Featured Author – Martin Crosbie

Martin CrosbieHi Martin, thanks for taking the time to answer a few of my questions.

Being a Scot, do you ever wear a skirt? Sorry, kilt. 🙂 And do you wear anything under it when you do. (Couldn’t resist that one)

My buddy got married many years ago and we all wore kilts. I believe that was the only time. It was very liberating. And, quite um, cool too. Did that answer your question completely, Lucy?

 Hahaha, sort of. Hey, that is a very writer-like answer! Not fair, you create suspension when I’m interviewing you! There’s all sorts going through my mind now. I need to Know!

But instead I’ll just ask you what you think of Haggis.

Whenever I’m in Inverness I visit my cousin Yvonne and her family and inevitably she cooks me haggis and neeps (turnips). I say all the right things and get it down as her husband and son and her giggle at me. I’m going to assume that she won’t read this interview so here goes – Haggis is disgusting. If you haven’t tried it don’t do it.

(laughs, nearly choking in her coffee and Ginger Bisquit.) Sorry, but that is hilarious! She must really dislike you. 🙂 For those that don’t know what Haggis is, it is sheeps pluck (fancy word for its heart, lungs, and liver). That is minced with onions, oatmeal, and suet. Seasoned, stuffed in its stomach, and then cooked for a couple of hours. 

I think I must thank you for the warning, but are there any readers that absolutely love Haggis?

You’re welcome.

Is there any food or beverage that is a constant factor in either your books or life?

Pizza is a constant in my life but not so much in my books. I may have to change that.

What is your favourite dish and can you give me the recipe?

Can you tell us a bit about your self-publishing journey?

Lucy, I was turned down by traditional publishing over and over again. Nobody wanted to publish my book so I self-published. I ended up being in the right place at the right time and released my first book “My Temporary Life” at the end of 2011. After joining Amazon’s KDP Select program I managed to find lots of readers for my novel. It ended up rising as high as top five overall on Amazon’s rankings and continues to sell every day over two years later. Since then I’ve published four other books including a self-publishing guidebook, I teach workshops and write and blog for whoever asks me to. As my writing mentor Ed Griffin tells me “It’s a great time to be a writer”.

He is so right! And you were’nt just at the right time and in the right place, it must be a pretty good book if it after two years still finds new readers.

What is the title of the book you would like to talk about, and can you give us a small taster of it?

I wrote a Christmas romance and released it at the end of last year (appropriately enough). “Believing Again: A Tale Of Two Christmases” has surprised me. Believing AgainI thought it would be a nice little book that would sell every Christmas and perhaps connect with some readers. Well it did do well over the holidays but it continues to sell consistently. I was fortunate enough to have it read by a number of different beta readers who read strictly romance and my book went through many, many changes. In its final form it is not a traditional romance but still has found a large readership. In fact it hit number one in its category for a few days last week and it continues to sell well. So, seasonal stories aren’t necessarily read just during the season they are set in. This book has performed so well that a sequel is in the works. I hope to have “Believing Again: A Tale Of Two Valentines” released by summer.

What do you love most about being an author?

I like the fact that I can talk to myself, dress in weird clothes, bathe sporadically and blame it on the fact that I’m an artist.

Just kidding. I enjoy the freedom. I enjoy the fact that I can work my own hours (lots of them) and I’m the master of my own destiny. If I do a good job working hard and connecting with my readers I’ll succeed. There are other factors too as you know Lucy but I do believe that if I keep writing I’ll become a better writer and continue to attract readers.

I know what you mean, and practice makes perfect, so don’t stop writing. 🙂 You do know there is no such thing as perfection?

What do you do marketing wise and what do you think generates the most attention to your books?

I pay it forward. I help other authors whenever I can. If someone has a question I try to be right there helping. In doing this I’ve built a support system of very giving friends and we help each other move forward. The self-publishing community in general is different from anything I’ve ever experienced in other businesses. There really is a common goal of seeing each other’s work be recognized and read. For example I just read one of the best books I’ve read in years, and it was written by a new Indie author. I’m going to do everything I can to get the word out for her because I believe in her work. And, I know that positive energy will come back at me somehow. It always has.

That’s great, and in sync with my idea exactly! It’s what I do on this blog and wherever else I can.

Would you be able to come up with a credible excuse why you haven’t written a whole day? Remember, I have to believe it!

I’m on day 35 of my 1,000 word a day challenge and I hope to be able to tell you at the end of the year that I haven’t missed a day. So, I have no excuses.

Can you tell me something no one has ever heard before from you. hehehe, love those little dirty secrets, real or make believe. 🙂

I’m afraid of bears. I love John Irving novels and from time to time he has a bear lurking somewhere and usually they’re relatively harmless but I’ve seen them in real life and they scare me. We were camping a few years ago (in a motorhome fortunately) and a bear sauntered through the campground. I stayed as calm as I could but inside I was not good. For a large animal they move extremely quickly and they’re very strong. So, I do not dig bears. There, now you know.

Ah, I guess you won’t be facing your fears and follow this example?

 

Thank you, Martin. Stay out of bear’s ways and do stop by again when ever you have an idea for a guest post, or more news to share.

Now readers, what is your biggest fear

And before you tune out, here’s where you can find Martin and discover more about him. 

Twitter | Facebook | Martin’s website | Amazon Author Page

6 thoughts on “Featured Author – Martin Crosbie

  1. That interview had me smiling! Good job and much success is wished for the success of your upcoming novel. I’ve never tried haggis and really don’t have it on my bucket list.

  2. Good to meet you, Martin!

    I was once a groomsman at a traditional Scots wedding. The groom didn’t make us wear kilts though!

    And haggis seems to be something devised by a cruel and vindictive monster as revenge on the digestive system of anyone foolish enough to eat it.

If you like what you just read, please leave a reply.

