Featured Author – Les MacDonald

Music Died 4Hi Les, thanks for taking the time to answer a few of my questions.ย 
Hi Lucy, it’s my pleasure.
I know you’re a Canadian. What do you think is the difference between Canadian, Americans and Brits?
Putting me on the spot right off the bat I see. Ok, us Canucks are supposed to be known for being ultra polite. The Brits are a tad more reserved. The Americans, what can I say about the Americans. I love my buddies from the south.
A very diplomatic answer, Les. ๐Ÿ™‚ With which I agree whole heartedly.
When you read for fun, does that ever include baths?
I love to read in the bath…with bubbles and wine. Does that sound weird?
Not at all, throw in some great music and the occasional top up with hot water and I’ll just might join you. ๐Ÿ™‚
Can you tell me what book you’d like to see made into a movie?
Replay by Ken Grimwood. It was a bit of a fantasy/time travel/science fiction thing. Next 11/22/63 by Stephen King.
What is the worst movie adaptation of a great book you’ve ever come across? And what is the best?
The worst for me would be The Bonfire of the Vanities. Tom Wolfe’s book was a beauty but it just didn’t translate well to the big screen.The best is easy. For me, it’s the Godfather. Great cast headed by Brando, Coppola’s direction, and a great story by Mario Puzo. A winner in every way.
Is there any food or beverage that is a constant factor in either your books or life?
Coke in a glass bottle. I am a Coca-Cola addict.
What is your favourite dish and can you give me the recipe?
I love Chinese food but I am completely useless in the kitchen. It’s either my wife Terri doing the cooking or it’s dine out/take out.
What is the title of the book you would like to talk about, and can you give us a small taster of it?
They Walk Among Us: Serial Killers. 1aa-1It has been a bit of a journey as my son Tristan and I started it off back in 2011. It was going to be an all encompassing true crime book and now we have turned it into a series. The first book features chapters on 25 of the worst serial killers in history starting with Jack the Ripper. All the usual suspects are represented plus some that are not so well known. We hope to make it a six or seven book series.
Is there anything you don’t like about being an author?
At times, I am impatient to get to the end of one book as I always have two or three projects on the go. I do love the writing and the promoting.
What do you do marketing wise and what do you think generates the most attention to your books?
I try to make use of the social media (facebook, twitter etc.) when I can. I also try to take advantage of promotional tools offered by Amazon such as Shelfari and their message boards.
Can you tell me something none has ever heard before from you? Hehehe, I love those little dirty secrets, real or make believe. ๐Ÿ™‚
Haha aren’t you just…ok, here we go. I dated a woman named Cheryl who later told me that her name used to be Craig. When something like that happens you learn a lot about yourself. I learned that I wasn’t quite as open minded as I thought I was.
Hahahaha, I would have wanted to see your face when you discovered it. ๐Ÿ™‚ Readers, have you ever had a surprise so shocking it rocked your vision of what you are really about?
Thank you, Les. It has been a pleasure having you around.
Thanks Lucy. It has been a blast.
Now tell us where readers can stalk you. Erm, I mean follow! Yes, follow! ๐Ÿ™‚
My son and I are on Facebook, I’m on it alone, I have a music page on Facebook, my site, and on Amazon
ย 
6 thoughts on “Featured Author – Les MacDonald

  1. I loved this interview. Now if I can get through my stack of books (I promised, rash, I know, to do reviews), the Jack the Ripper account would be fascinating. I’m presuming he didn’t say anything about us Yanks is the fact he couldn’t decide which type to mention. We don’t really equate as a whole group other than brash. Best of luck!

If you like what you just read, please leave a reply.

