Featured Author – Carol Bond

carolHi Carol, thanks for taking the time to answer a few questions. 

Being born in Adelaide, do you feel you live on an island or do you see Australia as an integral part of the world?

I am proud of our island, the largest in the world. We are rather separate to the rest of the world because we are situated so far from everyone else but that has not stopped us from anything we put our minds to.
We are multi cultural, first in the field in a lot of inventions and ahead in medical research which leaves us in good standing global. Our acceptance of other nationalities has given us a rather unique perspective in the world and I believe it keeps us relatively safe, we have for the most part in this dangerous world been left untouched.

I have found that Australians are fiercely proud of our country, we boast to the rest of the world that we have a language that contains a colloquialism (Slang) which cannot be found anywhere else that our country is one of a kind, offering an enormous diversity of wildlife, natural landscapes and a sense of humour that is definitely our own.

Australians enjoy the culinary delights of our Asian neighbours and the advantage of very cheap tropical holidays. It is not all perfect, far from it for sometimes we suffer the same economic downfalls as everyone else, but it is home and throughout all my travels about the world, it is still the best place to live.

What is your pet peeve when it comes to the use of language? In fantasy you can come up with new words that fit the world you’ve build, but do you think that cuts you loose from the rules that apply to language?

The only pet peeve I have in the use of language is when I hear it spoken badly. When I hear people speaking to each other and in particular when they speak to me and I am address in the following manner.

“How are you’s goin’” or if I am told this, “Well Frank and me ……..”
The ignorance of those who speak the English language and dumb it down infuriates me. I know it is only a little thing but as a writer, I would be shot if I included such trashy dialogue. I am constantly amazed at how many people accept such misspoken phrases and it scares me to know that one day this kind of talk will be accepted as the norm.

Why did you choose to write under a pseudonym?

Choice for writing under a pseudonym was very personal and I do not wish to divulge the nitty gritty, ins and outs of it all, but I will say this. Ellen Mae Franklin falls from the tongue beautifully, it sounds romantic and could be seen as the kind of author who has a stack of accomplishments under the belt. (Smiling).

I did not wish to use the name I carry about in every day life for my surname belongs to my children’s father and since we are longer togther, I felt it important to at least remain true to myself. I could have used my maiden name but I loved the middle names of my three children, eldest to youngest – Ellen Mae Franklin.

Is there any food or beverage that is a constant factor in either your books or life?

Food doesn’t factor in any of my books, in fact that is one topic I rarely touch on. My mind turns to darker things and the solving of intrigues that I am constantly concocting from chapter to chapter leaves little room for much else.

In reality, I have a weakness for Malaysian/Thai dishes. Kway Teow is a favourite of mine and I don’t hesitate to eat my fill whenever I get a chance.

What is your favourite dish and can you give me the recipe?

I don’t have a true favourite per say but a string of lovelys that I am adding to my recipe list every so often. So please, check in every once and a while for new dishes.

Here is a common Australia dish that I cook regularly. We have large expanses of land and since our founding we have raised and eaten lamb. Our Sunday Roasts are a pride in an Anglo Saxon household and I have to admit I cook a mean leg of lamb.
I also cook up a fabulous Hokkien Noodle dish and a talk about Spaghetti Bolognaise and yes, I am more than happy to share

What is the title of the book you would like to talk about, and can you give us a small taster of it?

The title of my book is The Unseen Promise.  Knock yourselves out with a taste –

cover unseen promise AMAZON | SMASHWORDS


“How are you, my pretty?” he crooned. He always called her that and it made her feel like purring. She wanted to nestle up against him but was afraid of rejection, so instead the Speck lifted her face to his, giving him her best smile. A flashing row of razor sharp teeth cast an eerie spectacle in the shadows of his glowing sphere; it floated above both their heads, dispelling the depressive gloom.
“I have brought you something,” he crooned again.
She didn’t answer. She didn’t have to. On the floor at Roedanth’s feet sat a large box, and he could see the wonder in her questioning eyes. Kitty bent forward and tentatively touched it.
“Ahhh, I can smell it.” Approbation ringed her voice; it always did when she smelt fresh meat.
Roedanth lounged back in the shadows, leaning against the wall of his pretty’s cage, and shook a couple of fingers towards the box. The lid flipped off and floated away into the shadows. From deep within, Kitty heard the mewling of many kittens. She laughed a feral throaty sound, full of pleasure at being served such a wonderful meal. He watched on, lips pursed in smugness as she devoured them all, sucking on the bones and placing the fragments back into the box for him to take away at a time of his choosing. She always looked forward to his visits.

For something very special I would love to give you the title of its sequel, a WIP that I am in love with, it is called In the Cold Day. Here is a taster –


The passageway exploded. What else could you expect with so many Specks all sniffing for the next feed? Nothing could help it and there was, surely nothing, that could stop it? Teeth bared, white alabaster skin all a shivery with long limbs ready to attack.
Ro’Brerre was for once in his life was speechless. Oh! There was plenty to say about the whole sordid business, but he dared not utter a word. Poised, on the brink of frenzy himself, his army of monsters watched him in salivating silence. With their band of pink skin, pulsating in and out and rivers of rusty saliva pooling about the floor, the Mage felt cold right down to the core of his bones.
“You dare?” His voice was steel, but it had to be. Nothing else would have sufficed and for a few short moments it worked, it quelled the snapping teeth and the crowded passageway settled. They hung from the roof, they lined the walls and for as far down as the light allowed Specks pushed up against each other, all eager for a bite and a slurp.
Burc sidled up. It was a slow and provocative move. It was intentional and meant to scare. His double row of teeth: snapping at the air on his approach.
“You… speak… we… don’t… want to hear.” He was proud of the words. So many of them put into a stuttering sentence and echoing what he hoped was more of the same.
Just the sound of gnashing teeth in the oppressive darkness and the muffled voice from beyond the fissure, disturbed the unease. Ro’Brerre shifted his weight to the balls of his feet, bouncing ever so slightly in the gloom. His head cocked towards the opening.
“Have you all forgotten why it is that we are here? In this spot, this new home I found for us.” His words rung loud: echoed by magic. “There…” and he pointed to the opening. “Is a meal, fresh, hot blood and yours for the taking.”
He hoped it was enough.
Burc had heard enough. How could his God say something that wasn’t true? No God of his would take the glory on what he had found. The others should be following him. After all, couldn’t he speak the same words as the Gods?
“I find … No you!”
It was with those words that Ro’Brerre knew he had lost.

Did you have difficulty coming up with the title for The Unseen Promise?

Finding a title for any piece of work that I do is relatively easy for me. I summarize the content and voila the given title jumps out at me.

What do you do marketing wise and what do you think generates the most attention to your books?

There are so many different ways to go with marketing. I use loads of social media and help many other authors, which in turn brings my name to the attention of others. It can be tricky since I write under a pen name, but I don’t write to be famous or to make that million so many others dream of. I write for the love and for the pure enjoyment of creating.

Basically I fill my free time with the activities I enjoy, talking to people in a room about a work I have created in the hope to achieve a sale or two is not what I call enjoyment. So, I can’t speak on book signings, or events for I have never bothered to involve myself in either.

Would you be able to come up with a credible excuse why you haven’t written a whole day? Remember, I have to believe it!

I hate lying so I won’t start now with this question. I think it is safe to say that I am typically lazy, plus I am so pedantic about the choosing of my words. I tend to get a run on things at times where I write fluently off and on all day but since my attention span equals that of a small dog I get easily distracted which then leads to all sorts of things: social marketing, watching TV, knitting, sewing, gardening, riding my pushy or some other recreational sideline.

Okay, now that we have the mandatory questions out of the way, shoot your mouth off. Tell me whatever you want the blab about. But please no cat’s, dogs, or children. Make me laugh, or cry, or even envious. Tell me something none has ever heard before from you. hehehe, love those little dirty secrets, real or make believe. 🙂

Ten Things you won’t ever be told about Ellen Mae Franklin again …. so, mums the word.

* Deep down I am afraid of the dark

* I have an excellent singing voice and have performed in front of crowds before.

* I may be sidelined with health issues but a bus will knock me down first.

* I hate Avocados

* My favourite colour is brown but I hate eating chocolate.

*I have been told that I am way too curious for my own good

* I am left-handed

*I love swimming but never in the ocean

*I am the slowest writer I have ever met

*Loyalty and honesty is more important to me than being popular.

Thank you for sharing all of this with us, and if you have any news do come back to tell us all about it.

One thought on “Featured Author – Carol Bond

If you like what you just read, please leave a reply.

