave her coin or trinket if she had pleased them, or a grateful villager would pass on a few copper coins for the potions or herb-lore she distributed. Most of the common people had little healing knowledge beyond basic remedies passed generation to generation and many communities did not have an apothecary. People often turned a blind eye to the local “wise folk” although this was not always the case, and many a mage had found themselves in the “hospitality of the Order of Witch-Hunters” due to failure to heal someone successfully or from mere spite or fear. To be in possession of magic was illegal and in many cases meant imprisonment or even death.

Did you have difficulty coming up with the title?

Not really, there are reasons I chose it. Namely Archos, the main male character is the Lord of the Storm, and Dii’Athella (Dii) is the Lady of the Light. So really it refers to them and their adventures.

If you would have to change the genre in order to be able to publish it, what would it be then? i.e. would you conform your work to suit the market?

Well the genre is fantasy/ fantasy romance with a bit of erotica. I am not sure what it could be changed to, unless I removed the erotica scenes. The answer to the second question is no. I write what I choose to write.

What do you do marketing wise and what do you think generates the most attention to your books?

I don’t like marketing much. I actually have no clue what the best way to go is. It seems what works for one author might not work for the next. For me, I try and do a mix of strategies – I use facebook and goodreads a lot, and I do advertise there but more than that I network. It shouldn’t be all about the books, chat about other subjects, share other posts, help other readers and writers. If you just use these to spam it will end up backfiring and you’ll annoy people. Some groups on Goodreads have book/author of the month and this can be useful. It is a good way to get reviews and to meet authors. Of course there is no guaranteeing that the readers will like the book but that is the risk you take. So far both my novels have been book of the month on the Indie Group and this month (February) I am author of the month in the Smashwords group.

Author and character interviews are useful too, they get out to blogs and readers who might otherwise not see them. They also make you think about the characters, which might lead to more ideas.

I have business cards too, although it is hard to say how effective they are. I think the key is small amounts of lots of things, keep it fresh and regular but don’t spam. Get involved with other non-book posts, discussions and network.

Okay now that we have the mandatory questions out of the way, shoot your mouth off. Tell me whatever you want to blab about. But please no cats, dogs, or children. Make me laugh, or cry, or even envious. Tell me something none has ever heard before from you. hehehe, love those little dirty secrets, real or make believe. 🙂

I used to pretend to be a squirrel. I had a talking squirrel as an imaginary friend when I was little.

I hate clowns, puppets and dolls.

I am not allowed to watch politics programmes on TV as I shout and throw things.

Hahaha, those are a few very interesting facts about you Alex. 🙂 Thanks and whenever you want to return because there’s news, give us a holler and no doubt we’ll be able to facilitate you, since you are one of those that are always ready and willing to do the same for others.

4 thoughts on “Featured Author – A L Butcher

  1. I had to read about Alex. I can’t imagine not watching politics simply because one shouts. Of course, there’s no one here to object. Best of luck. Sounds like a bit of a twist in that story. I did Tweet for you. Hope it draws someone.

If you like what you just read, please leave a reply.

