Karen Brueggeman – Author Of The Day

karenHi Karen, thanks for taking the time to answer a few of my questions.

Where did your love of writing came from?

Good question….from a young age, I always found that I loved how writing allowed me to escape into many different and exciting worlds. I could create anything and I enjoyed taking these trips into fantasy land. I would create these stories and then act them out with my friends.  It was so much fun and our stuff animals usually played the fantasy type characters. 🙂   As I grew older, and playtime was eliminated, I realized that I could help others enjoy the wonderful world of fantasy land. One of my teachers further encouraged this when she wrote on my paper, “Good job. You have a future in writing.”

Do you think children should be stimulated not only to read, but to write as well?

I believe that reading does help to stimulate kids, but it’s the act of writing that allows them to create their own fantasies.  I think every child should be encouraged to not only read, but to write their own story as well.  I had my daughter, who was 10 at the time, co author our first book, “Fruzzle’s Mystery Talent.”  I noticed when children write they are limitless and that this fosters creativity. I highly recommend every child to read for pleasure but to also write their own adventure.

What do you think can be done about illiteracy on a global scale?

That’s a hard question, as unfortunately in many areas the resources aren’t available.  I think it’s great though that as a country, we support giving books and resources to kids as well as adults. I, for one, am more than happy to donate as well and have given many schools copies of my book,to encourage reading. I think another thing that will help is to get more books in children’s hands in their native language.

What is your idea of an ideal holiday?

For me, my ideal holiday is one that I can spend with my family and of course it needs to involve eating.  🙂  I think we should have a day where everyone gets together with their families and share different books they have read.  I love learning about new authors and am always looking for something new and exciting to read.

Is there any food or beverage that is a constant factor in either your books or life?

Not in my book, but yes in my life.  I love Italian food, especially pasta. I also love steak, as long as its hardly cooked. Yummy, now this is making me hungry.
eat heart

What is your favourite dish and can you give me the recipe?

My favorite dish is Lasagna and I am more than happy to give you the recipe, although you probably already have it. I make it similar to the way most people make it, minus the ricotta cheese.  I’m not a big fan of that.  I make up for it though with extra mozzarella cheese and sauce.

Well, I shall await that recipe then, because there’s as many variations to this dish as there are cooks. 🙂

But what is the title of the book you would like to talk about, and can you give us a small taster of it?

Gladly, it’s “Fruzzle’s Mystery TalentFruzzle's cover 7x10 (400),” and it’s a story about this little brown critter (Brown Fruzzle) who is struggling to discover his special talent. Aided by Wizard Fruzzle, Brown goes on a journey of self-discovery to uncover what he is best at in life. Poor little Brown tries everything and isn’t very successful until….well, I don’t want to spoil the ending. 🙂 Just know it has a happy ending and it teaches kids to never give up and other important life lessons.
 Here’s an excerpt of it:
 “Most of us are not as fast as Zippy, but we all have our special talent.”
 Brown looks discouraged.
“Don’t give up. We’ll just try something else,” said Wizard.

Did you have difficulty coming up with the title?

Sometimes yes, I am working on the next few Fruzzle books and am tossing around many title ideas.  I try to stay consistent with the word Fruzzle first, but it does cause some really deep thinking as I like my titles to be perfect.  With “Fruzzle’s Mystery Talent,” my daughter said, “I like that his talent is a mystery,” and the title was born from her words of inspiration.

What do you do marketing wise and what do you think generates the most attention to your books?

I do the standard social media stuff and have had some success with that. I also give away bookmarks and books to schools and have found that to be very successful as well.  I will be doing some fairs soon and look forward to seeing how that goes.

Would you be able to come up with a credible excuse why you haven’t written a whole day? Remember, I have to believe it!

This one is going to be hard because I love to write and hate to lie, but for me my best excuse would be I couldn’t write because my kids needed my attention, which does happen a lot.  However, it is a great distraction. 😉

And finally, can you tell me something none has ever heard before from you? I love those little dirty secrets, real or make believe. 🙂

Dirty Secret, um…so sorry none here.  Oh wait, you send I could make one up.  Okay, don’t tell anyone, but I’m a superhero. I write during the day and fight crime at night.  😉  Oh and I usually get asked about how I came up with the idea for my book. I wish I could take credit on this one too, but the book was born after my daughter (Briana) was helping one of her friends who felt like she wasn’t good at anything.  I watched her help her and thought how many other kids deal with this same problem.  I am a big advocate of helping kids and knew I could help. That same day, I started writing, “Fruzzle’s Mystery Talent.”  I am happy to report that many children have told me that my book have helped them with this same issue.

Thank you Karen, for giving us the Fruzzles. If the readers want to follow, find or befriend you online, where can they find you?

3 thoughts on “Karen Brueggeman – Author Of The Day

If you like what you just read, please leave a reply.

