Author of the Day – Delora Dennis

Profile PicHi Delora, thanks for taking the time to answer a few of my questions.

What does it mean to you when I mention ‘Six Feet Under’?

The ground-breaking television series, Six Feet Under, was extremely difficult for me to watch. In fact, I didn’t see it until it was given to me on VHS, long after it had gone off the air. Having grown up in a funeral home, the show hit a very personal nerve. I told my sister it felt as if people were peering into our home through the windows. She had the same reaction.

I know you have a degree in psychology, do you think that helps you when you need to create a new character?

I’d love to think my education paid off in such a tangible way. But sadly, no. Most of my characters are based on people I know. And the ones I make up from whole cloth are simply fancies of my imagination. Hmmm. But now you’ve planted a great idea in my head. Thanks.

You’re welcome. 🙂 Would you say having had a very diverse career path helped you in writing?

Yes. Despite all the diversity, the common denominator was always writing. Fortunately, the type of writing I’m doing now is enjoyable. Being able to entertain readers with my stories is much more fun that writing job descriptions, obituaries, dry product reviews or video scripts about living with peritoneal dialysis.

Is there any food or beverage that is a constant factor in either your books or life?

Anyone who has read my novel, Same Old Truths, will notice banana bread makes several cameo appearances. I have to admit it’s a reoccurring theme in my life as well. I’ve never baked it myself, but I’m happy to be kept supplied by my sister AND sister-in-law.

What is your favourite dish and can you give me the recipe?

My favorite dish is called Birthday Chicken. It was so named by my sister when she was little because she always requested it for her birthday. It was/is a family favorite. Here is the recipe.

Ingredients:

1 chicken cut-up (or 1lb. of any of your favorite chicken pieces)

1 large bottle of A-1 Steak Sauce

1 stick of butter

Four large cloves of garlic, crushed

Instructions:

Wash chicken pieces and pat dry. Leave or remove skin according to your preference.

In a medium sauce pan, add steak sauce, butter and crushed garlic cloves. Heat over medium heat until butter is melted and blended well into sauce.

Place chicken pieces into a large mixing bowl. Pour sauce over chicken, making sure all the pieces are well-covered. Place into refrigerator and marinate for a minimum of four hours.

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees. Place chicken, with sauce, into roasting pan. (I use a rectangular cake pan). Cover with aluminum foil and bake for one hour. Turn up heat to 400 degrees and remove foil. Bake for another thirty minutes, or until the sauce forms a caramelized glaze on the chicken.

Enjoy!

That sounds delish! I shall give that a go next time we have chicken.

What is the title of the book you would like to talk about, and can you give us a small taster of it?

The title of my book is Same Old Truths. It’s the second story in my series, The Reluctant Avenger. I’m currently working on the third.

SOT Thumbnail

AMAZON

Here’s a  little taster of the book for those that are curious


“I know you think I screwed you on the whole child support thing. But, you have no idea the financial load I’m under,” Dave said.
Now Kay shifted her gaze from the road rapidly passing under the carriage of the truck and looked at Dave.
“What are you talking about?” she said, not bothering to hide her indignation. “You make almost four times the salary I do. AND you get free medical.” She decided to throw that last part to underscore her disgust at his bonus perk.
“That’s right. I do. But I’m still paying off creditors from the old business, including the IRS. I had to use up my savings to cover the cost of moving here.”
“So why didn’t you just tell me that in the beginning? Why the song and dance about a salary cut?”
“I was embarrassed,” Dave said quietly. “I didn’t want you to know about the mess I’m in. Anyway, with all the money going out, it might as well have been a cut. I was desperate to find some relief somewhere. I had no choice. I didn’t know what else to do. You have to believe me.”
Kay’s eyes narrowed and her throat tightened. “I have to believe you?” Kay said. “I have to believe you?” she repeated, louder this time. “That’s rich. Let’s see…I believed you when you said you weren’t having an affair with Sandy. I believed you when you said you’d never leave us. I believed you when you said you weren’t leaving me to go to her – that you didn’t know where she was. I believed you when you said you’d never marry her.” She stopped and looked hard at Dave. “Shall I go on?”
Dave didn’t respond. He just looked straight ahead, tears still streaming down his cheeks.
“Look. Why don’t you cut to the chase and tell me what it is you really want? It must be pretty important if you’ve gone to the all the trouble of staging today’s comedy-tragedy show.”
This time he didn’t hesitate a moment to answer her question. “There’s no way can I afford to pay you the ten thousand right now. With my legal fees, mom, and your full child support added to my debt, I’ll be lucky to put food on my table. For godssake, Kay, I haven’t had a new pair of fucking underwear in two years.”
Kay couldn’t believe what she was hearing. Or maybe she could.
Kay extended her palm toward Dave’s face. “Whoa, whoa, whoa, Mr. Rotting Fruit of the Loom. I seem to remember hearing about a recent trip to the mall involving the purchase of big screen TV. Maybe you should have held on to a couple of those twenties you were brandishing about and spent them on some new tighty-whities,” Kay said. It gave her great pleasure to tell him she knew about his little spending spree.”

Did you have difficulty coming up with the title?

Not at all. Of course, the title is a play on the words, same old lies. But that would put the focus on Dave, Kay’s lying ex-husband – something I wasn’t interested in doing. The story is about Kay and her struggle to move past all the hurt, betrayal and deceit inflicted on her by Dave. It’s really the same old truths Kay must embrace if she’s going to move forward with her life.

What do you do marketing wise and what do you think generates the most attention o your books?

I’ve been getting some encouraging traction with word of mouth. I’ve also been participating in tweet and voting teams, but I think it’s a little early to gauge the success of these methods. But I love interacting with, and supporting my fellow self-published authors. I’ve met some pretty wonderful people.

I’m working on a book trailer and will also make an appearance at a networking luncheon group which is featured in my book.

Okay, now tell me something no one has ever heard before from you. Hehehe, love those little dirty secrets, real or make believe. 🙂

When I was nineteen, I worked as a secretary at a Catholic college. My boss was a nun who ran the alumni association. Sister Edwina was hell bent on recruiting me into her order and was convinced I’d sign up if only I could see myself in a habit. Against my better judgment, I allowed her to dress me up in one. Unfortunately for her, I was horrified at my appearance. I still have nightmares about it. I’ve never told that story to anyone.

Now that sounds like what I would call a horror story. 🙂 But then again I guess I’m a bit of an odd ball, with not doing religion and such.

Thanks for being here and telling us about the book and a bit about yourself. 

4 thoughts on “Author of the Day – Delora Dennis

  1. Pingback: ASMSG Romance Erotica Ezine – Author of the Day – Delora Dennis

If you like what you just read, please leave a reply.

